We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deecent hotel for Cannes, you can walk to all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cristal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 - 15 Rond-Point Duboys, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 134 hotels in Cannes
NY/NJ Metro area
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deecent hotel for Cannes, you can walk to all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

decent hotel in Cannes, you can walk to all places or walk to train station to go to other towns.I had buisness at the Palais so it was an easy walk from the hotel. THe hotel was fin. no issues, typical European hotel, price for value was finr for Cannes. They do have a breakfast each monring but I never had so I can't comment on that. There is a shopping market in walking distance to the hotel so that is good to pick up some drinks, snacks etc since Cannes is so expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
15
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived in Cannes in late September after getting the shuttle bus from Nice Airport (Tip 1 catch the local bus as it will be a fraction of the cost prob 5e each rather than the 17e each we paid), when we arrived it was bucketing down with rain and the bus dropped us in the middle of a street rather than at the train station as we expected, to find the hotel walk to the front and walk along until you get to the Marriot and turn left and walk for another 2-3mins.
Here are the hotel +/-
+
Service - We turned up drenched and although our room wasn't ready the staff said to dry up and have lunch before and then our rooms were ready, our bags were taken up and it turned around a bad start caused by the weather. On another occassion we ordered some champagne and the barman topped us up for no extra charge, great service from nearly everyone which I can't say about most places.
Price - We paid in the region of £170 in an offer price including breakfast for 2nights, for 4 star that isn't bad.
Food - The continental breakfast was fresh and the lunch we had was a revelation for ~15e, drinks were fairly priced as well compared to the strip.
Room - Odd layout but very spacious with small balcony, fridge, flat screen tv, loads of space for clothing. The fridge means you can buy water etc and keep it cool without paying the high hotel prices.
Facilities - Small gym and roof terrace with decent views and a little pool with sun loungers, think you can book a space on the beach through reception if you so wish.
Quiet - Unlike the main strip being a few streets back means it is really quiet.
-
Air con - doesn't work, meaning in September we were a little warm at night, in the height of summer would be unbearable.
Shower - Almost impossible to use without drenching the bathroom!

Some notes on Cannes unrelated to the hotel:
- There is a Barclays opposite but it doesn't have an ATM which I found staggering!!
- You will be pestered regularly by street sellers
- Service in the restaurants is very mixed, there was a small fish restaurant on the tight cobbled streets I'd recommend and Coque Le'Bruin or such was really good as well.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony, its good for a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Bad service and ignorant: would never recommend this hotel. The so called suite is a double room wih sloppy extra beds. The service is really bad and the manager is never around to talk to you. Bathroom was not well cleaned and gross.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We don't understand the negative reviews because so far the hotel is excellent. We got a big flatscreen in the room, great personal proactive service, the jacuzzi and sundeck are really nice and the fitness room is small but good (even an spinning bike). The location is awesome just a step away from the beach, shopping street and restaurant/bar areas. The valet parking is also a nice bonus. Worthwile going. Room gets cleaned twice a day also fresh towel service, beach service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

5 min walking distance from beach and 15 min from harbour; clean, silence, good breakfast, but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have stayed there several times and it has a perfect location for business.

Room Tip: I have already stayed several times and all rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I ended up staying there for 5 days as I booked it with my agency. The room smelt damp and musty, the bathroom did not smell good because the u-bend was leaking and blocked. No TV channels to watch. The bed had passed its best days and the matress was obviously inline with the architecture as far as age.
I made the mistake of turning on the air con which worsened the damp smell and when set to warm the room the smell was unbearable.
Though they did nothing about my room, the staff were polite, the hotel and room was otherwise clean enough, the building is beautiful
Sad to do this I would have liked somebody to have helped me avoid this experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Cannes
Best Western Cannes
Cannes Best Western
Address: 13 - 15 Rond-Point Duboys, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.