We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set Fair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La brouette de Grand-Mere

La brouette de Grand-Mere
9 Bis Rue d'Oran, 06400 Cannes, France
+33 4 93 39 12 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 680 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Bistro, French
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Set Fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We dined on the set 38 euro menu and can endorse the earlier comments. Friendly welcome and excellent service coupled with fine food (superb duck). With welcome drink, vodka shot and wine included this represents great value. Chin chin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    109
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
1 review
“Great food, great staff, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our company have been here every time we've visited Cannes for the film festival and it never disappoints. For €38 you get four courses plus a glass of champagne (or a low budget equivalent at least), a shot of vodka and a glass of wine. This is a bargain for most cities/countries, but for the overpriced Cannes it's incredible.

And it's not just cheap, the food is gorgeous (although you don't get a lot of choice) and the staff and owners are all incredibly friendly. We love it and will continue to visit whenever we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amuse Bouche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We happened to chance on this restaurant part through walking past and part through a recommendation of a diner sitting out front. We were not let down.

The food was fantastic - a fabulous set menu but with choice of mains and desserts. Very well cooked and with a few extra treats along the way.

The service matched the food quality. Very friendly and effortless. We asked for nothing.

The excellent food and service resulted along with comfortable surroundings meant a lovely ambience.

Fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super value in a very expensive city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tremendous French food in the heart of Cannes for just 38 Euro per person!!! There is no menu; you just have to trust the owner and he won't disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crazy set menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Brouette de Grand-Mere is amazing. Super friendly staff and delicious food. The 38 € menu is so much fun. It starts with a glass of champagne right after you sit down and then a selection of antipasto (the tub of pâté a favorite) and a bottle of red. Then the fun really begins with a shot of vodka and thin slices of salmon before your choice of main and dessert. The husband and wife team are just gorgeous and they even gave my friend the Grand-Mere's cashmere shoal as we were next to the door. How has no one else reviewed this yet during Cannes 2013? The place was absolutely packed with people laughing and having fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La brouette de Grand-Mere also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La brouette de Grand-Mere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La brouette de Grand-Mere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.