We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot, outstanding bedding, 5* level of service in very the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Save Saved
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel America
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 135 hotels in Cannes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, outstanding bedding, 5* level of service in very the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Once again, I was extremelly pleased with my stay at the America hotel. A 5* customized level of service, in the best location for a super affordable fare. The hotel is right by the Palais des Festivals, in the heart of the shopping area, walking distance to the train station, yet an oasis of peace. It is boutique sized (28 rooms), spotless, and very warm. The cosy and simple rooms have the best beds with great linen, a flat screen TV with many channels and the bathtub in the marble bathroom delivers high pressured warm water. Abundant and fresh breaksfast is being served downstairs or in the bedrooms (pastries & bread, deli meat, cheese, Bonne Maman jam, orange juice & coffee...). The five girlfriends I travelled with could definitely appreciate the welcoming and professionnal yet discrete staff work. Thank you for a magic week-end!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    71
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
109
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at The Hotel America for three fabulous nights. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Cannes, with the beach just steps away, and Rue Antibes just around the corner! Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable with top notch sheets and coverings. Really well done! The staff were all very warm and welcoming and extremly helpful with recomondations for sights and dining! Really have to give this place 5 stars!!!


We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The facts: a lovely little hotel close to the end of the Marathon Alpes-Maritimes, very helpful staff, good price. It has a bit of an 80s style, but has been excellently maintained and was no worse for it. As an oddity they have hand prints from Bo Derek from 84 hanging on the wall.

The story: I staggered here after the end of the marathon, was made to feel very welcome, provided with an umbrella to get to a nearby restaurant, well stocked mini-bar (for rehydration), bed about as comfortable as I could expect given the state of my legs...

Good:
Location
Price
Staff

Bad:
Not a lot actually - rooms aren't huge, but that's France for you!
Decor might look slightly dated to some

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel America is Fantastic!! It's in the heart of Cannes. Beautiful Beach just few minutes walk and Rue Antibes Shops just right next door to you. Me and my friends have been there few times. Staff are very friendly and i highly recommend it . I am coming back again very soon. Job well done Hotel America.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel America as part of a group trip at the weekend and it was superb.

Here's what I liked:
Swift check-in, even for a group of 20, who arrived en masse. Pleasant, airy if compact lobby. Superb cleanliness everywhere, reliable if a little small lift. My room was small, perfect for one person but for two very snug. The bed was large and comfortable, a large, modern safe, plenty of coat hangers, large wardrobe space, well-stocked and reasonably priced mini bar, modern, clean bathroom, sympathetic lighting, powerful shower, nice desk and a little chair right by the window to enjoy looking at the world going by on the street below. Service was friendly and swift in all areas. The hotel is fantastically located just off La Croisette.

The not-so-good bits (a short list):
Noise from the street at night - pack earplugs if you plan to leave the window open. The breakfast area was very small and if everyone arrived at the same time there would not be room for everyone. Choice of food for breakfast was a little limited. There was also only one large and one small towel in the bathroom and no iron.

Overall, I like the Hotel America very much and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pack ear plugs, just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Great location. You head right out and you are in front of the Cannes film festival theater Bohr lobby is nice and spacious and the staff is friendly. However the rooms have a chemical smell and the sheets are not comfortable at all. Also bathrooms very small and cramped. If you are driving tho, it is right by a huge underground parking structure which is helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Room :
At first i was a little hesitant because if the pictures of the hotel. Its not the nicest deco but its soo clean and everything else makes up for it. Confortable bed , nice bathroom. Would have like a little more space for luggage but manage to find a place for everything
Location
Awesome location, in the middle of everything. Public parking nearby.
Service
Probalby the nicest staff we have meet . I forgot their names , everybody was smiling and very nice to us. They look very happy and that made us happy too.
Overall
Would recommand to everybody . The best value we had .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: 16 rue Notre Dame, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cannes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
#23 Business Hotel in Cannes
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1-mn walk from the Palais des Festivals and the Congress Centre, between the Croisette and rue d'Antibes, just a few steps from the beaches, the marina and the casinos, Hôtel AMERICA means memorable stays in the heart of Cannes, an "international village" on the French Riviera.* Air-conditionning* Minibar* Satellite TV* Wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.