We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First question: Why are you in Cannes?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 135 hotels in Cannes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“First question: Why are you in Cannes?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If it has been a while since you visited Cannes and you recall it for its Old World sophistication, wow are you in for a disappointment! Cannes has become tacky, with billboards fronting the once luxurious Le Croisette, advertising banners hanging down the hotel walls, even a condom dispensing machine on the sidewalk. The Grand is a nice enough hotel, modernized and set back from Le Croisette. Our room has a balcony overlooking the water. But there is outdoor café/bar sitting in front of the hotel and the noise level is high well into the night. After one night, we are happy to leave Cannes early the next morning.

Room Tip: Balconied room with a view of the sea is a plus, but then there is the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback further to your stay in our establishment.
We are sorry to learn that the city was not up to your memories and expectations.
It is true that as a convention was going on these days, the atmosphere was a little bit different from what it usually is.
Nevertheless, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on a more quiet period.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    59
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
94
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wonderful location, with a great lawn at the front of the hotel and close to the sea, this may not be the most expensive hotel in the area but certainly looks like it has most of the facilities.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the common areas are of good specification, so it would easily be a hotel that I would choose for holidays too.

Room service is a little weak in terms of options, but the service is good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback!
It is a pleasure to read that your enjoyed your time here with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
With my best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

With a name like Le Grand you expect just that. But like many of the "5 star" hotels in Cannes, this is just another over-priced hotel that doesn't deliver. Although the hotel is on La Croisette opposite the beach, the hotel itself is set back from the road with what looks like private apartments to one side of its grounds which I thought was a bit odd.

The lobby is small and lacking in impact. The hotel amenities are a joke for a five star hotel. No pool, no gym, no spa. In fact, the downstairs of the hotel just seems to be a reception and a small restaurant.

In terms of the room, having visited a few hotels in Cannes, I'd say this was one of the larger rooms witb a huge bed. And the sea-facing rooms do have a good view over the garden and beach.

However, the room lacked that five star feel with scratchy thin towels and a light duvet. I prefer fluffy bedding that you can sink into. The shower was over the bath which would have been ok, although a little dated, except the cleaner kept moving my screen outside the bath so it would flood the floor every time I showered. Just as well they came back to change the towels every evening too! The shower also took a good few minutes to heat up.

The air conditioning in the room was the biggest problem. It really wasn't possible to sleep with it on as it was too noisy. Guess that explains the thin duvet!

The service in the hotel was also nowhere near five star. My dirty glasses in my room were not changed for 2 days, the food in my mini bar was not restocked until my last day, and the choice of food consisted of a box of Pringles, a packet of nuts and a Toblerone. There's also no coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was not served until 7am which is too late for the business traveller. And room service ended at 10pm - although not sure I could stomach €7 for a yoghurt anyway.

All in all i'd say this was one of the most disappointing and expensive five star hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment further to your stay with us.

It is true that our hotel has no pool, no gym and no spa.
We trust that the description of our establishment that is provided on our website is consistent with reality and in this respect we are quite surprised that you were disappointed in finding none of this when arrived.
Despite this, we hope that you were able to try our private beach, which is one of our most valuable assets.

We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and all of them will be discussed with the concerned manager.

We feel very sorry to know that the image you keep about our hotel is not up to your expectations but we hope that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel during a further stay in Cannes,

Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

In short we had a wonderful stay at this hotel on the August bank holiday weekend. Although our flight meant we arrived at the hotel at 12 when check in was 3pm we were fortunate enough to be warmly welcomed and shown straight to our room despite realising we may have a little wait.

Check in was seamless and by 1pm the cares of London had left us as we had unpacked and made ourselves comfortable on the potoon beds bubbly in hand.

Having travelled to Cannes before I knew the premium on beach space so we had the foresight to book the deluxe beach package in advance. It is always prudent when travelling to the hotels along the croisette to do this to avoid dissapointment. Also we prefer the peace of the potoon settings as the beaches at any of the hotels become very crowded and loungers tightly packed in and this hotel was no exception.

We had a small glitch with service on the beach ( more in relation to the watersports business at the end of the potoon run by a private family) but this was adressed immediately and before long we could get back to our break with no worries. The remainder of the days spent there were stress free cocktail and sushi filled perfection with friendly and attentive staff.

Hotel itself is cool retro in decor and the position on the croisette is perfect as you have the lovely gardens to buffer you from the craziness of this busy area.

We had exceptional service throughout and the bar and restaurant staff went out of their way to ensure we were well looked after. Our limited attempts at french always warmly welcomed and respoded to in English. All the staff we encountered had a good understanding of english.

The Grand 45 restaurant was a lovely experience and we thoroughly enjoyed the 8 course tasting menu. Great wine choice and wonderfully informed staff.

Six days at this hotel went wonderfully despite being there at one of the busiest times at the end of their summer season (due to the fireworks shows of the cotes d'azure).

We would highly recomend and look forward to returning to the grand again in the near future for some wonderful Martini's and people watching on the warm french evenings.

Note to hotel: it may be time to review the watersports venture at the end of the pontoon as the customers who book that area pay a premium for the peace and location. That area would be much more suited to a little bar and seating area similar to that at your beach restaurant. Also possibly making it an adult only zone as the pontoon badly reverberates under the running feet of youngsters.

Room Tip: book your beach location before arriving and opt for the potoon rather than the general crowded loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review!
Thank you so much for your feedback; we are delighted to read that your stay with us was a success.
We have taken good note of your remark about the watersports and we will discuss it for next year.
In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Thank you very much once again,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently returned from a 2-night weekend break at Le Grand Hotel Cannes. Lured by what I can now only assume must be bogus reviews. From the outset I was thoroughly unimpressed with the service and the aesthetic of the hotel. The lobby is dark, gloomy and very dated, something like a 4 star business hotel 20 years ago. I arrived with my elderly Mother arrived at midday before we could check in to the hotel and was told to come back in a couple of hours by the surly and unhelpful reception staff without being offered any refreshments or reassurance. On our return at 3pm when we were told to come back, it took another 30 mins of waiting around before we were shown our room. The room itself is nice, the decor is pleasant enough and it's a good size but I have to say this is the only positive thing I can say about the hotel.

We were unable to book the beach or restaurant that afternoon because it was full and it took three reminders to finally get confirmation of a reservation for the following day. The beach is crowded and the loungers are ridiculous, just mattress' propped up by a tiny wooden stool. For 23 euros each, this is a pathetic attempt. Far better to go next door to the right (I can't remember the name), where you get proper loungers, enough personal space and half way decent service for about the same price.

Breakfast was beyond a joke. The buffet was not replenished for more than half an hour. Consequently, there was really limited choice, a shortage of bowls and cutlery and if you anted coffee or eggs cooked to order you could expect to wait at the very least 15 minutes for it to arrive and be prepared to remind the pouty and unfriendly staff at least once. Beyond a joke for a supposedly 5 star hotel. It's really nothing of the sort. I'm also disappointed to say that the French guests were given noticeably more attention than the non-French guests at the reception, bar and breakfast buffet.

Having been lucky enough to stay in genuine 5 star hotels on a regular basis with work, I'm unsure how Le Grand Hotel managed to achieve this status. Having checked out the competition for next time I thought the Martinez, the Marriott and the Intercontinental looked far superior, though I can't comment on the rooms or the service (though realistically, it could not have been worse than the Grand).

I have no intention of ever returning to this hotel and I'm actually very angry that what was supposed to be a relaxing, luxurious weekend was marred by poor service, seriously unfriendly and unhelpful staff and a genuine disregard for customer experience. I spent most of the time feeling wound up, badly treated and a strong sense that I'd been ripped off. This is not a 5-star hotel. AVOID

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your opinion.
We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the special atmosphere our establishement offers, and especially the lobby, as this is a much appreciated value that our guests mention. The entire hotel has been decorated in a modern, chic style based on the 70's and is kept in its best shape.

Regarding your early arrival, we regret that your room was not ready before 3pm (check-in time) but as our hotel was fully booked we had no other room to propose.

About our private beach La Plage 45 you may have noticed how popular it is in Cannes, especially during July and August which is our absolute highest season.
We totally understand how disappointing it is not having the chance to enjoy it and this is why we always encourage our guests to book their sun-chairs in advance or at the time of booking.
Then, there is indeed an extra charge for this service, which is discounted for our hotel guests and very interesting compared to the usual rates offered in Cannes.

For the breakfast experience, we regret that you remain with such a bad impression of the service provided. It is our daily task to keep up quality and service standards and you can be sure that the points that you have highlighted are discussed in detail with the concerned department.

Hoping that you will grant us the opportunity to give you a much better opinion of our hotel during a further stay in Cannes,

Sincerely,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st remy de provence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to the grand hotel about twice a year in the past three years, with the children. Love the location, the view from the room sea facing, the garden and the beach. But wouln't it be nice to get a word or a smile of recognition after being coming regularly. We visited the bar about a dozen times, the beach restaurant half a dozen times, isn't it part of the service in a five star hotel? ...but if the hotel director does not greet the clients with a 'bonjour' why should the rest of the staff?!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to deeply, and personally apologise regarding your experience during your last stay with us as this is absolutely not representative and in keeping with the standards in the Grand Hotel.
We do share your opinion on the fact that this is unacceptable and the necessary steps have been taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Location is not what its all about


Location, location, location are definitely the three best things about Le Grand Hotel in Cannes. Having undergone a recent refurbishment, the reception, lounge and other public areas are light and bright with a strong 1970s influence. The rooms are well appointed, clean with comfy beds and if you have a 'superior room' with sea view, the terraces are quite spacious. Air conditioning is efficient but noisy. Sadly that's where the good review has to end. From the moment we arrived, before check-in time, we were greeted (using the term loosely) by receptionists who told us to come back in two hours. Left entirely to our own devices, without even the offer of a cold drink after our journey, we knew were off to a less than brilliant start.

The service in the hotel restaurant at breakfast was average to say the least. The buffet was adequate but certainly not 5 star standard and neither was the service. Attracting attention to order coffee or to attempt to get bowls or cutlery became tedious as was persuading the staff, all gathered for a chat in the kitchen, to replenish food trays left empty at least half an hour before the official end of breakfast service. Not what we would expect from a top hotel in Cannes.

The hotel has no pool and we were very unimpressed to find that beach facilities for residents didn't seem to be discounted despite having been informed that rates were preferential. Service was poor on the beach - loungers were uncomfortable unless you chose and were 'lucky enough' to get a reservation on the exorbitantly priced pier - and in the restaurant. We found a much better beach at the Vegeluna just down the road, less expensive than the Grand and offering far superior service. It's not all negative however - the food was good, once it arrived.

The hotel concierge started off being very helpful and the day after we arrived, we asked him to book a table at a popular restaurant (that we knew very well) for pretty much any evening during our stay. We were then informed that this had been made and was in the diary for the Sunday evening, which of course we were very happy about - until that is we arrived at the restaurant to find it closed. We then had to find another restaurant to take us as 'walk ins' and ended up eating a very average meal on what should have been a special evening.

On our return to the hotel we informed the concierge on duty, who just shrugged, gave us a very weak apology and said there was nothing he could do about it. The following day we were informed that the restaurant was now fully booked until several days after our departure. We were so disappointed that we reported this unhappy experience together with some of the others to the hotel manager, who was more apologetic and attempted to appease us for his hotel's many shortcomings with the offer of a complimentary meal in the hotel restaurant (which we did not accept), a bottle of champagne sent to the room and a small discount on our final bill.

The Grand Hotel has pretentions of grandeur that are neither reflected in its retro 70s decor or its gloomy 70s service levels - I'm afraid it will take far more than a bottle of bubbly to lure us back there.
.

Room Tip: Sea view is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
Your comments assist us maintain and improve the qualities of our service to our guests.

We have taken good note of all the dysfunctions you have highlighted and please, be sure that every aspect will be discussed and steps taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.
Regarding the unfortunate experience with our concierge desk we would like to apoligize once again and very much regret that you did not accept our offer for a complimentary diner for two in our Michelin starred restaurant.
With my best regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar “Le Cercle”, lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.