We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Cannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Cannes to your Saves list
JW Marriott Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best location in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Service was so great that I did wakService was reliable and great.
The day I had to go to Nice to catch my 12.30PM fight to Madrid, I woke up late. I overslept. If I had returned the vehicle I rented, I would have missed my flight. Hotel Concierge and his assistant went beyond duty and offered themselves to return to vehicle, what they did. And I was able to catch my plane.
Rooms are pretty big, nice and comfortable. The only not great thing about the Hotel is the Food. Very regular.
If you are a Tourist, Investigate high season weeks. Price could be 500 Euros for a regular small not ocean view room.
Very recommendable hotel. The best location in Cannes. Better, impossible. A very pleasant stay.
e up late the day I had tyo go to Nice to catch

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    157
    79
    25
    23
See reviews for
56
180
10
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Couldn't ask for a better location than this, in the center of town and across the street from the beach. Service was excellent with staff going out of their way to make sure you were happy. Breakfast was superb and a great view of the beach from the outside patio.
Great beach views from room and also from the rooftop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed 6 nights here and had a great time! The King bed is absolutely heavenly! Despite the noise from the music festival our sea-view room on the 2nd floor was very quiet. Housekeeping did a good job and our linens etc seemed brand new and turn down service occurred every night. Breakfast outside on the veranda overlooking the beach and La Croisette was what we loved......wish we were still there! The 6th floor rooftop pool needs renovation but was okay to use and had bar service. A little bit of a surprise to us was having to pay for beach loungers.....we thought it was always included but is not. Would love to return here again!!

Room Tip: Seaview is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights (from 21st April 2014). When we arrived, our room wasn't ready even though we had emailed and confirmed the time. Never mind, went for lunch and came back and it was ready. Entrance / Lobby is beautiful and a very nice bar. The outside area to have drinks and breakfast is excellent. Room was very clean. We had issues with the air con on the first day but reception resolved that ASAP.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves but not giving 5 stars as for the price you pay, it's not quite 5 star as compared to other J W Marriott's. Nevertheless, it's still a great hotel and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We didn't have a great view. Splash a little more cash and get the seaside view. OR a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, Ca.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have stayed at Marriott properties all over the world. I won a Marriott time share in Phuket and generally I have been very pleased with my experience in other Marriott hotels. We checked into this Marriott in Cannes France, and were viciously attacked by bedbugs the 1st and 2nd nights. They claimed they checked the rooms but could not find any, and this was nonsense as the bites were all over my wife and I. Their total response was a cheap 1/2 bottle of Rose and some chocolates and told me to go on my way. I would not stay here again if it was free instead of 420 euro/night. Beware and pick another hotel in Cannes.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear ashanberg,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our TripAdvisor webpage.

Please be advised that following your comments, a complete and thorough investigation occurred in the entire room you stayed in by both the Director of Services and pest control company, which revealed high levels of cleanliness and certified no signs of any bed bugs.

To ensure you that the proper control and follow up was made during your absence from your room we sent you a note of explanation together with a small amenity. Please note that this was not meant to be offered as a compensation for the reported incident.

Marriott prides itself for the cleanliness of the Hotels, follows very high standards with regards to hygiene and makes sure that the room environment is as spotless as possible. There are always cases where additional steps can be taken to avoid any flaws occurred, however we are taking all due care to make sure the guest receives the best possible service including living in a very clean room.

We are sorry about the described experience, however all evidence shows that this did not occur in our Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should there is anything else we could assist you with and I remain for any further clarification you may enquire.

Thank you once again for your comments, and we do hope to have the occasion to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

As a platinum elite member, I always gave high expectation to JW Marriott. However, when I stayed in JW Marriott Cannes last week, I found that there was a serious problem.

When we went to breakfast one day, no one leading us to the table, so we choose one to sit. Few minutes later, one stuff came and seems very unhappy about where we sat, she Knock the table and said:"This is for lunch!" Oh please....

I was going to report when I checked out, but the reception didn't ask my stay experience at all. So I didn't brother to tell then. But I did reported it when I received a survey email from Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalliopi_Paroussi, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cannes, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mr _K1027,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the JW Marriott Cannes.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that your stay did not meet your expectations and at the same time we would like to thank you for having already contacted us through a private message where we could further discuss this.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the JW Marriott Cannes.

Best Regards,

Kalliopi Paroussi
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

From here you can walk to all the cool places in Cannes. We loved the perfumed lobby, staff that is helpful and friendly at all times, wonderful, clean room (with large bathrooms), free Wifi and free breakfast (Marriott Platinum Status) and the location - in the midst of great restaurants, great shopping and with its own private beach. We believe you will love every minute here and cannot imagine a nicer place to stay in Cannes. We extended our stay two nights as we loved everything about this place. Every room has black & white movie star pictures in it - a lovely touch in a "Movie Festival City". The concierge is very knowledgeable and got us to locals places in Antibes and Saint Tropes - not an easy task.

Room Tip: The windows are soundproof, so that you'll sleep in silence even if you have a room facing the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cannes

Address: 50 boulevard de la Croisette, 06414 Cannes, France (Formerly Palais Stephanié)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#21 Family Hotel in Cannes
#27 Business Hotel in Cannes
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Mediterranean Sea and the Southern Alps, JW Marriott Cannes boasts an incomparable cultural and artistic heritage. The hotel is located on the former site of the Palais des Festivals, placing it at the heart of a city that steps into the spotlight once a year, when shining stars and international events come together for a film festival that has made Cannes the annual showcase for French elegance. Among its many unique features, JW Marriott Cannes is the only luxury hotel on the Croisette to have its own auditorium seating up to 820 guests. It also offers 16 newly renovated multi-functional and totally flexible conference rooms (including 10 new rooms on the 1st floor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cannes Hotel Cannes
Palais Stephanie Hotel Cannes
Cannes Palais Stephanie Hotel
Sofitel Cannes
Cannes Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.