We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly hotel right near the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gray d'Albion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gray d'Albion to your Saves list
Hotel Gray d'Albion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly hotel right near the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while in the Cote d'Azur for a wedding and can say that the hotel is perfect for just that if you have lots of things on. As it doesn't have a pool I wouldn't have spent much time hanging out here but the staff are absolutely lovely and that really made out stay. Very comfortable, huge bed and we were upgraded to a higher floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the city. We would normally stay at more boutique hotels but this one was a good price and served its purpose while we were running around town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear DavidTWB,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’mhappy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    251
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
81
325
33
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of the absolute best 4* resorts I have stayed in. I would love to stay at the hotel again and experience more of what they have to offer, - especially watersports.

Positives
1. location, location, location! - the hotel is two mins walk from the middle of La Croisette (the road that runs along the harbour and the beach). The hotel is also very close to the train station which is very useful if you wish to visit Nice, Monaco etc.
2. the staff: extremely helpful and speak good English. They also left me a box of fruit sweets on my birthday which was very considerate and has never happened to me before- although I am almost always on holiday during my birthday
3. cleanliness: the rooms were beautiful- modern and very clean
4. the buffet breakfast offered a good selection of food

Negatives
For those new to Cannes, the sunbed fee may seem expensive but the resort charges are reasonable for the area.
The gym is relatively small and a fee applies during certain hours. This did not bother me as I went first thing in the morning and it was sufficient for my needs. The machines were also very new and had an English function.

Tip
- There is a bus stop only a few meters from the hotel. From there you can take an express bus to the airport for only 15 Euros each. The buses run every half hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kelly L,

We would like to thank you about your nice comment concerning your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel, Cannes. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the service and the facilities. It's also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the location of our property which is, indeed, very close to everything in Cannes.

We look forward to welcoming back you very soon.

Best Regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with beautiful lobby decor. The room was very large and clean, no complaints there. The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming. They were able to take care of an issue with our room immediately and without much fuss. We really appreciated that. The concierge, however, was extremely unhelpful, one of whom basically asked why we needed a map because there's "not that much to do or see in Cannes". They were also unable to provide much guidance on other activities we inquired about.

Location of the hotel is pretty perfect. Extremely close to the beach and Croisette, while also extremely close to all the good shopping, cafes and restaurants. Keep in mind that there is a fee to use the hotel's "private beach". We decided not to use it and paid a way lower fee to use the government operated beach which is just as close as their private beach.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jennifer J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location and the services we provided to you despite some lack with the conciergerie department. Our staff is truly passionate about providing personalized and attentive service. They will be pleased to read your comments which will help us to improve the global quality of our hotel.

We will look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Best regards

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location is excellent. Less than one block from beach and right in the heart of the shopping area. We were pleased most of the staff spoke English very well. Our junior suite was very nice, clean, & well decorated (modern.) The bed & bedding was absolutely heavenly & very comfortable. We had a nice size balcony with a great view of the old town. My only complaint (minor) would be the room & bathroom was a bit small (at least according to our US standards.) I'm not saying it was cramped. I'm just saying if you are an American, don't expect an American sized jr. suite. On the plus side, I absolutely loved the toiletries they supplied. The body oil (labeled Fouquet's) was absolutely wonderful. I wish i could buy it here in the states! All in all, I would definitely recommend & stay at the Gray again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Gwende W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our location in the heart of the city and La Croisette. Our staff will be pleased to read your comments. We appreciate that you pointed out our new range of perfumes et body care labeled "Fouquet's" which is a particular point of pride for us.

Hoping to see you soon at the Gray d'Albion Hotel,

Sincerely,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had such a great time at this hotel and I will recommend it to my friends. We booked a classic room through a third party website and received an upgrade at the front desk. The staff was very friendly, the room was big, the bed comfy. Although the hotel is not directly located at the beach, it has a perfect location. In a few minutes you can lie on the beach, eat at the plenty of restaurants close-by or go shopping. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear dirkpueschel,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Gray d'Albion.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that you received the best value for money you expected. Your advice is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams because recognition is very important to us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stays at the Grey d'Albion have always been happy ones. The location can't be beat and the upgrade to the hotel is more than window dressing. The management has invested a lot in improving their property and it clearly shows.
The rooms, bathrooms and amenities show a real effort to provide comfort and quality at an affordable price.
The breakfast is outstanding and comes free with the online packages we've purchased as does wifi internet access. These are two important value items that are very much appreciated.

Room Tip: A room at the rear provides peace and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ParisMichael,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to post a satisfaction advice on TripAdvisor for which we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your positive comments regarding your stay and we are pleased that we reached a level of quality up to your expectation.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Gray d'Albion Hotel,

Yours sincerely

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were here last summer too. Our experience +the location brought us back to this hote.it is warm ,hospitable place. The service was great. The reception, the concierge were very helpful. smiles are very common in gray d'Albion which was NICE too. The location is excellent, specially to family with little children. There was a small children play ground and kids boat racing place in a close by family run place on the Crossett.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear royal s,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your letter pushes my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make our family stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

François PORTIGLIA
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gray d'Albion

Address: 38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Business Hotel in Cannes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#10 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the famous Croisette promenade and the Palais des Festivals events centre, the Hotel Gray d Albion welcomes you into a refined world of not only comfort and leisure, but also wellbeing and relaxation with its private beach. Discover the unforgettable charm of our 191 rooms and 8 suites, our restaurant, "38 The Restaurant", our beach restaurant, open seasonally, and our bar, "38 The Bar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gray d'Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.