We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely an option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 135 hotels in Cannes
df
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Definitely an option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just at "the" main avenue at Cannes, where JW Marriot, Carlton and Martinez hotels are ( the best in La Croissette Av) this hotel offers very big rooms , excellent service and, if you travel by car, an insite parking lot with valet service at a good price( relative to the average in Cote d Ázur). Despite it gives you the feeling of a hotel from the 60´s this does not mean it is not among the ranking it belongs to. Bathroom ammenities are plenty (Bulgary) and closets (3) are spacious. Reflecting the market they mainly attend to ( I guess), tv channels are mostly news and almost all from arabic spoken countries (there are too one from Spain, some from UK, Italy etc). As you may need to know, only the extremes of Cannes beach are public, so be aware of paying when you want to have a beach chair in private ones. Can´t say anything on food at the hotel because we did not ate there but it´s worth noting that Park 45 is one of the fancy ones at Cannes.

Room Tip: best rooms are on high floors and facing La Croissette
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your full review and positive feedback.

My Team and I are certainly motivated by your compliments and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
There is nothing more rewarding to us than your satisfaction except having the pleasure of welcoming you again…

Best regards

Hugues RAYBAUD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    59
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
95
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff here are absolutely charming and can't do enough to make your stay a memorable one - for all the right reasons.

The hotel is situated close to the Palais and just round the corner from the Rue d'Antibes so the location would be hard to improve on.

The rooms are large with a huge comfy beds and well equipped bathrooms. Robes and slippers are provided. We had a sea view room with a spacious balcony looking out over the lawns to the Croisette. A great place to relax after a day wandering around Cannes or visiting the islands.

The buffet breakfast just looks so pretty and offers delicious, healthy choices. The bar is reasonably priced (for the location).

A down side is no pool or fitness centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your last visit in Cannes.

We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your words concerning our Staff, our situation and also the quality of the food and the ambiance at Le Grand Hotel are very appreciated!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely

Hugues RAYBAUD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very good location and very friendly staff.
Right by the beach and close to the bus to Nice airport, the theater, everything. Cannes is not that big.
Very friendly staff and great seaview with big balcony.
Rooms are spacious and internet included.

Only minus is that they do not have a fitness center, but it is great to take a run alongside the sea.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you spent a pleasant stay with us, and I will not miss to share with my teams your remarks so encouraging!
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet and luxurious place to take a drink in cannes then you should go there, there is a huge garden with a sea view, a bit behind the midle of the croisette, so its quite quiet place. Barmén and barmaid are very polite ànd the prices are not too expensive for cannes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review concerning our bar Le Cercle, it is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much its atmosphere as well as the service provided.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for further relaxing moments,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Large rooms are useful when you have to accommodate lots of luggage and shoppings. Le grand offers you a big room in the core of Cannes. Good services, big bed, large wardrobes and a very nice restaurant completes a very charming staying in Cannes. If you have a car, the parking lot is difficult to find, but the attentions staff took good care of my car and parked it properly in a daily basis. The only improvement I would recommend is getting better and newer blackouts for the large windows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion on this website.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank your for your remark about the blackouts, suggestions from our guests are always very helpful and we will discuss it with the concerned manager.
Regarding our car park it is true that it is located behind the hotel and not easy to find when you don't know Cannes, so this is why we offer a 24 hours valet service on La Croisette, just in front of our establishment.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, I send you my very best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a very nice room with a spacious balcony that included a jacuzzi and an amazing ocean view. Great option if you can afford it.
But the hotel is not about the room only, the staff at the hotel and the restaurant were so nice and efficient.
About the restaurant, yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for. Great option for lunch and dinner. We also order daily in room breakfast and it always arrived on time. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review.
It is a pleasure to read that your recent stay with us was a success.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next year or earlier!
Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After researching practically all the hotels in Cannes, I eventually chose Le Grand due to its location, the option of a balcony and the reported size of the room. We stayed in a prestige sea view room which had an adequate sized balcony (8 square metres) with two wicker loungers and a small table. The room itself was large (37 square metres) with the toilet separate to the bathroom. Personally, I found the toilet very dark and a little claustrophobic, but you are hardly going to spend all day in there!

Unfortunately breakfast was not included in our room rate and we did not eat in the restaurant during our stay. We did order breakfast to the room one morning which was delivered promptly and was just as we ordered. We also had a drink one night in the very expensive bar (a glass of wine was actually cheaper than a cup of tea). My advice would be to buy a bottle of wine in the supermarket and take advantage of your balcony and sea view.

While the service was pleasant enough and the room was clean, I felt that the hotel lacked many of the luxuries which could be expected from a five star hotel (e.g. no water provided at turn down, no docking station etc.). As is common on the continent, no tea and coffee making facilities are provided. However, you can get good rates for this hotel which can make it worthwhile, which we did by waiting until close to our travel date.

Room Tip: A prerstige sea view room with a balcony is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments on this website.
Thank you for your remark about the "luxuries". We already provide Ipads and coffee machines in some of our rooms & Suites but we will consider extending this service across all categories.
We are pleased to read that you spent a enjoyable time with us and hope to welcome you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar “Le Cercle”, lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.