We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome, Excellent Food in Cannes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brouette de Grand-Mere

Brouette de Grand-Mere
9 Bis Rue d'Oran, 06400 Cannes, France
+33 4 93 39 12 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 656 Restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Paris/London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, Excellent Food in Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I lived in France for eight years and seldom had as charming an experience as dinner at La Brouette. We loved it so much that we went back two nights later -- and we would have gone back the very next night had we not had plans that we could not cancel.

Charming little traditional French resto, run by a family who cares very much about your experience, lovely homemade terrine and sausage, salad, baguette for a starter, delightful service … you walk away feeling happy. Such a refreshing change from the sterile atmosphere of La Croisette.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    78
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Cannes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was a very filling meal - food wise and alcohol wise.
Started off with champagne and starters, then come the salmon slice accompanied with vodka shot. The main course and desserts were so delicious. Each pax also gets half a bottle of wine each. The service was great too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money for Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would not write too much words, but I think that most of the tourists are interested to have a good food, good service in a good place for the good price. That is just the place where all of those meet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Charming and atmospheric - with terrific food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just eaten here twice during a week's holiday in Cannes - and were very tempted to go a third time, but restrained ourselves in order to avoid over-repetition! It's got a charming ambience -a traditional little French 'boite' restaurant. The food comes in a leisurely 5 courses including smoked salmon with a shot of iced vodka, a delightful little glass of a veloute vegetable soup and a choice of very good puddings.

The service is helpful and charming and it's just brilliant value at 38 euros for a 5-course dinner including an aperitif, wine and the vodka shot. Tucked away on a side-street off the Rue d'Antibes, this is a real little treasure and it's such a pleasure to find a restaurant that's a little bit traditional and old-fashioned and hasn't succumbed to the blandishments of becoming minimalist and modern!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal for good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wow, terrific meal. Quickly appetizers that were huge were served family style, along with some sparkling wine. Service was efficient and not over bearing. The quail was served with 2 quail, important for those of us who can eat a steak. The salmon with vodka was a great treat. All in all, we will be going back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brouette de Grand-Mere also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Brouette de Grand-Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brouette de Grand-Mere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.