We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful standard hotel with great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue du Marechal Foch, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #59 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful standard hotel with great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

It's a wonderful standard best western hotel like you'll find everywhere else in the world, but that's what we like about best westerns, huh? ;-)
We picked a superior double room upon being advised by the clerk that the standard room was MUCH smaller (and coming from a bad experience with the Ibis we were done with small rooms). The size was okay, so I imagine that the standard was really puny.
Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was just perfect (some of the best showers ever seen!). The room faced the inner court, not a great view but at least it was quiet. I am sure you can book in advance and ask for a room with a view on the Rue d'Antibes, on which the hotel faces.
The room was a bit damp but by now I think it's a common feature of French hotels (sic!). It had a minibar, we didn't check the price of items but it's always great to store your own food and beverages! :)
Reception clerks are extremely friendly and helpful: the only minus in our stay is that the wifi internet didn't work. We're scholars so it was not a big deal but were we expecting some urgent email we would have been quite bothered. Furthermore it's virtually impossible to pick a free network with your iPhone in Cannes...

Apart from that we had a beautiful stay and we'd surely go back there if we go back to Cannes in low season (we had a deal for 70€ per night, no breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    83
    40
    10
    3
See reviews for
12
58
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

A family member recommended this hotel to me as they'd stayed previously when visiting Cannes, and I was so pleased with everything the Hotel had to offer. Excellent location in the heart of the shopping area of Cannes, good room size, facilities good and we really appreciated the warm welcome we received which was a great first impression.
Although Cannes is expensive we were really pleased with the price of the hotel, we booked 4 months in advance.
A lot of the beaches in Cannes is private if you walk to the left of the harbour but it is worth splashing out - we had a weekend without the kids so made the most of it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

The location is perfect situated on the Rue D'Antibes a very fashionable street. It's close to the rail station, Croisette and great restaurants toward the old city. The service from the staff is first class, courteous and they're quick to respond to requests. They all speak English and are delighted to help you with your French if you use what you know. The rooms are up to date and very comfortable. We'd go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Lovely 3 star hotel right in the middle of the busy shopping area and just a few minutes' walk from the famous Croisette, beach and stunning harbour area. Polite and helpful staff, clean rooms, good air con, well equipped mini bar and breakfast room on the 6th floor with beautiful views. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leed,.England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stopped late one night in Cannes, no hotel booked
Walked around the streets till we found this hotel, got the last room.
Staff very pleasant and helpful
The rooms are a bit small, but were clean. They looked as if they have had a recent refurbishment, just a pity they did not continue into the corridors and reception.
The bathroom was one of the best we stayed in.
We paid 80 euros a night, without breakfast, but had to find our own parking places miles from the hotel.

  • Liked — it was available
  • Disliked — the price , dated corridors/reception
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

My room was on the 3rd floor, facing the back and sure enough there seemed to be cars permanently out the back so opening the double window (no balcony) provided air but also noise.,

The bathroom was OK and each night I had to move the bed away from the wall. However, on the plus side, the welcome and service was OK, the location is nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

A basic hotel with rooms of a good size for the price. Friendly staff, rooms clean, beds comfortable, very nice breakfast room. Great location for shopping, walking. No negatives.

  • Liked — Good value for the price.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers

Address: 2 rue du Marechal Foch, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Univers hotel in Cannes is ideally situated on the côte d' Azur, at the heart of Cannes. This hotel in Cannes is at the heart of the city of the festivals and the international center of the congresses. Univers hotel of Cannes, Longitude Hotels crew, putsat your disposal 72 rooms and luxury air-conditioned suites. all of them are soundproofed and equipped with all the necessary comfort, the free WIFI internet access.The hotel has 4 luxurious suites among which 3 endowed of an important terrace and a solarium which offer a privileged view on the bay of Cannes and Croisette.Breakfast and panorama of charm, the lounges) of the hotel and the room of breakfast are in the sixth floor where from you will take advantage of a wonderful view(sight) on the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Univers
Best Western Cannes
Cannes Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Univers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.