We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but worth it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristal to your Saves list
Hotel Cristal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 - 15 Rond-Point Duboys, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived in Cannes in late September after getting the shuttle bus from Nice Airport (Tip 1 catch the local bus as it will be a fraction of the cost prob 5e each rather than the 17e each we paid), when we arrived it was bucketing down with rain and the bus dropped us in the middle of a street rather than at the train station as we expected, to find the hotel walk to the front and walk along until you get to the Marriot and turn left and walk for another 2-3mins.
Here are the hotel +/-
+
Service - We turned up drenched and although our room wasn't ready the staff said to dry up and have lunch before and then our rooms were ready, our bags were taken up and it turned around a bad start caused by the weather. On another occassion we ordered some champagne and the barman topped us up for no extra charge, great service from nearly everyone which I can't say about most places.
Price - We paid in the region of £170 in an offer price including breakfast for 2nights, for 4 star that isn't bad.
Food - The continental breakfast was fresh and the lunch we had was a revelation for ~15e, drinks were fairly priced as well compared to the strip.
Room - Odd layout but very spacious with small balcony, fridge, flat screen tv, loads of space for clothing. The fridge means you can buy water etc and keep it cool without paying the high hotel prices.
Facilities - Small gym and roof terrace with decent views and a little pool with sun loungers, think you can book a space on the beach through reception if you so wish.
Quiet - Unlike the main strip being a few streets back means it is really quiet.
-
Air con - doesn't work, meaning in September we were a little warm at night, in the height of summer would be unbearable.
Shower - Almost impossible to use without drenching the bathroom!

Some notes on Cannes unrelated to the hotel:
- There is a Barclays opposite but it doesn't have an ATM which I found staggering!!
- You will be pestered regularly by street sellers
- Service in the restaurants is very mixed, there was a small fish restaurant on the tight cobbled streets I'd recommend and Coque Le'Bruin or such was really good as well.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony, its good for a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
18
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Bad service and ignorant: would never recommend this hotel. The so called suite is a double room wih sloppy extra beds. The service is really bad and the manager is never around to talk to you. Bathroom was not well cleaned and gross.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We don't understand the negative reviews because so far the hotel is excellent. We got a big flatscreen in the room, great personal proactive service, the jacuzzi and sundeck are really nice and the fitness room is small but good (even an spinning bike). The location is awesome just a step away from the beach, shopping street and restaurant/bar areas. The valet parking is also a nice bonus. Worthwile going. Room gets cleaned twice a day also fresh towel service, beach service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

5 min walking distance from beach and 15 min from harbour; clean, silence, good breakfast, but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have stayed there several times and it has a perfect location for business.

Room Tip: I have already stayed several times and all rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I ended up staying there for 5 days as I booked it with my agency. The room smelt damp and musty, the bathroom did not smell good because the u-bend was leaking and blocked. No TV channels to watch. The bed had passed its best days and the matress was obviously inline with the architecture as far as age.
I made the mistake of turning on the air con which worsened the damp smell and when set to warm the room the smell was unbearable.
Though they did nothing about my room, the staff were polite, the hotel and room was otherwise clean enough, the building is beautiful
Sad to do this I would have liked somebody to have helped me avoid this experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Me and my wife have enjoyed staying at Cristal for 12 days. The location is absolutely fantastic, just a few steps from La Croisette and the Promenade. It is basically behind Palais Stephanie and the Grand Hotel. Just check Google maps and you'll know what I mean.
We stayed in room #101, at the end of the corridor, with large French doors facing the back garden. It wasn't sea view but it was a nice garden view and most importantly it was VERY QUIET. We didn't care about the view anyway (nor were we ready to pay hundreds of euros for it at the ultra-posh hotels on the frontline), because every morning we'd go on the beach anyway. And on the way, on the promenade, we'd have a double espresso and a croissant at our favorite kiosk, served by Pasquale & Salvatore, two Calabrese settled on Cote D'azure years ago. We'd have the best view there, overlooking the beach and the sea and best of all it was FREE.
Back to the Hotel!
The staff, and especially CHRISTELLE from Cristal (it has a ring to it doesn't it?) and Leonard were very, very helpful. Christelle took the time to listen to my problems with cancelling the car rental, to help us extending our initial booking and keeping the same excellent rate and generally being very attentive with us. The fact that she also had the rare talent of blushing at our jokes in broken French made her even more delicious and made us feel even more at home.
Leonard spent time describing the area to me, telling me about Mougins and Cannet and other surrounding destinations as well as little things about the daily life of residents of Cannes and the Cote D'azure in general.
Everybody we dealt with at this Hotel would go out of their way to help and assist us and if my broken French wouldn't work they fill the gaps in English. I am sorry I don't know all their names, but I assure you that if you go to this hotel with the right attitude you will be treated very well.
As far as the room goes, we were very pleased (and trust me when I say that we've done quite a bit of travelling). The room was large enough, the climate control worked properly, the beds were comfortable, the wardrobes had mirror covered doors, the furniture was practical and in good order, we had a small fridge/mini-bar and the bathroom was HUDGE. Our bathroom was all covered in rose/red marble with a shower over bath tub and a bidet! What more does one need from a hotel room? For us clean, quiet & comfortable was enough!
The lobby is quite posh, there is free internet access, a jacuzzi on the 6th floor and a bar and restaurant on the ground floor. We didn't use any of them because we didn't know how to get to the beach quicker, but they looked nice.
All in all, we highly recommend this hotel for it's cleanliness, quietness, staff, quality of rooms and of course for the fantastic location.
Dan, London UK

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: 13 - 15 Rond-Point Duboys, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Hotel Cannes
Best Western Cannes
Cannes Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.