We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book the standard rooms, deluxe or superior are best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mondial

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mondial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mondial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Rue d'Antibes | BP 287, 06407 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Oxford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't book the standard rooms, deluxe or superior are best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights June 12 and were initially disappointed with our small room. We looked at a superior and although not much larger this had a small balcony and a view of the sea down a street opposite. However by far the best rooms are the deluxe which we found using booking.com (this website tells you the square footage of the rooms so you know what you are getting). We had room 307 which had a separate sitting area, lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower, plus a nice room with sea view.
The hotel breakfast was good and we had this in the room. The location is perfect, just minutes from the sea and train station and the entrance is just off the rue d'antibes so it took a minute to locate.
Cannes is a wonderful town, we preferred it to Monaco but the it's pricey for beach beds (15 euros per bed for the day) and drinks (can be 6 euros for a coke and 9 for a beer). Another tip is get the direct bus back to the airport, just 35-40 mins and 16.50 euros each. Goes from the back of Hotel de Ville and runs every 30 mins on the hour and half hour up till 7pm.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    75
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
19
41
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This coming June will be my fifth visit during the Cannes Advertising Festival. Small but cozy and very friendly establishment. On a small and quite side street directly between the main shopping/pedestrian street and the local market. Restaurants are a stones throw away, beach promenade 2 minutes away. If possible request a room on the top floors with balcony (some even have seaview)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Where: The address given was wrong.. Not at 77 rue d'Antibes but in a side street.
When I telephoned I was left with the impression that I was in the wrong. The fact that the hotel was in a side street and was covered in scaffolding and there was no sign re: Best Western.
There was, I checked later, a vertical lettering painted on another side street - Hotel Mondial.
Edward de Bono would be proud of the lettering written in reverse negative. There is no Best Western Mondial at 77, rue d'Antibes, Cannes. There is no No. 77.

What:: Despite the fact that I had already paid - the hotel receptionist insisted on taking a swipe of my Carte Bleu - she did say it was to verify the existing details (including my VISA card details) on my application (I had pre-paid via SNCF (cheaper)).

It was, she said, to cover the local tax and eventual payment for alcohol consumptions from the "mini bar" - never take from the mini bar!

What: The room was small but very tastefully decorated and the plumbing in bathroom looking very nice indeed. I'll test this in the morning.

What: Attitude - I doubt that the Receptionist has a good idea about the notion of a Definition of Service. Clear lack of training and a poor attitude indeed. This was my worst experience at Best Western stemming from 22 years travelling - Canada, UK, Belgium and France.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in january 2012 for two nights. The hotel was lovely, with clean rooms and a lovely city view. The room was of a good standard and excellent value for money, and very clean with a great rain shower. The hotel would benefit from a hotel bar, but the breakfast was a great continental with lots to chose from, and freshly made scrambled eggs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel, and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here in Oct 2011, 3* class hotel, perfect hotel for for location 3-5 mins walk to beach, 1 min walk to designer shops, Irish bar directly across from hotel if thats what your looking for or a choice of many restaurants/cafes and bars if you just look around, set menu of starter, main and dessert for 30 Euros is better value than just buying a meal on its own, meal on its own with wine approx 40/50 euro for 2 people. Train station 5 mins away and you can travel Cote d'azur or 1 euro on bus will take you anywhere in cote d'azur. Hotel itself has no bar or lounge area except for maybe 4-5 seats in reception area and if you wish to have a quiet drink staff will allow you to sit in this area and have your own drink, breakfast room accomodates 35/40 people at one time, breakfast is perfect all you could all ask for, staff very helpfull and friendly, bedrooms fine, cleaned everyday, wonderfull comfortable bed, large bathroom, extra charge for balcony although unless you really want a balcony it is quite small and you don't be in your room enough to use it... Unless you crave 5 * luxury this hotel is perfect, clean, tidy, large bathroom with toiletries, polte well mannered staff , wonderfull breakfast, perfect location, would stay here again...

Room Tip: if you wish a view of the sea these room are located to the front of the hotel and have a small balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I didn't expect much of this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are fairly impersonal and average looking, but the most important things are all done well.

The bed was incredibly comfortable, I just wanted to curl up in it all the time; so soft and the pillows were great. Would not suit those who prefer hard beds and thin pillows.

The shower was great; the big 'monsoon' type plus the standard French adjustable one.

The cleaning was always done well, although hairs were sometimes left around. The television was fairly big and worked well.

My room was on the quiet side of the hotel, but my colleagues who were in rooms on the other side had trouble sleeping due to the noisy Irish pub opposite.

The breakfast buffet was pretty good; make sure you ask for an omelette; don't cook the eggs yourself; their egg cooker machine basically doesn't work. The muesli is good and the breakfast staff friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Suberb location. Staff very kind and helpful. Good complimentary breakfast. Rooms ok for the value. But expect troubles (just like happens in all hotels in that areas) to park, board and load luggages in that charming tiny streets. Great irish pub in hotel front door, for after hours. Great value after all!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mondial

Address: 77 Rue d'Antibes | BP 287, 06407 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Mondial 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in center of town, near La Croisette, 180 meters from the beach; 500 meters to railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondial Hotel Cannes
Best Western Hotel Mondial
Best Western Cannes
Cannes Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mondial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.