We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, Boulevard d'Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #76 of 135 hotels in Cannes
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Offers good sized room. Pleasant staff especially the lady in charge of breakfast. Ordinary breakfast which is unusual for france. Room was clean. Shower was exceptionally good a rarity in France. The downside is you can hear the tgv nearby (all the announcements etc from early morning). In order to get to town you have to use the underpass and it is unsafe. Saw homeless people there who also used the underpass as a public toilet. Great shame for Cannes although this is probably not a fault of the hotel. I did feel nervous enough to walk in the evening so forfeited going out for a meal. Was hungry but hotel does not serve food. Bought a bag of crisps from vending machine for a whopping 3 euro only to find it was out of date so not impressed. Overall stay was ok but last time we stayed in the Splendid hotel also 4 star and enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    31
    13
    15
See reviews for
14
58
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed fo one night and this hotel is really good! The room is modern and comfortable, the rooftop poll offer a really nice sea and mountain views. The breakfast was really good! The inter net was free and fast, and the Staff really welcoming! I recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner and I returned from this hotel on Saturday 6th October. We had a wonderful experience, the staff were extremely welcoming and the lady at breakfast couldn't do enough for you. We stayed in room 631 which was lovely and quiet and overlooked the terrace. The room was spotless and had everything you could want. I think some of the reviews have been very unfair as personally we could not fault the service or the hotel in any way. The hotel is in an ideal position for getting about. We caught the train most days to explore the different areas. Although you have to go through an underpass it is well used, well lit and it was being painted when we were there. I can understand that a lone female may feel a little worried but there are cameras there as well. One of the tips I had read which was useful was to ask for a coffee making tray. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and can not thank the staff enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the worse behavior from the receptionist when we had complained for the triple room we had booked for me, my husband and our 17 year old daughter which actually was a tiny double room that they had tried unsuccesfully to fit a third bed, a camp bed which it did not even fit straight in the room and on top of that they had to change it twice since both were broken before we even use them. The stubit receptionist after saying in english that she could not do anything or change the room she continued talking in french and ignored us completely. She even cursed my husband in french when we insisted to have a bigger room. We had asked repeatedly to see the manager but they always said he was out. Somebody should teach them some manners. Also the breakfast is veryyy poor. NEVER AGAIN to this hotel!!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannesriviera, Receptionist at BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Madam,

A criticism is acceptable when honest and genuinely critical, that is to say critical of something for sound and unbiased reasons. Your husband warned us and said that he would write an online review unless we would grant him a special discount. We refused and are thus not very surprised to receive a complaint from you today.

You came here in Cannes and stayed with a Cypriot group. As we have explained you here at your arrival, we do not have any triple room in our hotel. A roll-away bed may be proposed for children under 12 willing to share the parent’s room. Your travel agent knew this, recognised his fault, and found for you a solution. He booked an alternative hotel for both the driver and the guide in order to give you their rooms since our hotel was fully booked. This solution was found at the initiative of the driver, who apologised on your behalf for your aggressive behavior. We would like to point out that your attitude has shocked other travelers and regret a few of them complained at the reception.

Furthermore, we have noticed that you have posted another review on the 24th of September for a hotel in Genoa mentioning the same problem as you have experienced here in Cannes. As you put it yourself, you “shouted” and have acted just the same. We do not doubt you would blackmail them into offering you something as you have tried here in Cannes.

You may contact your travel agent if you have questions with your original reservation but there is obviously nothing more we can do for you.

Best regards from Cannes,

Pierre / Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

decent price (about 100eur/night in August) for a 4 stars in that region. price is lower than other 4 stars in the region (probably because its position on the back on the scene), but its just 3-4 minutes from everything. Location near the station (TGV and RER) was an advantage for me.

room was small but who cares when in Cannes.

AC works well, room was quite as well.

Fast WIFI

Room Tip: consider your transportation means when picking up an hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent a week in this hotel and were satisfied in general. I am quite sensitive to noises at night, but I was not bothered by the trains. The view from our room, however, was directly to the station and the road above. At least we had an immediate information about the traffic outside :)
Unless others, we found out immediately how to cross the station :)

The breakfast was very good, we always had a very active lady there, who did not allow us to make coffee or juice for ourselves :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I reserved for 2 nights. The sencond day after I had my breakfast at 11 Am I went to the beach and when came back. My suitcases were at the reception and the front desk told me I had to pay for Late check out. THey didn't realize that still had my reservation for the next they. And when I saw my suitcase and such a mess inside it.. I freaked out!!!! They took off all my stuffs (including my underwear) from the closet and put into my suitcase asking me to apologize them. URghhh!!!! I asked to talk to the manager and he kept saying the manager was out of the hotel, but HE WAS THE MANAGER! He was laughing at me... Stupid Guy! I wanted to call the police but because I'm not french I decided to complain about the situation and they gave me a upgrade room like the presidential room. I don't think it was worth it. I won't returne there because of the worse service despite the young and nice lady from the staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannesriviera, Reception at BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Madam,

We are surprised by your commentaries. You have been in contact both with us and Best Western International regarding this situation. The agency that has booked for you made a mistake and had reserved two seperate bookings under your name with a week interval between receipt of the two bookings. The names on the reservations were spelled differently and the voucher you gave at check-in did not mention that second night.

You have been given explanations by Best Western International and have been offered a gift card and as you mention it an upgrade in one of our Suites.

We are really sorry that you still hold us responsible for this situation and look forward to accommodating you here in Cannes in better conditions.

Best regards from Cannes,

Pierre / Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA

Address: 16, Boulevard d'Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace in the heart of Cannes, a stone's throw away from La Croisette, the famous Festival Palace and the beaches, the BEST WESTERN Cannes Riviera promises a truly enjoyable stay. So many warm and enchanting features in complete harmony with the friendly welcome. On the roof, the sun-drenched terrace and swimming pool await you with a view to take your breath away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cannes Riviera Hotel Cannes
Cannes Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN CANNES RIVIERA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.