We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gray d'Albion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gray d'Albion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gray d'Albion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 135 hotels in Cannes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Upon checking in we were immediately upgraded to a superior room which was appreciated. The bed was a super king and the room a good size. There was also a balcony which got the afternoon sun.
The location is fantastic - less than a minute's walk to the beach/croisette. A good selection at breakfast (pastries/croissants/fruit/cereal/yogurt/bacon, eggs etc) and helpful staff.
Our room was on the second floor, and although there was no noise from the street, we did get woken from the room upstairs, the walls are quite thin - this is the only negative point.
Overall, very good value hotel and will be staying there for our trip next year.

On a seperate note regarding Cannes, we hired a moped for approx 45 euro for the day and drove along the coastline to Monaco stopping off at Juan Le Pins, Antibes & Nice. I thoroughly recommend this if you dont want to hire a car. Another tip is to book the Cannesexpress shuttle bus to and from the airport - only 20 euro each way! Very reliable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dir Madam,

I paid particular attention to the comment you kindly report on Trip Advisor, following your stay in the Hotel Gray d’Albion.
Your positive remarks will encourage my teams to continue towards the quality that we have to ensure all year round to our guests.
I also thank you for your “travelling tricks”, which will surely help internet users on the cheap means of transport to come to Cannes.
Thank you to have chosen Lucien Barrière hotels and more particularly our establishment

Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    208
    51
    15
    12
See reviews for
63
241
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have visited Cannes many times over the past 30 years and have stayed at many hotels including the Carleton,Majestic and Splendid.
I recently arrived in Cannes without a reservation and was dismayed to find that many of my favorite hotels were sold out.I was treated with total disrespect and ignorance by a front desk clerk at the Slendid when i inquired about room availibility and would not stay there again if it was for free.
Thankfully due to a chance dparture,we were able to secure 2 rooms at the hotel,Gray D'Albion.
when I presented to the front desk,I was warmly greeted by Magali who offered me 2 rooms with breakfast and was most gracious and accomodating.
We had just travelled from the french alpine region and were exhausted.
The Hotel gray d'Albion was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!
Very well situated in the heart of the Croisette.Rooms and amenities were outstanding and the breakfast was superb.
I woul definately return and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

My team and I thank you for having taken some minutes of your time to report your satisfaction on the site TripAdvisor, following your stay in the Hotel Gray d' Albion.

Be sure that I really appreciate this gesture, your mail can only encourage my team to continue towards improvement and quality and I shall not miss to pass them your appreciations.

Thank you to have chosen Lucien Barriere hotels and more particularly our resort

Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Upon check in we were gratefully upgraded to a superior room. The room was bright and modern. The beach facilities were also of high standard, with newspapers and dining available on site. Even though the wireless is pricey, one can use it in the hotel as well as on the beach, obviously it would be nice to have it included, but the wide range of usage makes it bearable. the concierge service was very good, making reservations at top restaurants without hassle. Lovely stay and definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Jujush,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the Tripadvisor site, and tell you that I do really appreciate it.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give, it is certain that your letter pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant, even if we still have some efforts to do on some of our prices (wireless should be free in our hotel at the end of the year)

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,
I remain,

Yours faithfully.

François Portiglia
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The service at Gray d' Albion was impeccable, the room was spacious with a great bed and very confortable pillows. Although the toilet was a bit too small, it did not matter as I was on my own. The location is superb. Near the beach, great shopping and restaurants, as well as within walking distances to Cannes most famous tourist attractions.
The hotel's restaurant '38' is of great service and high quality food. Internet access is not included in the room rates, which I think is a real pitty for the standard of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear SaladaVer,

First of all, let me thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your satisfaction on the TripAdvisor site, and tell you that I do really appreciate the time you spent to send your comments.

Always trying to offer our guests a quality of service worth the image the Group Lucien Barrière wishes to give (despite the fact that we hadn't fullfill all your expectation - the wirelees internet should be free at the end of the year in our hotel), it is certain that your letter pushes us to continue our efforts as it is always encouraging to notice that everyone’s efforts contribute to make our guests’stay pleasant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Gray d’Albion,
Yours faithfully

François PORTIGLIA
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Nice hotel in great location. Room is smaller than expected but still comfortable. Many annoying details to put off though. No swimming pool or fitness centre. Parking is limited and expensive. Pretentious attitude is reflected in poor service and sky-high prices for room service, minibar and beach service at almost €40 a day. Food is not great but there are many good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear PaulMartins,

This mail to inform you that I carefully read your comments that you sent through TRIPADVISOR after your stay at the GRAY D’ALBION HOTEL.

We constantly do our most to offer a quality of service worth the image we wish to give to our hotels, and I deeply regret that the service you were given at the GRAY D’ALBION has not been up to your expectations.

I want you to know that we consider your guests’ comments with importance and use them to take the necessary steps to improve and reach an irreproachable level of service, which obviously, has not been the case this time for the food and beverage service and the general value for money of your stay.

I personally listed what went wrong with the heads of department concerned. Measures have been taken to remedy those problems which again, I regret. Usually, the quality of service of that hotel is held in high reputation but, this time, it has not been at the level of its reputation, and I wish you could accept our apologies.

However, I hope you will still trust us, remain a guest of our hotel, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again during the low or mid season which is more affordable. If you do so, don’t hesitate to call me for your next reservation. I will personally take care of your accommodation.

Hoping you will give us a chance to show you that the GRAY D’ALBION can be up to your expectations.

Yours faithfully.

François PORTIGLIA.
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I go regularly to Cannes on business and always stay at the hotel Gray d'Albion. Staff is very helpful, rooms are well appointed, location is perfect. Pricey but good value.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I am a business traveller, and when I arrive, I'm tired, and just need some room service, some internet, and to get to some time-critical work.

Ordering room service here goes as follows:
Call room service. No answer. (7P)
Call room service. No answer. (7:15P)
Call front desk. No answer (7:20P)
Now the phones in the room are dead because they weren't charged prior to my arrival.
Go down to front desk to tell them we need room service (7:30P)
Told that it's not possible because the people at room service aren't answering the phone.
When asked, "so what should I do to get room service?"
Told don't know, maybe try calling them later.

It's now 8:15, and nothing.

This isn't a big deal. And someone else is paying for the room, which is upwards of $500/night. I don't like to complain about silly things, but paying $500 for a "nice" hotel in Cannes with service that *literally* shrug their shoulders at the idea that you would want to order something off the room service menu (a $40 hamburger) is *nowhere you want to stay.*

I've stayed in a lot of other hotels in Cannes, and they understand that people who come here are not necessarily on vacation, but rather, on deadline and appreciative of good service. I look forward to staying in those hotels again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyageur_expedia, Directeur général at Hotel Gray d'Albion, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear sl_fpo.,

I was very concerned with your yesterday’s comment, posted on TRIPADVISOR website.

We always pay special attention to our customers’ comments and opinions in order to improve service and reach the impeccable standard you are entitled to expect from a hotel like ours. In consequence, I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that occurred yesterday morning. We constantly endeavour to provide the high-quality service that we consider Lucien BARRIERE hotels represent and profusely regret that this incidence tainted your opinion of our hotel.

Without going into the specific circumstances of your comment, I would like to draw your attention to a few of the points mentioned in your message :

- Since last Sunday, we have met problems with our telephone switch board, reason why you had such difficulties to reach our room-service. This problem should be solved today ;
- I do apologize for the answer given by our front office attendant ; she should have taken your order. I have met my Front Office Manager, and the employee concerned, who obviously couldn’t give me any explanation about her behaviour ;

Once again, accept my sincere apologies, hoping you will give us a chance to show you during the rest of your stay until next Thursday, that the Gray d’Albion Hotel can be up to your expectations.

I remain,

François Portiglia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gray d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gray d'Albion

Address: 38, rue des Serbes, 06408 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#7 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gray d'Albion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the famous Croisette promenade and the Palais des Festivals events centre, the Hotel Gray d Albion welcomes you into a refined world of not only comfort and leisure, but also wellbeing and relaxation with its private beach. Discover the unforgettable charm of our 191 rooms and 8 suites, our restaurant, "38 The Restaurant", our beach restaurant, open seasonally, and our bar, "38 The Bar". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Gray d'Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gray d Albion
Gray d Albion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gray d'Albion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.