We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid view (no pun intended) at affordable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A splendid view (no pun intended) at affordable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Great hotel just a few minutes walk away from the convenient railway station in Cannes linking resorts on the Cote D'azur. Although a 3* I am sure in the past this hotel was one of the premium hotels of Cannes. The location was just fantastic with numerous bars and restaurants just around the corner in all directions. The famous Croissette was just a few minutes walk and the best was the prime harbour location, with my small but comfortable room with Juliette balcony overlooking the mega yachts calling into the resort. My visit was just before Cannes film festival with the main focus being on the square in front of the hotel, but as this was not peak travel time the hotel provided excellent value for money. I cannot say much about the staff as I only met the very helpful receptionist both in the evening and morning and didnt have time for breakfast which was a shame as the price tag of 12 euros is probably the best value breakfast I have seen in a hotel boasting such a location

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    103
    32
    10
    11
See reviews for
32
123
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel is siituated in the centre of Cannes just in the shopping street. We had a room with a balconny facing the harbour. On a Sunday morning it was bit noisy. Not so much the traffic but people having some fun in the parc below. If you can live with that, the hotel was otherwise confortable and nicely decorated. We had our breakfast in a street bar for 6.5 € (instead of 12 in the hotel!).
There is no parking, so you have to use the public parking (about 24 € per day) and the Wi-Fi was 6 € per day (really there is no little profit).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
250 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
569 helpful votes 569 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We chose the Hotel Splendid for its view from the porch, price, wi-fi (for a fee), and its central location. The Hotel Splendid is both charming and annoying in its historical aspect. When the toilet flushes in the room above, the noise is startling like the sound of something being fried in deep fat. The toilet and the sink are in two different rooms, and you can hear footsteps going between them in the room above. On the other hand, small, slow elevator, the tall windows, architecture, and location attest to the former grandeur of the hotel which is a landmark of sorts.

Location
The hotel is right in the center of restaurants, within sight of the Casino and arts festival theatre and main shopping street (Rue Meynadier) parallel to Rue Felix Faure. Probably no other hotel in Cannes is more central. We could walk to most TripAdvisor-recommended restaurants. The best restaurant deal was Coquillages Bruns, a well-attended seafood restaurant. They were taking photos of the hotel from a helicopter one day that we were there, and the outside of the hotel looked beautiful with all of the awnings showing and all of the windows closed. The hotel faces an open square, and it is next to a small park with a statue of Lord Brougham, the Englishman who started the English winter exodus to Cannes when it was a small fishing village. Unloading suitcases was a bit of a problem for us because the hotel parking spaces were all taken.

Quiet enjoyment
Street noise wasn't bad, and we couldn't hear people in the next rooms. The sound of water in the toilet pipes took some getting used to. Our room was in front of the elevator, but we could hear no associated noise. The hotel is favored by families, so there was often the sound of crying children in the public areas.

Room
We had room 308 in the middle of the building, facing the yacht harbor with a view of the Casino and Pl. du Gal. De Gaulle. The terrace is small, but it has a good view. There is a coffee maker in the room, and it was well-stocked with coffee and tea every day. The refrigerator freezes as well as chills. The double bed is two twin beds put together. Beds were comfortable, but my wife felt the pillows were not the best for her. The radiator heated the room quickly, and the French doors closed tightly. The bathroom/sink was on one side of the entry way, and the toilet was on the other.

Service
The personnel at the reception desk were friendly and helpful by French standards. They gave us directions to restaurants. Unlike most hotels, they had no scale for weighing bags before going to the airport. Check-out was at 12 noon because the hotel was heavily booked. We were able to check in at 1 p.m. Wi-fi costs 6 Euros per day extra. Pleasant breakfast area occupies what used to be two terraces and two rooms. We had not the time to try the breakfasts, but the buffet food looked inviting. For those who were leaving after noon, there was a bathroom on the first floor, and guests could use the breakfast room as a sitting room. A phone call to Nice from the room cost 30 cents.

The price is very reasonable. We felt Hotel Splendid made Cannes more enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Our second trip to the Splendid, and we plan to be back. We find the location excellent, the service friendly, and the modest rooms fine for our needs. We particularly appreciated the small kitchenette and empty refrigerator, which we filled with fresh food from the local market, and had our breakfasts and luncheons on the small balcony overlooking the yacht harbor. The staff was, as always, pleasant and very kind to my young daughter.

Two notes. The Splendid is in the center of town, close to several bars and restaurants with sidewalk service. Even during winter, there is some street noise. Secondly, the Splendid's very efficient room cleaners will not touch any dishes you use from the kitchenette area, as we found out to our dismay after coming home one night to a sink full of dirty breakfast bowls. You'll need to purchase a bit of dishwashing soap and wash up yourself.

That said, we enjoyed our weeklong stay in the Splendid, which seems to attract many repeat visitors like us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Splendid in Cannes for its central location and reasonable price. The pictures on the website were a bit unclear, so we were unsure of what to expect. We were met with a very friendly receptionist upon our arrival. I had asked for a sea-view room which we didn't have initially. She immediately checked for availability and upgraded us at no cost to a large sea-view room on the fourth floor. The room itself had a "grandeur, old-school" style with a chandelier hanging over the bed. However, the carpets looked like they hadn't been changed in 30 years or vacummed recently. The bathroom was large and charming, but like some others noted, the shower head is attached on the side of the tub making it hard to take a standing shower. The view of the water was stunning and we did not have any problems with noise. Internet access was 5 euros for 24hrs and unfortunately it was very spotty. Also, the hotel does not have it's own car park - we used one close by for 28euros/day. That said, the staff was very helpful in giving restaurant recommendations and places to visit in Cannes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Right next to the Palais de Festival (conventions), Front row to the sea, restaurants and activities just around the corner. Hotel looks like a "grand hotel" from the outside, my room was rather small but clean and equipment is from the '30s. Had an upper floor room facing the city. Upper Floor was needed because there is a Bar just across from the entrance and since smoking is forbidden inside, the crowd hangs out on the street the whole night (until 6am!). The management is aware of this problem but not much they can do (apparently police tried several times but they keep on coming back). Get a room with sea view or lower number per floor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

It was a FABULOUS stay. Took the shuttle from Nice airport to Cannes, 5 mins walk to hotel and checked in to a room on the 5th floor with a balcony facing the sea. The hotel looked old school style , dont expect it to be a boutique hotel, but the interior of the hotel looks really nice and retro it actually feels quite special. The room itself is not so big, but enough to sleep and chill in the balcony.

Receptionist was VERY VERY helpful. Forgotten to ask her name, a young friendly receptionist gave us recommendations to restaurants which was just 1 min walk from the hotel. We bought a bottle of champagne from Carrefour and housekeeping gave us two glasses and we just enjoyed it on the balcony with the nice view and atmosphere. The walls in the rooms were quite nicely done, we couldn't hear our neighbors at all.

The hotel is literally on the main shopping street ( not the one down the sea where all top notch brands are located ). You walk out of the hotel and you see a souvenir shop in front of you. left hand side theres some what 20 restaurants and right hand side starts the shopping like zara, fnac, etc. If you'd like to go shop on Croisettes ( the top branded street), its just a 5-10 mins walk. Very very convenient, clean , friendly neat hotel. I'd recommend it to everyone if they are seeking for convenience in Cannes!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: 4 & 6 rue Felix Faure, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This residence was built in 1871 and became "Hotel Splendid" in 1905.Since 1974 its owner has been continuously developing the establishment, combining yesteryear charm with modernism. Hotel Splendid**** has an extraordinary location in the heart of Cannes, in front of the Palais des Festivals in the old Yacht Port, facing the "Suquet" at the beginning of la Croisette.The Splendid Hotel is a romantic hotel which really lives up to its name. The wonderful facade of this boutique hotel looks almost exactly like it did in the 19th century. Also inside this romantic hotel a lot of value has been placed on authenticity. Drapes, furniture, materials, fitting.The hotel has 62 bedrooms, most of them have a wonderful view of the sea. Breakfast is served in the "Offenbach" lounge which has a flower-decked terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.