We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room and courteous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gray d'Albion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gray d'Albion to your Saves list
Hotel Gray d'Albion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room and courteous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed just one night but want to come back for a longer stay. The Hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from all the great restaurants, shopping and the spectacular beach. Our room was very modern, clean, comfortable, free wi-fi, and quiet. Parking not provided but close by, breakfast good but expensive, should have chosen reservation with breakfast included, staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with view are quite a bit more, we chose non-view because we were not planning on staying in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Dennis I,

Many thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on TripAdvisor, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your comment pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay enjoyable.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    251
    64
    13
    10
See reviews for
81
326
33
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I loved my stay in cannes in september. the hotel is perfectly located between rue'd'antibes and la croisette.
I liked the style and the design of hall and bar
all the staff was very kind. I love hotels and work in hotels so I respect a lot all the efforts that everyone in the hotel puts to make us traveller live a good experience.

I was there for the leadeership forum a meeting of hotels 'general managers and leaders'.
my favouite was the bar manger (blonde and eye glasses) he was super king and could remember my preferences a proper bar manager I wish he could work with me in Rome.
From my room I could see the beautiful suquet and all was good .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François P, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear ariannaroscioli,

Simply thank you for such a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed this experience with us.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image we wish to give of our hotel, it is certain that your advice pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant, either for business or leisure matter.

I also won't forget to forward this comment to my Bar Manager who will certainly appreciate it.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

After the warm and friendly service we experienced in London, the indifference if the staff at this well-located, some-what tired, hotel was not good beginning for our 2- night stay in Cannes! The standard room was a good size, as was the bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable, the air conditioning worked well and quietly. The on-site parking garage was a big plus. I would not call this a warm and friendly hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Barbara C,

This message to inform you that I carefully read your comment you wrote after your visit at our hotel this week.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotel, and I deeply regret the bad experience you had with the warm of the service.

I want you to know that we consider your comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been totaly the case this time.

I personally listed what went wrong with our my Heads of department. Measures have been taken to remedy those failures which again, I deeply regret. Usually, the quality of service of that hotel is held in reputation but, this time, it has not been at its usual level.

However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Hoping you will give us a chance to show you that the Gray d'Albion can be up to your expectations,

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful short stay (3 nights) in Cannes at the Gray d'Albion Hotel. The reception desk were beyond helpful in letting us into our superior room on the fourth floor early and letting us check out late to accommodate our flight times. The room itself was very comfortable with a really huge bed and good bathroom facilities including robes. Also with a very good sized balcony overlooking the gardens, so it was very quiet. The breakfast also exceeded expectations with a very good selection of hot and cold foods. The hotel is not on the beach front, but has it's own private beach with lovely staff and is in a great location between the Croisette and the Rue d'Antibes. Highly recommended with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Rachel37M,

Many thanks to you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d’Albion Hotel, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your positive comments pushes my team and myself to continue our efforts, as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s work contribute to make your stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion Hotel,

I remain,

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business conference. The Hotel has a excellent central location on a side street off the main sea front.
The Hotel is showing signs of been a little tired and need of upgrading, however the Hotel is still acceceptable but it is not a deluxe Hotel.
The staff on the front desk and Housekeeping are friendly.
The bedrooms are a good size and the bed very comfortable, I slept better than at home!
They have signs and notes for everything in the room, this looked cheap and untidy.
Breakfast room service trays were still on the corridors at 6pm in the evening.
Rooms have nice balconies but pigeons are a real problem, I ate my room service breakfast on my balcony and was plagued by many pigeons who flew right onto my balcony and food, even with me sitting there! This should be addressed by Management as they have the same problem in the coutyard of there 38 Restauarnt.
As I said its ok, nothing to really complain about but no wow factors. I am sure there is better in Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear James-TRIP,

This message to inform you that we carefully read your comments you wrote on the TripAdvisor website after your stay at the Gray d'Albion Hotel last September.
We thank you for your positive remarks about the service you got during the four days you spend at the hotel.

Nevertheless, we also want you to know that we consider our guests’comments very seriously and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach the best value for money and service.

Therfore, I personally listed what went wrong with the head of department concerned by some of your comments you left. Measures have been taken to remedy those failures which I regret. Regarding your remarks concerning the rank of our hotel, we effectively are a 4 stars hotel and not a 5 stars as it seems you expected it.

However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

I remain,

Yours faithfully

François PORTIGLIA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The Gray d'Albion is a great place to stay. I had a very comfortable, well equipped and quiet room with a great bed. The team at the hotel was both friendly and very attentive. The possibility to have breakfast outdoors on a quiet terrace added to the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear rmvandergraaf,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to post a comment on TripAdvisor for which we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they help us improve our services.

My staff and I have taken note of your positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

We hope to see you again soon in our hotel,

Yours sincerely

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed there for 1 week in end August 2012.

The location (between La Croisette & Rue d’Antibes) is great but no see view.

Be careful some rooms that look over the courtyard can be a bit dark. Rooms are very well re-designed and clean with comfortable beds. Bathrooms are modern but a bit small (we stayed in a superior room).
The rate is very fair for a 4 stars so well located in Cannes.

The Valet parking is very efficient and costs (only) 26 euros for 24 hours, which for Cannes is not that expensive. (When we stayed at the Carlton 2 years ago, we paid 40 euros for 24 hours.)

The staff is very nice and helpful especially the front desk (Julien).

The only hic was at the Concierge desk that wanted to be helpful for making us dinner reservations. But while speaking to the restaurants he didn’t even mention that he was speaking from Grey D’Albion Hotel so we could have done it ourselves. Indeed when calling a restaurant for a booking on the French Riviera, it’s always well appreciated when the booking is made through a good hotel…

One night we went on their private beach for a special fireworks dinner. The food was ok and the service good and again for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard are a bit dark and make sure you will get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_hotels, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Ray-bech,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to send a comment on the TripAdvisor website for which we would first like to thank you. Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your comments regarding your points of satisfaction but also those of unsatisfaction. These will help us to improve our offers and services to reach the level of quality you can expect of our hotel.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon,

Yours sincerely

François PORTIGLIA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gray d'Albion

Address: 38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#5 Business Hotel in Cannes
#10 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gray d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the famous Croisette promenade and the Palais des Festivals events centre, the Hotel Gray d Albion welcomes you into a refined world of not only comfort and leisure, but also wellbeing and relaxation with its private beach. Discover the unforgettable charm of our 191 rooms and 8 suites, our restaurant, "38 The Restaurant", our beach restaurant, open seasonally, and our bar, "38 The Bar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gray d'Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.