We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good experience - a few notes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Le Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Overall a good experience - a few notes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Good location right in the middle of the croisette. Rooms and beds are huge but the bathroom is surprisingly small. For the money, they should offer an iPod player in the room. We called and they brought in a bose system but not the kind with an ipod dock.

Closets are enormous, bed is seriously comfortable. WIFI worked without issue. I could never get the blinds fully closed which was annoying, as the sunlight woke me. They could use with some simple blackout sheers.

You need to reserve beach chairs in high season as they book early. For 500 EUR a night, you would think a few beach chairs would be included, but they are not (and no discount) so be prepared to add another 100 EUR a day if you want to use the beach.

Bar is very quiet, nothing really to get excited about, although just 100 meters from the hotel there are plenty to choose from.

Restaurant is very good, impecable service and cuisine but lacks some atmosphere.

For nightlife definitely try "Les Marches" (go inside the main casino in the festival hall and take the elevator to the left. Cool rooftop bar and inside is a dance club.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugues-Raybaud, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our rooms. They are indeed very large and we always have very good feedback regarding our mattresses and bedding.
The bathrooms do appear to be small but this is mainly due to the fact that the bedroom is very large (35m²).
We would also like to thank you for your comment about the equipment as we always very much welcome the opportunity to improve the quality of our standards and service.
All your suggestions will be discussed.

Regarding our private beach La Plage 45 you may have noticed how popular it is in Cannes, especially during July and August which is our absolute highest season.
We totally understand how disappointing it is not having the chance to enjoy it and this is why we always encourage our guests to book their sun-chairs in advance or at the time of booking.
Then, there is indeed an extra charge for this service, which is discounted for our hotel guests (19 € this year) and very interesting compared to the usual rates offered in Cannes.

Nevertheless, we are very pleased that you had a good time at the Grand hotel, but somehow quite disappointed that you were not sensitive to the atmosphere every place in the hotel can offer, especially our bar Le Cercle, with its elegant décor and its exceptional gardens.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Hugues Raybaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    73
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
30
110
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved every aspect. Super location, great service and breakfast. Upgraded to ocean front. One of the few hotels with landscaping in front. Very chic and, again, a superb location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Was not certain what to expect. Older property that has been renovated in a stylish manner. Quiet. Parking available. No gym. Rooms are large, beach area and restaurant are good. Location is busy but good as you can walk to old town for some excellent dinner choices. Walk behind the hotel for shopping and such. Staff was good, recommendations for dinner and such, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We didn't stay at this hotel, however we went to the bar several nights during our stay in Cannes. The hotel is set back from the Croisette so that is has a large, lush garden in front of it. At night, the palm trees and bushes are lit up with LED lights, hypnotically shifting from one colour to the next - which creates a fun, inviting atmosphere. The hotel lobby, bar, and restaurant are all decorated in a very playful 60's mod style - like something you would expect from a James Bond film. The bar has both indoor and outdoor areas with very comfortable seating. Our greatest pleasure was the lead bartender (I think his name was Alexander) who is incredibly welcoming and who enjoyed engaging the guests in hilarious conversation. I'll never forget one night when we left the bar and were headed back to the Croisette - Alexander was standing at the front of the hotel and kept waving his hands and yelling 'goodbye' to us - priceless.

As an aside, we stayed at Le Canberra which is nearby and excellent. I have posted a review there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork/London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Excellent location in central Cannes. Very clean and smart hotel with efficient service.
Ideally located for the of the Nice to Cannes Marathon.
We were a group of 4 adults and 1 infant and the hotel staff could not have been better or nicer to us. Special word of Thanks for Aurélie for her support as we checked out on Sunday.
The views from our ocean facing room was 10/10 and the terrace was very comfortable.
This is the place to stay in down town Cannes! (J O'Mahony 14.11.2010)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

At the back of a generous park, with a spectacular view of the sea and the promenade, large balcony, spacious rooms, great design overall. Restaurant recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Big rooms, private secured parking lot, right on croisette with beautiful lawn in front. Room was huge and the location was also close to all attractions and train staion. had a great stay except for bar service which was marginal at best. That could be inproved. Small lobby and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 45 boulevard de la Croisette | BP 263, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#22 Business Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true green oasis on the famous Croisette, the Grand Hotel enjoys a unique, exceptional setting. It is the oldest hotel on the Croisette and it has been completely revamped in 60s style. It is a haven of peace for epicureans. A drink in the bar “Le Cercle”, lunch on the huge, spacious terrace or simply relaxing in your suite with its panoramic view of the bay. How good it is to stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Cannes
Hotel Le Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.