We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gray d'Albion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gray d'Albion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gray d'Albion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 135 hotels in Cannes
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My 4th time staying here. I travel for business to Cannes and have stayed at The Carlton and The Martinez, supposedly the best hotels in Cannes. If your an average guest and are placed in an average room in those hotels - no big deal at all. GDA is no frills but very comfortable and very French. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable. The balconies make the experience. If you want comfort and location this is a great place to be.

Room Tip: High floor with balcony facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, General Manager at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Passagemaker,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image my team and myself wish to give of our hotel, it is certain that your letter pushes us to continue our work as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    202
    49
    12
    10
See reviews for
64
244
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eynsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel has a lovely location, but has a lack of hospitality - toiletries are bolted to the wall in the bathrooms, and the the tea and milk in the bedrooms is in powder form. The rose smell in the lobby is overpowering, and bar prices inflated beyond the usual Cannes norm. Needs to try harder.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, General Manager at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear EynshamPrincess,

This answer to inform you that I carefully read the comment you wrote ont The TripAdvisor site after your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I regret that the the best value for money you were given has not been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, the quality of service of my hotel being usually held in good reputation, as our ranking on TripAdvisor can show it with a ranking of 10th over 134 hotels registered in Cannes on the website.

However, I hope you will still trust us, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Be sure that my team and myself are trying harder !

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We've stayed at the Gray d'Albion and the Majestic and whilst the Majestic is on the Croisette, the Gray d'Albion is virtually as good as long as your willing to walk 75 yards to the Croisette, however it's about half the price.
Only problem we had was the noise of someone scrapping chairs on the balcony in the middle of the night.The noise seemingly going through walls like a knife through butter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Paul W,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your advice pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant, despite the trouble you got during the night with outside noises which disturbed your sleep.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,
I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A nice hotel, nothing special, but we had no complaints. We found a good deal for 5 nights b&b online and booked a superior room but on arrival were upgraded to a comfortable room on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the central garden. It was quiet, everything worked and the bathroom was a good size. Free wi-fi was a bonus. The location is good for the beach, the shops and the station. We found it best to eat down by the port where there a plenty of restaurants. We recommend the short train ride to Antibes which is more picturesque than Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear src1948,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your yesterday's comment you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel this month.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I’m happy to read that the service you were given at the Gray d’Albion has been up to your expectations.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the second year running we have stayed at the Gray. We stumbled upon it by chance last year and activly sought to book it this year as we had such a good time. The location is perfect, a short walk from the Station and a short walk to the Beach and Croisette. The staff couldn't be more helpful - nothing is too much trouble. It has it's own beach but they do charge for sunbeds/umbrellas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JazzyJonesCat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and be assured that I have expressed your satisfaction and your compliments to my staff.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,

Your sincerely,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 4 day stay, through Secret Escapes, it was great, the staff were lovely and it was centrally located near to the Croisette & the main shopping street, well within walking distance to the old town and lots of lovely restaurants.
The staff were really helpful and polite, the minibar is a little expensive, but thats fairly normal for a hotel of this standard, there was a kettle in the room which was a great as we like our tea and coffee.
The bed in our room on the 4th floor was massive and so so so comfortable, a pleasure to sleep in :-)
It was also my birthday on our first day, and the housekeeping staff noticed my birthday cards in the room so they left me a card and a small present of sweets in the room to wish me a happy birthday from the hotel which i thought was really lovely of them.
Checkout time was 12.00pm which is lovely.

Overall a lovely hotel with lovely staff and i would recommend it to anyone visiting Cannes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear BJ-AV-UK,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your very positive comments push us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This Hotel is located close to the Cannes Station and is accessible to Monaco and Nice by train. The Hotel is comfortable and has a high cost performance than the hotels that are in front of the famous beachside.

Room Tip: Do request for a higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear OpusBoy,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the TripAdvisor website and I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Gray d'Albion Hotel.

Best Regards.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gray d'Albion

Address: 38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#5 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gray d'Albion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the famous Croisette promenade and the Palais des Festivals events centre, the Hotel Gray d Albion welcomes you into a refined world of not only comfort and leisure, but also wellbeing and relaxation with its private beach. Discover the unforgettable charm of our 191 rooms and 8 suites, our restaurant, "38 The Restaurant", our beach restaurant, open seasonally, and our bar, "38 The Bar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gray d'Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.