We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So FrenchRivierish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So FrenchRivierish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I loved hotel Splendid. It had the feel of old grandeur that a hotel in Cannes should have. Rooms were so cosy and frenchy, with cute and elegant furniture. It was a pity we had a room with a view at the back street but we enjoyed it anyway. Great location and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    89
    28
    9
    10
See reviews for
26
110
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Been here for three days. Very nice, clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Some of the rooms are small, but if all you need is a bed and a shower, it is quite nice. A very good value for the location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Excellent location near the Croisette, the harbour, a large selection of restaurants and the old town. Clean and pretty, but most rooms are a bit on the small side, a few very small. Courtesy and attitude of reception staff varies with who's on duty. Some make you feel "small" and insignificant. Room rates during markets and festivals much too high for the general standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The room we were in was decent enough, it was clean and in good condition, though the price we paid was a bit high compared to others we stayed at during our trip. The location then is what you're paying for I suppose; it was very centrally located a block from the ocean and only about 6 blocks from a free public beach. Also nearby was a nice marketplace that sets up around 6pm and sells various nick nacks that are more interesting and of better quality than the average souvenier, we got some cool stuff there.

Now for the bad parts: the staff were not particularly friendly, they barely spoke a word to us in the two days we were there. Worse however was that we were put in a smoking room, despite having requested a non-smoking room when we made our reservation 4 months prior to our stay...4 months. I can't possibly imagine that all their non-smoking rooms were booked that far in advance, if they were then I apologize to the hotel for writing this but we were very disappointed by this, offended even. To not get the view you want or for the room to be missing a fireplace or something is one thing, but to have to sleep with the stench of smoke in your room is unacceptable these days. Hopefully Europe catches up to N.A. soon and bans smoking in public altogether, but until then hotels would do well to honor their guests' preference.

I'll take this opportunity to say however that Cannes itself was wonderful, we actually preferred it to Paris. There are always tons of people around, no matter what the hour; we were walking around at 2am and have never felt more safe. There is an interesting boardwalk with private beaches and nice restaurants as well as very expensive hotels, an excellent night club, tons of well-priced food and shops.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidcannes, director at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Madam,

I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our hotel. We would have preferred to know about this the day of your check in. It happened before to one of our guest, and of course we understand and do our best to change the guest right away.
We would like to inform your that your critics is very important for us and we thank you for this.
Sorry again for the inconvenience and we hope to welcoming you in our House.
Best regards,
Gerald Pisano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great Location, Two Blocks from Central Station and Overlooking Bay and Main Square with Short Walk to Old Town Cannes (Must See) Up Hill. Beautiful Old Building with Provencal Decor and Very French Air. Helpful Staff. No Breakfast Except for a Stiff Fee. Small But Sweet Room with Spacious Tub.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great location for a very reasonable price. Wish we had paid extra and booked a room with a view of the marina. Difficult to sleep at night as the air conditioning in our room was so noisy (room 214) but too warm to sleep without it - this really needs addressed. Car parking across the road at the casino - approx 25euros. Wifi also chargable for a four hour period - we didn't purchase this as free in other locations. If location is a priority without the frills then this is a great choice

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

Loved Cannes and Hotel Splendid was in the heart of it. We has a great seaview room, which was spacious and clean. The staff at the desk were incredibly helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splendidcannes, Directeur at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Many thanks for your kind consideration in hotel Splendid and we hope to welcoming you very soon.
Gérald PISANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful façade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.