We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but hotel needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anna Livia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anna Livia to your Saves list
Hotel Anna Livia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue Victor Cousin, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location but hotel needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The total is really well located in the city, a block back from the promenade. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very small and the hotel could do with a refresh!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
19
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We came to stay in September 2011 and were taken to what was a box room; dark and cramped. The pictures on the website was only showing the reception which was very nice, the rooms were not on par or what you would expect on entering the reception. We asked if another room was available which we were shown to. This room was three times the size so we were a bit perplexed why we were offered the other room. The drama wasn't over then as we found hairs in the bed and a bunch of hair on the toilet. The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned for 3 months. Feeling this wasnt value for money we asked for a refund to which we were told "I didn't think it would work out when I met you" from the manager. If it was going for £10 a night it would've been reasonable but the attitude of the manager let us down. We will never be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I liked the Anna Livia. It's very very close to La Croisette, and its very near loads of trendy bars and restaurants. The hotel is managed by Brits - very professional and well organised as you'd expect. As for the rooms, they are clean, had wifi, BUT very small. You barely have space to move around - especially if you have a large suitcase (we had 2). Also the bathroom lacked privacy. It had this sliding door which didn't completely seal it from the rest of the bedroom. Nonetheless, for the price, and considering the location, I believe this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

WE LOVED THIS PLACE AND CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL! Cannes was our nth stop in our European trip. Having gotten used to small, cramped hotels, we were totally wowed by our apartment at Hotel Anna Livia! We spent our first hour just photographing the place - the very spacious living room (2 large sofas, plants, coffee table), the tea salon (a separate tea salon!), the dining area, the master bedroom with its own balcony and a painted ceiling (like in an italian villa), the other bedroom and the kitchen. Plus the uber spacious balcony where you can host a party for 20 people! We instantly regretted that we were only staying here for 1 night.

We were welcomed very warmly by Michael, a charming English-speaking fellow. He pointed us to all the good spots. And when we had to leave the next day, they helped us get a cab and negotiate the fare. They were the most hospitable hotel owners we encountered in our trip to Paris.

It was not too easy to find so make sure you get proper directions before you arrive. This apartment is a 1 minute walk from the actual hotel. Unfortunately, it does not have its own wifi. The wifi is only in the hotel itself. But having our own kitchen, stove, refrigerator, iron, etc. more than made up for it! And the price/value-for-money blew us away! So worth it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

this hotel made us want to stay in the room the whole day! for groups of 3 or more, i believe they'll offer you this apartment. it was such an amazing deal since we had very low expectations considering the room just cost us 90euros for 3 people.

we arrived at the lobby of the hotel which looked to be a basic inn and were met by the friendly irish owner. when he brought us to our "room" (which was a separate building from the hotel), it was one of those beautiful historic french buildings. 2 floors up was our apartment, as in, an apartment! it had 2 bedrooms, a living room, tea salon, kitchen, 2 balconies, a modern bathroom, and a powder room. they preserved some of the original finishes of the room which looked like an historic european apartment. all we did was take photos of that apartment. loved it!

it's also conveniently located since it was just a very short walk to the beach road of cannes. the only thing is that it doesn't have room service or housekeeping but who cares about that?? it's like having your own place in cannes!

i would stay in this place again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: always read guest reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We've had to put up with a lot of grumpiness in hotels lately, so it was a pleasure to come across The Anna Livia where the staff are most pleasant and helpful.
The hotel itself is unpretensious and comfortable.You'll be on The Croisette in two or three minutes.Likewise Rue D'antibes.
Brian

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during July 2010 and I hated the experience. The reception was very poor, the guy at the front desk was rolling a joint when i got there and had trouble adding up my bill which they made me pay at arrival. The room was probably the smallest I have ever seen, with no space left at all to move around once I had put my luggage down. The air con made a terrible smell and didn't even work, so the room was very hot. The bathroom was disgusting, like it hadn't been cleaned in a long while. The shower was so dirty I was hesitant to use. The bed sheets felt sticky and dirty and the pillow smelled. The next morning the 7.50 euro breakfast consisted of a croissant and bit of baguette with orange juice served in a tiny but very dirty glass. Horrible experience avoid it at all cost, really. Cannes is an incredible city though so do visit it!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anna Livia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anna Livia

Address: 16 Rue Victor Cousin, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Anna Livia 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Anna Livia is hidden just behind La Croisette, only a short distance from the Palais des Festivals, in the heart of the Carré d'Or. The Anna Livia provides modern, soundproofed and comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, flat screen TVs, international satellite channels and free Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Anna Livia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anna Livia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.