We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place where the locals eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot Gourmand

Le Bistrot Gourmand
10 Rue Doct Pierre Gazagnaire | Marche Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
+33 4 93 68 72 02
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 653 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $46
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 2007 Guillaume ARRAGON and his team propose you an home made cooking of Mediterranean recipes.Every morning fresh products are selected on the stalls of the producers and commercçants of the "Marché Forville".We work products according to the seasons and avoid those of import so guaranteeing an optimal quality.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The place where the locals eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

High quality meat, extremely well cooked and presented, with friendly service, at a reasonable price. Desserts very tasty too. Relatively small menu choice, but everything on it of quality. Necessary to book, as it has only about 12 tables.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    104
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great times had by all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were two families - 4 adults and 5 children (ages 1 1/2 to 11) - who decided to dine together. We reserved a table outside the restaurant earlier the same day. The waiter was very accommodating, even though the kids sometimes were a bit rowdy. We adults ordered the three-course meal for 24Euros, and the kids got one course each. The children's food came with our appetizers, which was great, and once they were done eating, they could bullet over to the open-air market hall, which was empty and a fun place for them to play and run around. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and we'd recommend going there! Bon appetite!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londerzeel
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

the food was OK, it was tasty.
The restaurant is very small, and too many tables are placed in it.
You can barely pass between the tables to enter or leave the restaurant.
There waqs so much noise, my husband and I laughed that we would phone to eachother to be able to communicate.
The restaurant was plenty of English people.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrotgourmand, Propriétaire at Le Bistrot Gourmand, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Like I answer before to "jenma06", we find a solution for noise. But I don't think that we can do better for dinner during the MIPTV (15000 people in Cannes) that's why every restaurant was full of group table and so noisy.
I apologize for this and hope you will try our restaurant another time.
Thank you for advise.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenstone, Staffordshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Traditional French Restaurant - not too many in Cannes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This restaurant is more formal than some with a more unusual menu. The set menus which have to be ordered before 8 p.m. are good value for money and the cost of wine is not exorbitant. The atmosphere was not as warm as in some restaurants, but it made a pleasant change from the usual Cannes restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A disaster which turned out to be excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

3rd day in Cannes and 6th meal out. Looked for places to eat on trip advisor and this one sounded good. Went to Cannes market and decided to book at the same time.
Arrived at 8pm and discovered that the whole place was booked by a trillion Dutch/German/???. We were 3 and there was another table of 8 behind us. The place was louder than Concorde at take off if any of you heard it before. The owner could have told us when we booked but didn't. He could have called us to let us know but didn't. So as we prepared to leave we thought we would continue simply because we didn't know where to go otherwise on a Saturday night.
We went a la carte and starters were excellent albeit the foie gras poele which was stringy and too fatty. For mains, everything was perfect except my rice was slightly too cooked and the beef/gratin had a Parmesan tuile with it, why? It didn't belong there and never will.
By now the noise was so loud our ears were bleeding. I mentioned to the manager that a commercial gesture would be appreciated and he offered a bottle of rosé. a true gentleman which gives the place a 5. I don't think these situations happen every evening but it's unfortunate it did when we got there.
Service was ok but service in Cannes restaurants are pretty awful. Simple fact, we wanted an aperitif and we never got asked so we didn't have one. That's €30 less on the bill. The bill came to €131 for 3 starters, 3 mains, 2 deserts and a bottle of wine. Best value for money so far.
One more day in Cannes before I lash out at the Martinez. Can't wait.
Do go there, it's worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Gourmand also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot Gourmand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.