We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alize Cannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alize Cannes to your Saves list
Hotel Alize Cannes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue Bivouac Napoleon, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed one night in the first week of july and came by train, which stops some 350 m. away.
Actually we paid less and got more in Nice, but Cannes might be more expensive. The hotel charged some 30% in advance, although it's not mentioned on the Venere voucher.
Some tips:
- Bus nr. 8 actually makes a "city tour" with open deck along the promenade for only 1 euro. The touristic train (10 euro, near Palais de Festivals) makes the same track but gets also up in the old town. We took first the train and got off in the old town. From there we walked down through the narrow streets with shops and restaurants. I did't check if there is a public bus that gets there. (the bus station is at the beginning of the promenade, under the old town)
- Near the hotel, on the opposite side of the street there is a cafe-restaurant with Asian food. We had there two coffees and the waitress charged us 9 euro. When I refused to pay this exaggerate price she said 7 euro was OK. The owner of the restaurant was present, but he didn't intervene with this practice.
- We had dinner at Le Voiliers (next to Babylon) near hotel Capitol. Good food/value and location to see the "parade" of luxurious cars in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
60
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed 6 nights at Alize and i´m normally used to stay at 4-5 star hotels.
First of all Alize location is excellent, close to a lot of great restaurants, great shopping and the Beach. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Rooms are clean a nice and the only small downside might be the room size, could be a bit bigger. Free internet is also a big plus!
Did not have the breakfast so can´t say anything about it.
In total great value for the price they charge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a superbly located hotel in an affordable (for Cannes!) price bracket. The rooms are small but quiet, neat and clean. We have stayed at this hotel 3 out of the 5 times we have visited Cannes and would recommend to anyone seeking a car-free holiday. It is an easy walk to the beach,train station and airport bus stop meaning that you return to the hotel without heavy feet! We have also stayed with our small children and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast is basic continental but it's the convenience that made breakfast a must for us each day. We have grown to adore this little place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

When you book a 2-star, you don't arrive with high expectations, so this hotel did not disappoint, but it didn't exceed what little expectation we had, either. The room was small, but clean and the beds were comfortable. No frills. Good central location, walking distance from everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The location is good, street is quiet( well I didn't wake up on anything), close to the beach shops etc.

Staff very helpful and helps you with any needs you may have.

There is drop-off/pick up parking in the front, if you have any big bags/things to drop off. There is also a lift.

Place is clean, beds are good. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Just tell the reception what you want ( if no street noise -back, if no aircon noise, elsewhere - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great things about this hotel: you can walk to it from the train station, it's in the center of town but not on a busy street, good value, well presented interior.
While in cannes i recommend getting a ferry to the island of saint marguerite: it's a quiet island with small beaches and has a fort/prison (and inspired the story of the man in the iron mask).

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here a saturday night in January and now in March again. It is a good 2 star hotel with friendly staff, incredible pricing (low season at eur 69 a room), where you can sleep on a good mattress in a nice but small room (but do not go to watch TV ... the screen is very very small). The street is very quiet as well, despite being right in city center. Both room 201 and 301 however need an extensive cleaning of the carpet, as it is already full of stains. For lunch there is an excellent small "cafeteria" nearby, called Cocoon. Location is perfect, as it is walking distance to the beach and La Croisette, to the shopping street (Rue d'Antibes), to the restaurants area, and to a very good bar, Black Pearl. We also took advantage of a happy hour at Byron, with all cocktails at eur 6 only, closeby the famous restaurant Coquillages Brun. Staying overnight in Cannes at eur 69 instead of taking a taxi back home in the middle of the night at over eur 100 .... we have made our choice.

Room Tip: untill the carpet is cleaned I would not stay in 201 or 301 anymore
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Alize Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alize Cannes

Address: 29 rue Bivouac Napoleon, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alize Cannes 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alize Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alize Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.