We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gray d'Albion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Gray d'Albion to your Saves list
Hotel Gray d'Albion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel staff are great, the new vamped rooms are also great, but the shower is difficult to control with a poor flow of water, and to fill a bath with water takes about an hour. The TV chanels are good if your french but thats about it, no pay for view either which is a shame.
Beds are comfortable, but in most cases are two singles beds pushed together. The heating was on while i was staying here 25/26/27/28 Jan 2013, and there was a constant noise throughout the night of the pipes. The hotel bar area is great, and service by the barman 5* but sadly thats where the 5* treatment finishes. Breakfast was good but not great. No one explains to you that you can ask the breakfast stuff for special orders, which you can, so for example you can ask for eggs fried over easy or what ever it maybe that you like. I would stay here again, as it was great value for money, i used booking.com and the rates were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Stephen H,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's mail you wrote on the theTripAdvisor website after your visit at our hotel last week.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotels, and I regret that all the services you were given at the 4 * Gray d'Albion Hotel has not been up to your expectations, particularly with breakfast facilities and pipes noises.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been totally the case this time. Regarding your comment about special egg order for breakfast, a menu on each table is actually display, but the breakfast team wiil inform verbally guests from now on.

I personally listed what went wrong with our heads of departments. Measures have been taken to remedy the failures you have mentionned in your message.
However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    220
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
77
264
30
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012 during a conference in Cannes. Excellent service, the room was perfect with a balcony and views of Cannes. Bath amenities are good. It is very close to the Croisette and sea.Parking is available as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear TheSwedichTraveller,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your last Friday comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel last month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here on many occasions and the hotel always comes up to our expectations. Everything is of the highest quality, not down to a price but fair value, whether it be the amenities in the bedroom and bathroom or the sumptious breakfast with probably the best scrambled eggs of any hotel in the world. The housekeeping and service are exemplary and all the staff go about their jobs quietly and politely in keeping with the very high standards of the Barriere Group which we appreciate in a world of declining excellence. The hotel is so well situated both for shopping and transport, with a bus stop outside for local buses and the airport coach. The train station is also within easy walking distance as are many restaurants including the hotel's own beach restaurant across the promenade. We shall return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Robinwirral,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image my team and myself wish to give of our hotel, it is certain that your letter pushes us to continue our work as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Reception 
Got our booking wrong. We booked a superior room but on arrival were told we booked classic but would be upgraded to superior.

Room
Interior and decor is same for all rooms - classic, superior and deluxe. Classic on floors 1 and 2, superior on 3 to 5, and deluxe on higher floors with the best views. We did not like the garden view as the rooms are overlooked by private apartments and no afternoon sun. Garden is almost non-existent and what there is does not belong to the hotel. We stayed in a room with city view and enjoyed the late afternoon sun on our balcony.  Note that none of the rooms has sea view. Room not luxurious for 4*. Decor simple & very tired. Lacked simple things like shampoo & conditioner. Unbelievable that 4* hotel provided paper cups and one sachet each of instant coffee, tea and powdered milk per person per day, .
 Avoid room service, food is awful, especially sandwiches, and very expensive.
 
Breakfast. 
Ok. Get there early for best choice. Outdoor space is good but liable to attacks by pigeons. Over zealous use of chemical spays by staff cleaning tables.

Beach.
Hotel is well positioned for the beach -5 minutes walk. Hotel's private beach is about 10-15 mins walk. No concession for hotel guests. Food & drinks on beach are very expensive.

Restaurants
Many in the area but average - tourist orientated.

Transport to airport
Good bus service from airport to Cannes and close to hotel. Catch the bus to the airport from bus station adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Handl_SouthCoast,

Thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction after your stay seven months ago at the Gray d'albion Hotel.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service and the best value for money worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, I sincerely regret that we were not able to reach your expectations, and I'm especially sorry because these incidents don't reflect the service and quality of the Gray d'Albion Hotel we aim at offering to our guest, as our ranking on TripAdvisor may attest.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future,

I remain

Yours faithfully

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I won´t add to all the other nice reviews here, the hotel is nice enough and well situated which serves as an excuse to charge cardiac arrest inducing prices for the minibar: $8 (euros 6) for a chocolate bar or a small bag of peanuts is daylight robbery, even on the Côte d´Azur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Kiteaddict3d,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction after your stay at the Gray d'albion Hotel on TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service and the best value for money worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, I sincerely regret that the value of our minibar prices was not up to your expectations, despite that you were please with the other services provided. Nevertheless, a comparative benchmark of 4 stars hotesl in Cannes will show you that our minibar prices are comparatively the same to others hotels. It also seems that on the four hotels comments you posted, you had an "overprice" appreciation for three of them.

Nevertheless, I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

I remain,
Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned and overall impressive. Good 4 star hotel no more no less.
Free wifi and a good concierge with friendly staff.
Very nice breakfast buffet and a hostess that remembered by name on 2nd day.
The location is great located one block back from the Croisette and on Re d' Antibes with a multitude of shops and restaurants.
Even has a Car Park underneath which is very cheap.
Rooms are clean, functional and well appointed but a bit "standard" no real local influences.
Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear JemScott,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your letter pushes my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make our stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Centrally located but not as charming as some of the hotels you get to stay in France, does not have the French touch. Rooms are clean but small and very standard. Breakfast was very average. You could hear the outside sound of the traffic even though I was on the 6th Floor.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear GuluJ,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations, despitre lacks of equipment and soundproofing of our room. This point is usually not mentionned in guest comments but I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the irreproachable level of service that you are expected.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gray d'Albion

Address: 38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the famous Croisette promenade and the Palais des Festivals events centre, the Hotel Gray d Albion welcomes you into a refined world of not only comfort and leisure, but also wellbeing and relaxation with its private beach. Discover the unforgettable charm of our 191 rooms and 8 suites, our restaurant, "38 The Restaurant", our beach restaurant, open seasonally, and our bar, "38 The Bar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gray d'Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.