We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gray d'Albion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gray d'Albion to your Saves list
Hotel Gray d'Albion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We travelled to cannes after staying in Monte Carlo. The rooms were nice but didn't have great views from our balcony. We stayed room only and found cafés locally to have sensibly priced breakfasts. To sit on a sun bed on a beach in cannes is quite pricey and costs approx 40 euros a day for 2. I fell the hotel should offer a discount for guests on there own private beach as we found cheaper sun loungers next door in alternative private beach. I would recommend the hotel as paid a good price for a week in July. Cannes is a fantastic place and would recommend to anyone with some excellent resteraunts throughout the resort sensibly priced

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Rich M. ,

Thank you so much for your nice comments which I've shared with the team. We do our best to provide you with the best guest experience to make sure it creates such good memories from your journey in Cannes.
We do have excellent facilities with enjoyable balconies as you have noticed and this is very unic in Cannes.
All private beach charge for sunbeds because we provide there too an excellent guest service. Next time, I would suggest to look at our packaged offers which include sunbeds as well if you wish.
All the team would be very happy to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely,
Charles Richez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    225
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
78
271
31
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel over a number of years and can recommend the hotel for location and quality. We were lucky to be offered a penthouse suite for our silver wedding anniversary and the service was first class. Would love to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear dave5655,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfactionon the Trpadvisor website, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.
Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image we wish to give, it is certain that your comments pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,
I remain,
Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel has a great central location between the boulevard and the shopping street. Is a small walk to the old town centre with al the restaurants. We used the valet parking service (cost the normal daily parking price of €28 a day, but you have the make a reservation in advance ) and thats very handy in busy Cannes. We had a room with garden view with a big balcony. This side of the hotel is very quiet. Room was luxury with 2 bathrobes, iron, safe, hairdryer, minbar, airo, TV, roomservice and a big comfortable bed.
Breakfast is €28 pp, a bit expensive for small eaters like us, so we had a small breakfast outside the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the the service was friendly but also a bit businesslike.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are quiet with big balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear AngieV201,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on TripAdvisor after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel.
We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again
Best Regards.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The reception area is open, clean and the receptionists very polite, friendly and efficient.
The location is fantastic. Three to five minutes walk to the beach, or immediately straight into the shopping area.
The rooms were clean and standard for this size hotel even though we were on the 8th floor in deluxe rooms. A colleague’s suite however was lovely with a large corner balcony and indoor separate seating area.
There were a few things that marred the visit however. The large rooms for training were just too hot and with 70 people inside generating more heat, at times it was uncomfortable. Maybe it was down to the humidity at this time of year.
On two days, any thoughts of a quiet discussion over lunch in the terrace restaurant was shattered by continual banging and drilling as a room refurbishment was ongoing. Yes these repairs etc need to be completed, but not when you know a meeting has a designated lunch hour.
A few of my colleagues also complained that they had asked for different things during the week and that basically they were told no. However I’m not sure what these were or if they were realistic or not.
Main restaurant first morning: At 07:45 there were few spaces, no hot food left and staff trying to keep up and clear tables. It was extremely busy, a mess (bomb site) and only one coffee machine working. Luckily my colleague and I realised we should be in the terrace restaurant for breakfast which was lovely and relaxing with nice food. Well worth the additional 14 euros which is fairly standard now across Europe.
As a couples hotel I would recommend it due to the location etc, just either have breakfast out in one of the many bars/cafes or use the terrace restaurant. For meetings the rooms are spacious, the projection and auditory capabilities very good. In addition the coffee and pastries very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Geoff36,
This message to inform you that we carefully read your comments you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your seminar at the Gray d'Albion Hotel. We thank you for your positive remarks about the service you got during the days you spend at the hotel.
Nevertheless, I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been fully the case this time. Measures have been taken to remedy those failures. Usually, the quality of service of my hotel is held in good quality but, this time, it has not been at the level of its reputation..
However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again for leisure or business.
I remain,
Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from yet another holiday at the "Gray" as usual we were treated as friends from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We were upgraded to a "deluxe" room which has spoilt us for the future!! As soon as one walks into the hotel the reception and concierge area was pristine and the flower arrangements are as always beautiful. We could stay at any hotel in Cannes but we would not think of staying anywhere else. We feel the "Gray" is like a second home to us, not only for the welcome but also the location, which is fantastic. A special "thank you" to all the staff and we look forward to returning in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear BAZ516,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel -Cannes.
We also want to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel.
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Gray d'Albion.
With all our very best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good location. Reception Area inviting and receptionist friendly and helpful. Room on 3rd floor average for 4 star hotel. Carpet badly stained. This was reported 4 times in the first 2 days of our 5 day visit and nothing was done so gave up complaining. Brown water in bath one evening. No apologies for inconvenience but was told to run water for 10 minutes and it would become clear. Breakfast not bad but crockery mugs dirty 2 mornings out of 5. Once again no apologies. Do not think we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Anne B,
This message to inform you that I carefully read the comment you wrote on Tripadvisor after your visit at our hotel.
We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotels, and I regret that the service you were given at the Gray d'Albion Hotel has not been up to your expectations.
I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been the case this time.
Measures have been taken to remedy those failures. Usually, the quality of service of my hotel is held in good quality but, this time, it has not been at the level of its reputation..
However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed 3 times at this hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it. The location, 1 minutes walk to The Croisette where you can take a stroll, sit, people watch and just enjoy the view over the beach and the Bay of Cannes is fantastic. It is also located on the corner of Rue Antibes the main shopping street in Cannes.

Make the effort to walk to the old town (about 12 minutes) and sample the many restaurants in that area, of go and check out the market for some great fresh produce.

Reception staff are efficient and courteous on arrival. There is a small bar on your right as you enter - this does not stay open very late - a problem for us as we were a group of work colleagues attending an exhibition at the Palais des Festivals, but having said there there are other bars nearby. The public areas are small - really on the reception area, decor is fun, with some funky soft furnishing - always smells of rose petals!

The rooms are larger than many in Cannes. That is a bonus if you are staying for a week! All rooms have outside balconies with a table and couple of chairs. I have always staying in winter, but it is nice to sit and have your coffee in the morning outside. Be careful not to close the door and lock yourself out on the balcony - if you close the door you are stuck, but there are warning notices!

Rooms are well furnished and carpeted, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are warm in winter, tea and coffee making facilities are available along with a mini-bar.

Bathrooms are ok, I would prefer betting lighting for putting make-up on, but the shower/bath is fine with good water pressure.

Breakfast is served on the first floor - staff are friendly and efficient - time is always limited in the mornings. There is a good selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats and cooked items.

The bar is again full of funky furniture, and a great place to meet up before heading out for dinner in one of many nearby restaurants.

I have always enjoyed my stays here and compared with many other 4 star hotels that is above average. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east look into a courtyard and are quieter. But I like the street rooms as it is fun t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear CareySJC,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel -Cannes.
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Gray d'Albion, we sincerely hope to see you again.
With all our very best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gray d'Albion

Address: 38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the famous Croisette promenade and the Palais des Festivals events centre, the Hotel Gray d Albion welcomes you into a refined world of not only comfort and leisure, but also wellbeing and relaxation with its private beach. Discover the unforgettable charm of our 191 rooms and 8 suites, our restaurant, "38 The Restaurant", our beach restaurant, open seasonally, and our bar, "38 The Bar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gray d'Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.