We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting it Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Restaurant

Carlton Restaurant
58 La Croisette | Hotel InterContinental Carlton, Cannes, France
0033493064006
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Carlton Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 607 restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $0 - $99
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Clane, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Getting it Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I last reviewed this place in February, when we really enjoyed it, but commented on them not delivering on the Chardonnay bit of their "Scallops and Chardonnay" evening, at least not until it was pointed out to them. A couple of confessions: scallops, done properly, are my favourite food and I like the ambience of the Carlton. That being said, we have had the Scallops and Chardonnay meal there, served on a Wednesday evening in the off season, about 5 times now. This was easily the best; in fact it was absolutely outstanding. From the amuse bouche on it was beautifully presented and delicious. The scallop salad to start has perfectly cooked scallops with polenta crisps, pepperered mango and carrot broth with ginger (I took the menu to remember all of this!). Previously we had had raw or marinated scallops, which I am not keen on. Flash frying them brings out their sweetness.Main course was "crunchy" scallops in a very original setting. They were slightly caramelised rather than crunchy,really excellent. Chocolate crisp with grilled pineapple and coconut cream to finish. Meal plus two glasses of Chardonnay (les Jumelles, a Vins du pay, but decent )- and the waiters were not mean about giving you a bit more- was €54 pp. Service was super.We thought the whole evening superb- and great value in very nice surroundings. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    81
    32
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“too much glamour, no great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The place is really glamorous, nice looking. But the food is not delicious, unfortunately...
One expects such place to be expensive and really good in food... It is in fact not cheap, but quite ordinary in food...
For dinner no menu proposal.
No need to book, they have too many places, which were not occupied, so you will always find the place if you decide to go.
Staff is polite and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beach Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I visited the beach restaurant in early September and has a fantastic meal with friends the view out to see and back onto land are both fantastic. Service was excellent we were very well looked after throughout our meal and enjoyed copious amounts of champagne alongside side 3 fantastic courses.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Resting on its laurels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A rather sad hotel compared to its glory days. Food adequate but twice the wrong dishes were given to those orders. The staff polite but the meals were not value for money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary dinner :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Made a reservation for the terrace for our wedding anniversary - unknown to me Ian had emailed and arranged an anniversary cake and they put us in prime position right on the edge of the terrace. The sun sat while we eat and the service was friendly and efficient. We had a cocktail to start and we were served a variety of tomatoes to nibble alongside the obligatory bread. We eat from the main menu, both having the salmon to start which was delicate and a good portion (not to dainty). The creamy pea shooter complemented the rich salmon well, and the dill made it a well balanced dish (there was slightly too much dill in my opinion, but that's personal preference). I had the lamb main course which was again, a generous portion and beautifully cooked - Ian had the fillet of beef which was slightly better done than he would have liked but a beautiful piece of meat and the theatre of its preparation at the table was fun.

The dessert was a fairly standard sponge/ custard/ strawberry with chocolate on top affair - but nicely presented - with a huge flare in it that seemed to keep on going! The waiting team sang happy birthday when it was our anniversary but it was well intended.

The terrace at the Ritz Carlton was a treat for us, and most of our fellow dinners. The ambience was relaxed - suitable for such balmy weather with supper cars firing up their engines outside. Mid summer its not especially formal but that was what we had expected. I had a wonderful time, and would recommend.

Note: bar area inside quite compromised because high end retail opportunities have taken over - in my opinion this is a bit of a shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlton Restaurant also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Carlton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.