We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A far cry from a 5 star experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Barriere Cannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Barriere Cannes to your Saves list
Majestic Barriere Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A far cry from a 5 star experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I travel a great deal and have stayed in many top hotels; sadly the Majestic does not measure up. The bathroom ceiling has peeling and cracked paint, broken tiles in the shower, scratched paint surrround the mirror, and thin towels that are more appropriate to a pension than a world class hotel. Room service, even with a breakfast form filled out precisely, brought me the wrong food, and when I asked for room service tea with lemon and a still water, I was brought milk and sparkling water.

These mistakes are simply unacceptable in a top hotel. In addition, I was out of my room at 8 am and when I returned at 4 pm, housekeeping had yet to clean it.

I asked for a dress to be pressed that I need to wear in 48 hours, and you would have thought I was asking for the impossible. The best answer I could get was "We'll try to have it for you by then." Wow. Needless to say, this formerly grand hotel is just that, a fading beauty.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it. Corner rooms are small and do not have room for a sofa. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Client,

You were kind enough to share your experience and we would like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your comments regarding your lack of satisfaction concerning several malfunctioning. Please accept our sincere apologies.
You can be sure that we are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur; particularly among all the Managers responsible of the service.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Hotel Majestic,

Yours sincerely,

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    219
    104
    54
    24
See reviews for
125
382
30
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is lovely and the staff is really service minded and friendly. One style can not be everybodys taste, but I don't understand the comments about rooms beeing 80's looking. At least our room was nice and just like in the pictures. The location of the hotel is perfect and the private beach is great, with nice sunbeds, good food and impeccable service from the staff. We also visited the gym, which was well equipped. One thing to be prepared for is that you have to pay for everything, even internet and sunbeds by the hotel pool. However, as this was our honeymoon, we received a free upgrade and champagne, chocolates etc served in our room. That was very considerate and a nice surprise. We're hoping to return soon..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and the team.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon; it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Yours sincerely,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in September and was very happy with my stay from start to finish

The staff were lovely and the room very comfortable. I read through the reviews and I think all the some of the negative comments are due to bad luck in some circumstances as my stay was perfect.

Being on La Croisette it is an easy walk to most things.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the hospitality of the manager and his team.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms are crisp, clean, well maintained and efficient. The gym is modern and well kept. Beds are comfy and large with black out window for optimal sleep. The location is perfect in the middle of the Criosette and right across from the Palais. Breakfast is divine. Service exceptional. Amenities fantastic! The bathtub is deep and has a waterfall shower in addition. I spent an afternoon at the private beach which was quaint and quiet. I hope to come back next year 100%!!

Room Tip: Right now they have construction on one side of the building...I would recommend asking not to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Staying here right now for the WSOP-E. Location is great, rooms are nice, bathroom is a tad dated. We are in a seaview jr suite with a lovely terrace that overlooks the pool and the sea.

Biggest problem is that our air conditioning is not working properly. Second biggest problem is our phone is not working properly.

We've complained numerous times and are now just giving up. An offer was made at 2am the other night to have us move rooms, but my wife was sleeping and we had completely unpacked. So they offered to have someone come up to the room. No one ever showed.

The next night a bellman came up and adjusted the air. Even he noticed that one of the vents is not working at all.

Still no one to fix the phone.


I really want to like this hotel, but it's getting difficult.

The staff I have dealt with are very nice. It's just frustrating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Client,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to comment you experience and we would like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement

My staff and I have taken note of your comments regarding your lack of satisfaction concerning various technical malfunctioning. Please accept our apologies. You can be sure that we are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur; particularly with the Technical Manager responsible of the service.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Hotel Majestic,

Yours sincerely,

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were offered an upgrade to a Junior Suite - Room 555 in the new wing. We weren't told the building site next door was a live site - was lovely on Sunday, but on Monday morning the drilling starts at 8am and even with the windows shut, it is very loud!
Unlike the review by 'qtsara615', use the very secure in-room safe or at the reception they have an even more secure safe for larger sums - common sense!
The service was disappointing and some staff are very rude - definitely made me remember how much the French are supposed to hate us Brits. We asked 3 times for crackers to be sent to the room and in the end gave up. We did tho get some very nice fruits and chocs, so that was good.
The hotel pool is lovely, and the breakfast on the terrace is superb.
They have a fabulous beach 33€ for the day and pontoon which costs about 37€ for the day which is up to 7pm, and an amazing brasserie with outside tables looking across the water. There is something for everyone on the menu, but watch out for the very expensive coffees (9€) and desserts (14€ for an icecream, 20€ for watermelon!). Instead walk up the stairs to the ice cream vans on the croisette where amazing ice-cream is under 5€.
Places to eat - La Suchet.
I think every hotel is a balance, even if it is 5 stars.
We would definitely return, mostly for the breakfast, terrace, beach and brasserie!!

Room Tip: New wing is next to building site - do not stay in room 555. Check on progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Unfortunately, there were some malfunctioning during your stay and we would like to apologize. Be sure our main concern is to provide our guests with the best service and an unforgettable stay.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm very disappointed in the service of this hotel. Being how high caliber as they claim to be, the service is greatly below average. We booked a spa appointment at the hotel and tried to change the time, they said it was not possible and then we tried to add one more person and then they gave me a firm no. We tried to eat a quick lunch in order to make our appointment and ate it at the hotel. We told them to be a bit quicker to make our spa appointment and they said not to hurry and that we could eat slower and that they would push our appointment back half an hour, so we just ate and assumed our appointment was pushed back half an hour. By the time we got to the spa that was not the case and they told us instead that our spa appointment was shortened from an hour to half an hour with no explanation or flexibly to extend our spa time. They then blamed it on our party for not adhering to the time and that they told us that would happen. If we'd known, we would have eaten quicker. As a service, how could you blame it on the customer? Not only did they not apologize, they did nothing to make up for it. Very disappointed, will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Further to your comments, we would like to apologise for disappointing you. This is really hard for us as we strive every day to offer our guests the best service and a very pleasant stay.

We immediately checked what happened with the Spa and it seems it is really a misunderstanding. Both Sylvie, the U Spa Manager and Jeremy, the Fouquet's Manager, remembered this. Sylvie tried her best to propose alternative solutions when Jeremy told her you will be late. Jeremy explained everything to the interpreter and we are very sorry if he misunderstood what Jeremy explained.

We sincerely hope you will give us a second chance and will make sure your stay is perfect then.

Yours Sincerely.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Barriere Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Barriere Cannes

Address: 10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Family Hotel in Cannes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Barriere Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Majestic Barriere Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Barriere Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.