We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, fair prices and large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 135 hotels in Cannes
São Paulo
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well located, fair prices and large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Large rooms are useful when you have to accommodate lots of luggage and shoppings. Le grand offers you a big room in the core of Cannes. Good services, big bed, large wardrobes and a very nice restaurant completes a very charming staying in Cannes. If you have a car, the parking lot is difficult to find, but the attentions staff took good care of my car and parked it properly in a daily basis. The only improvement I would recommend is getting better and newer blackouts for the large windows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your opinion on this website.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank your for your remark about the blackouts, suggestions from our guests are always very helpful and we will discuss it with the concerned manager.
Regarding our car park it is true that it is located behind the hotel and not easy to find when you don't know Cannes, so this is why we offer a 24 hours valet service on La Croisette, just in front of our establishment.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, I send you my very best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
97
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a very nice room with a spacious balcony that included a jacuzzi and an amazing ocean view. Great option if you can afford it.
But the hotel is not about the room only, the staff at the hotel and the restaurant were so nice and efficient.
About the restaurant, yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for. Great option for lunch and dinner. We also order daily in room breakfast and it always arrived on time. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to write this review.
It is a pleasure to read that your recent stay with us was a success.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next year or earlier!
Best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After researching practically all the hotels in Cannes, I eventually chose Le Grand due to its location, the option of a balcony and the reported size of the room. We stayed in a prestige sea view room which had an adequate sized balcony (8 square metres) with two wicker loungers and a small table. The room itself was large (37 square metres) with the toilet separate to the bathroom. Personally, I found the toilet very dark and a little claustrophobic, but you are hardly going to spend all day in there!

Unfortunately breakfast was not included in our room rate and we did not eat in the restaurant during our stay. We did order breakfast to the room one morning which was delivered promptly and was just as we ordered. We also had a drink one night in the very expensive bar (a glass of wine was actually cheaper than a cup of tea). My advice would be to buy a bottle of wine in the supermarket and take advantage of your balcony and sea view.

While the service was pleasant enough and the room was clean, I felt that the hotel lacked many of the luxuries which could be expected from a five star hotel (e.g. no water provided at turn down, no docking station etc.). As is common on the continent, no tea and coffee making facilities are provided. However, you can get good rates for this hotel which can make it worthwhile, which we did by waiting until close to our travel date.

Room Tip: A prerstige sea view room with a balcony is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We had recently the pleasure of your visit and I wished to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments on this website.
Thank you for your remark about the "luxuries". We already provide Ipads and coffee machines in some of our rooms & Suites but we will consider extending this service across all categories.
We are pleased to read that you spent a enjoyable time with us and hope to welcome you back soon,
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If it has been a while since you visited Cannes and you recall it for its Old World sophistication, wow are you in for a disappointment! Cannes has become tacky, with billboards fronting the once luxurious Le Croisette, advertising banners hanging down the hotel walls, even a condom dispensing machine on the sidewalk. The Grand is a nice enough hotel, modernized and set back from Le Croisette. Our room has a balcony overlooking the water. But there is outdoor café/bar sitting in front of the hotel and the noise level is high well into the night. After one night, we are happy to leave Cannes early the next morning.

Room Tip: Balconied room with a view of the sea is a plus, but then there is the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback further to your stay in our establishment.
We are sorry to learn that the city was not up to your memories and expectations.
It is true that as a convention was going on these days, the atmosphere was a little bit different from what it usually is.
Nevertheless, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on a more quiet period.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful location, with a great lawn at the front of the hotel and close to the sea, this may not be the most expensive hotel in the area but certainly looks like it has most of the facilities.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the common areas are of good specification, so it would easily be a hotel that I would choose for holidays too.

Room service is a little weak in terms of options, but the service is good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback!
It is a pleasure to read that your enjoyed your time here with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

With a name like Le Grand you expect just that. But like many of the "5 star" hotels in Cannes, this is just another over-priced hotel that doesn't deliver. Although the hotel is on La Croisette opposite the beach, the hotel itself is set back from the road with what looks like private apartments to one side of its grounds which I thought was a bit odd.

The lobby is small and lacking in impact. The hotel amenities are a joke for a five star hotel. No pool, no gym, no spa. In fact, the downstairs of the hotel just seems to be a reception and a small restaurant.

In terms of the room, having visited a few hotels in Cannes, I'd say this was one of the larger rooms witb a huge bed. And the sea-facing rooms do have a good view over the garden and beach.

However, the room lacked that five star feel with scratchy thin towels and a light duvet. I prefer fluffy bedding that you can sink into. The shower was over the bath which would have been ok, although a little dated, except the cleaner kept moving my screen outside the bath so it would flood the floor every time I showered. Just as well they came back to change the towels every evening too! The shower also took a good few minutes to heat up.

The air conditioning in the room was the biggest problem. It really wasn't possible to sleep with it on as it was too noisy. Guess that explains the thin duvet!

The service in the hotel was also nowhere near five star. My dirty glasses in my room were not changed for 2 days, the food in my mini bar was not restocked until my last day, and the choice of food consisted of a box of Pringles, a packet of nuts and a Toblerone. There's also no coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was not served until 7am which is too late for the business traveller. And room service ended at 10pm - although not sure I could stomach €7 for a yoghurt anyway.

All in all i'd say this was one of the most disappointing and expensive five star hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment further to your stay with us.

It is true that our hotel has no pool, no gym and no spa.
We trust that the description of our establishment that is provided on our website is consistent with reality and in this respect we are quite surprised that you were disappointed in finding none of this when arrived.
Despite this, we hope that you were able to try our private beach, which is one of our most valuable assets.

We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and all of them will be discussed with the concerned manager.

We feel very sorry to know that the image you keep about our hotel is not up to your expectations but we hope that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel during a further stay in Cannes,

Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

In short we had a wonderful stay at this hotel on the August bank holiday weekend. Although our flight meant we arrived at the hotel at 12 when check in was 3pm we were fortunate enough to be warmly welcomed and shown straight to our room despite realising we may have a little wait.

Check in was seamless and by 1pm the cares of London had left us as we had unpacked and made ourselves comfortable on the potoon beds bubbly in hand.

Having travelled to Cannes before I knew the premium on beach space so we had the foresight to book the deluxe beach package in advance. It is always prudent when travelling to the hotels along the croisette to do this to avoid dissapointment. Also we prefer the peace of the potoon settings as the beaches at any of the hotels become very crowded and loungers tightly packed in and this hotel was no exception.

We had a small glitch with service on the beach ( more in relation to the watersports business at the end of the potoon run by a private family) but this was adressed immediately and before long we could get back to our break with no worries. The remainder of the days spent there were stress free cocktail and sushi filled perfection with friendly and attentive staff.

Hotel itself is cool retro in decor and the position on the croisette is perfect as you have the lovely gardens to buffer you from the craziness of this busy area.

We had exceptional service throughout and the bar and restaurant staff went out of their way to ensure we were well looked after. Our limited attempts at french always warmly welcomed and respoded to in English. All the staff we encountered had a good understanding of english.

The Grand 45 restaurant was a lovely experience and we thoroughly enjoyed the 8 course tasting menu. Great wine choice and wonderfully informed staff.

Six days at this hotel went wonderfully despite being there at one of the busiest times at the end of their summer season (due to the fireworks shows of the cotes d'azure).

We would highly recomend and look forward to returning to the grand again in the near future for some wonderful Martini's and people watching on the warm french evenings.

Note to hotel: it may be time to review the watersports venture at the end of the pontoon as the customers who book that area pay a premium for the peace and location. That area would be much more suited to a little bar and seating area similar to that at your beach restaurant. Also possibly making it an adult only zone as the pontoon badly reverberates under the running feet of youngsters.

Room Tip: book your beach location before arriving and opt for the potoon rather than the general crowded loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review!
Thank you so much for your feedback; we are delighted to read that your stay with us was a success.
We have taken good note of your remark about the watersports and we will discuss it for next year.
In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Thank you very much once again,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Family Hotel in Cannes
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar “Le Cercle”, lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.