We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #43 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last September, it was lovely. right in the middle of everything, lovely views over the sea and shops out the front. Only downside was no shower attached to the wall but bed was lovely and room was very nice. Fridge and cooker top in the room . we are going back but having a room with a terrace this time. If you like being in the middle of everything this is the one for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your room as actual baloney you sit out on, we had privilege room, no actual ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    82
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
94
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was one of my favorite hotels on our France trip. The room was beautifully decorated and we had an amazing view! Great location easy to get to all attractions. The only complaint was only a handheld shower and made for a difficult shower. Overall we would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

one of the hotels on the promenade where one can stay at a reasonable price. The sea view room was very nice although perhaps some minor renovation to be done. I remember with great pleasure the breakfast on the table on the terrace with fabulous desserts and superb croissants.
we were very good. cannes is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel location is excellent,we booked the Hotel via email and the communication was so rapid and easy.Hotel Building is Old and standard room sizes are too small.Room Service was ordinary.hotel rates during MIDEM Music show and Film Festival is too high and not acceptable for this kind of Service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have returned to the Hotel Splendid in Cannes for the third time. Yet again they have up trumps!
The location is perfect for all parts of Cannes.
Good service and a good room.
Buffet breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were only in Cannes for an evening and chose the Splendid for its location and view. On that front, this hotel did not let us down. We overlooked the marina and were right in the thick of the action.

Unfortunately, I found the price far too high for this room. The bath was too small to bathe in and there was no way of having a shower without holding the shower head! The decor was a mish-mash of eras (although it did make us smile) and the mini-bar was empty.

Getting to our room on the 4th floor was a challenge with the tiny lift that was available, but this wasn't really a problem as long as we were the only ones trying to use it.

We didn't eat breakfast, so can't comment on the food or the service.

All-in-all, if you are looking for a basic hotel to sleep in while you party in Cannes, this is an okay option. We wanted a little more and were left a little disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 408 which had a window that looked right out over the marina. Excellent if you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff was rude the air conditioning was broken and someone entered our room while we were out and used the bathroom in a chair (and I don't mean number 1) and to top it off the manager/employees blamed us and made us pay for the chair. It was the most horrifying experience ever. DO NOT STAY HERE. EVER.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCannes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We don’t understand you complain.
Nobody, coming from outside, can get into the room without a key.
We have a way to check like all hotels in the world, all the in and out coming from your room and we can attest that nobody, except you go into your room that night.
So that’s why we have charged for the damages.
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our hotel.
Gérald PISANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful façade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, AvailPro, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.