We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last September, it was lovely. right in the middle of everything, lovely views over the sea and shops out the front. Only downside was no shower attached to the wall but bed was lovely and room was very nice. Fridge and cooker top in the room . we are going back but having a room with a terrace this time. If you like being in the middle of everything this is the one for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your room as actual baloney you sit out on, we had privilege room, no actual ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    106
    33
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
126
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was one of my favorite hotels on our France trip. The room was beautifully decorated and we had an amazing view! Great location easy to get to all attractions. The only complaint was only a handheld shower and made for a difficult shower. Overall we would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

one of the hotels on the promenade where one can stay at a reasonable price. The sea view room was very nice although perhaps some minor renovation to be done. I remember with great pleasure the breakfast on the table on the terrace with fabulous desserts and superb croissants.
we were very good. cannes is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel location is excellent,we booked the Hotel via email and the communication was so rapid and easy.Hotel Building is Old and standard room sizes are too small.Room Service was ordinary.hotel rates during MIDEM Music show and Film Festival is too high and not acceptable for this kind of Service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have returned to the Hotel Splendid in Cannes for the third time. Yet again they have up trumps!
The location is perfect for all parts of Cannes.
Good service and a good room.
Buffet breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were only in Cannes for an evening and chose the Splendid for its location and view. On that front, this hotel did not let us down. We overlooked the marina and were right in the thick of the action.

Unfortunately, I found the price far too high for this room. The bath was too small to bathe in and there was no way of having a shower without holding the shower head! The decor was a mish-mash of eras (although it did make us smile) and the mini-bar was empty.

Getting to our room on the 4th floor was a challenge with the tiny lift that was available, but this wasn't really a problem as long as we were the only ones trying to use it.

We didn't eat breakfast, so can't comment on the food or the service.

All-in-all, if you are looking for a basic hotel to sleep in while you party in Cannes, this is an okay option. We wanted a little more and were left a little disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 408 which had a window that looked right out over the marina. Excellent if you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff was rude the air conditioning was broken and someone entered our room while we were out and used the bathroom in a chair (and I don't mean number 1) and to top it off the manager/employees blamed us and made us pay for the chair. It was the most horrifying experience ever. DO NOT STAY HERE. EVER.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCannes, Responsable commercial at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We don’t understand you complain.
Nobody, coming from outside, can get into the room without a key.
We have a way to check like all hotels in the world, all the in and out coming from your room and we can attest that nobody, except you go into your room that night.
So that’s why we have charged for the damages.
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our hotel.
Gérald PISANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Plage
Hotel Belle Plage
#21 of 136 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renoir
Hotel Renoir
#28 of 136 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gray d'Albion
Hotel Gray d'Albion
#14 of 136 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#19 of 136 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Riviera Hotel
Sun Riviera Hotel
#46 of 136 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel  Le Cavendish
Hotel Le Cavendish
#4 of 136 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.