We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong place at the wrong time?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Provencale da Bouttau

Auberge Provencale da Bouttau
10 rue St Antoine | Le Suquet, 06400 Cannes, France (Formerly Auberge Provencale)
+33 4 92 99 27 17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 607 restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Bruno, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wrong place at the wrong time?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This restaurant was warmly recommended to us as one of the best in the area. However the fish was anything but good, prices were out of range considering the overall quality and uneven service, and it seemed that we could never leave even after asking for the tab twice. Our waiter just vanished! And just to add to the frustration, I asked to add 19 euros for the tip on the credit card (this tip was not deserved but I was not in a mood to argue...), which was done: 126 + 19 = 155!!! Shame on me, I just noticed the error after coming back home. A downer all the way!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOPHIE D, Propriétaire at Auberge Provencale da Bouttau, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I firstly would like to apologize for the areas in which we fell short of meeting your expectations. We set ourselves high standards and it is clear that we missed some important details in regards to our service delivery and for this I am truly sorry.

Your comments regarding our service is well received, however I am surprised that you have asked to charge 19 euros tip if you were anything but happy. 19 euros which ended to be 29 euros, for sure a mistake that we can pay you back if you wish.

With my best wishes,



With my best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    70
    52
    17
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly, family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had the 1kg beef special 70 euros, ouch! however it was delicious.The service was attentive and helpful.We were even serenaded by a guitar player, good though he must have been 90! We both enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food great welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I visit this restaurant every year and it is consistently of high quality even when very busy.
Many thanks for the great food and for coping with big and small parties in your excellent restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Total Shocker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Avoid at all costs. Service was appalling. Limited menu choice and then many of the items weren't available. We sat down at 9.30 and it took ages to get served; left at midnight with only two courses served!. No apologies and when we asked why, they said the kitchen was busy; yet most of the guests had finished. When we complained, both the waiter, and then the manageress, laughed at us and refused to even apologise. Ridiculous cost of bottled water.
I'd agree with other reviews who say they are living on their past reputation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOPHIE D, Propriétaire at Auberge Provencale da Bouttau, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear "SmallWallah"


Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I firstly would like to apologize for the areas in which we fell short of meeting your expectations. We set ourselves high standards and it is clear that we missed some important details in regards to our service delivery and for this I am truly sorry.

However, you arrived late(the restaurant was already full) which, even though it is not an excuse, can explain the lack of some items of the menu and the time you have to wait. We did apologize for this and even offered you a drink and you told us the food was good in spite of all the inconvenience.

As for the cost of the bottled water, it has remained the same for the past 13 years and is totally in the average of the other restaurants.

I hope you will pay us another visit in order that we can prove you that we don't live on our past reputation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fabulous! We really don’t regret having tested the oldest restaurant in Cannes-‘the Auberge Provencale’. Lovely beamed ceilings, friendly staff and food to die for makes this the ideal place to begin or end a holiday. A set menu at around 30 euros provides excellent value for money.
We ate on a Friday night when the lower floor of the restaurant known as the ‘cotton club’ becomes a jazz bar with live music.(Same thing on Saturday). We would have stayed all night if we hadn’t had a plane to catch early the next morning. Next time in Cannes we’ll definitely be making a pit-stop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOPHIE D, Propriétaire at Auberge Provencale da Bouttau, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Cris,
First of all, thank you for taking time to write your review.
We set ourselves high standards and I am glad they met your expectations.
I look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Cannes.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Provencale da Bouttau also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Auberge Provencale da Bouttau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Provencale da Bouttau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.