We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical bistro. Nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Bons Enfants

Aux Bons Enfants
80 rue Meynadier Le Suquet, 06400 Cannes, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 656 Restaurants in Cannes
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Le Bar-sur-Loup, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Typical bistro. Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Typical french bistro. Good value for money. Friendly service. Good menu. Unpretensious. Nice kitchen and a good chef. We would like to return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    55
    25
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My colleague and fell upon this little gem and enjoyed a delicious meal. Of particular note was the fish soup, the foie gras and the sole as main. Very unfussy, very French. They don't take credit cards so watch out for that. The service was good but not overly attentive. Compared to many local eateries around Cannes this really was a great find.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A true Cannes classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were delighted to find this little gem the other day and it's delightful with a tasty delicious menu of tradition. Apparently it has been there since 1935 and just near the Marche Forville. My companion had pressed artichoke with foie gras and I tried the little piggy ears. (how daring!) for starters. For main course I had calves liver cooked softly in balsamic and a nice selection of vegetables incl pommes dauphinoise. Again the choice of dessert was good but I went for the chocolat fondant with icecream which measured up. I always try this dish if it's on the menu first time I go somewhere and this was a good one. Will be back...our menu was around 25 per head which is typical and the service was good. So glad I tried this place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedbæk, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, good service - had to come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A bit dark - a bit hidden - but this is a true gem amidst all the glory and the glitter in Cannes. After walking around in the great market - time for lunch and we entered this friendly place. We tried both lunch and dinner - the menu is pretty much the same - but so what - the food is simple, traditional and tasty. The menu consits of 3 courses (28 Eur.)- but you can pick just entree and main course or main course and dessert. We tried artichoke & foie gras, poulet w/rice & mushroom sauce, calamares frites, prunes in wine, pot au chocolat w/raspberries. The 2nd time it was stuffed veal breast, assorted cheeses and again 2 great desserts. We drank both rosé and red wine - good quality in half bottles. The service is fast and friendly - and all around us each guest seemed to be happy. I observed an elderly US couple - tired from walking and very grumpy about - well, I don't know - they didn't like the menu but decided to stay anyway. They shared an entree and had a glass of the local red wine and the magic worked - they started talking - they smiled and they complimented the waiter and said the food was great. The kitchen is traditional provencal - so you can also get kidney and blood sausage (boudin noir) - if you want to try this. Remember cash - no credit cards. The tiramisu was sold out - but if we get back to Cannes some other time - we'll drop by again - I'm sure it will be worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Small hidden restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It's in the back streets and well worth finding.

We tired Veal stew, very tasty , the sole well cooked , mixed vegetables,mash potato cooked with olive oil , artichoke starters and a stupendously good roasted apples with caramel dessert.
The place is not fancy , simple but good service and fine food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Bons Enfants also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Aux Bons Enfants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Bons Enfants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.