We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel with apartment style rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Garbo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Garbo to your Saves list
Villa Garbo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 blvd de l'Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEACH OFFERED
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel with apartment style rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great rooms that are set up like apartments with kitchens, plenty of storage, and large living areas. Recently renovated in modern style, but the building still has some old time charm. We booked a junior suite, but were offered a larger room at check in and decided to pay a bit extra to get a much larger suite with a terrace. Free internet and a TV with a Bose sound system / DVD player worked well.

Staff was very friendly and spoke great english, The nightly cocktail hour and in-room breakfast each day were nice touches. Nice living room style lobby and outdoor courtyard to hang out in (think it's only 11 rooms total in the hotel, so even these public areas are fairly private).

Location is good - at the end of the main shopping street in town and a few blocks from the beach. Easy walk to the train station too for day trips.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
50
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Modern, very clean with supportive and happy staff. Cute sitting area downstairs - both inside and outside. Breakfasts are served in the room!

There room themselves are quite large since all are suites with little kitchen areas. We stayed in a junior suite that had a room with a queen bed and a good sizer living room with a convertible queen bed couch.

Hotel's location is good, just outside of the main beachfront area. Makes walking a few minutes longer but makes driving much easier.

In conclusion, although named after Greta Garbo who ironically never stayed there, this terrific little hotel is a place she would enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I could go on and on about the great location, comfy and romantic rooms, the sauna, breakfasts with fresh orange juice and great coffee, open bars with candlelit tables and the free invitation we got to the fashion festival. And the special discount and tiny gift we received for staying on Easter weekend! But what really struck me as special about this place was the service. When we first arrived, the host personally came to the gate to invite us in, offered us a drink, and told us all about what Villa Garbo would offer. From then on, he took care of our every need. He reserved restaurants for us, printed out a schedule of boat trips to the islands, and secretly recommended a location to my boyfriend for him to propose to me.

Plus the environment was just so relaxing. The lobby had calm green walls, serene music... just thinking about it makes me more relaxed! We couldn't have picked a better place. The worst I could say is that it's a teeny bit of a walk to the heart of the city (15-20 minutes), but it's only a 2-minute walk from where one of the biggest shopping streets ends (Rue d'Antibes).

Room Tip: They have higher quality suites that are definitely very nice, but if you're not planning on spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from Villa Garbo after spending a few days to celebrate our silver wedding. The rooms were modern, comfortable and clean. We had a junior suite which had a small kitchen area. The air conditioning worked well . We enjoyed the open bar in the evenings and had a drink before going out for our evening meal and reflected on our day whilst sitting on the terrace. The staff were polite and accomodating. We were on the ground floor and could hear alot of movement from other guests. I would recommend asking for an upper floor which we were offered on arrival for an additional 50 euros per night but we declined as we were using the hotel as a base and not spending much time in our room. Location wise a nice 10 minute walk to the seafront.We had a great few days in Cannes and vistited St Margarita Island and Monte Carlo which were within easy travelling distance. The seafront restaurants are a must do in Cannes as the view and experience is wonderful

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor room as it may be quieter than ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Garbo for four nights mid August 2012 and it was an excellent experience, fantastic service, great rooms, ours had a small kitchen, the supermarket is a block away to stock up if you not want to eat out every day. Not too far from the beach and shopping streets, Old Town +/- 20 minutes walk, if we should go back to Cannes we will go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was such a pleasure to stay at Villa Garbo. From the second we stepped through the doors we felt at home. Ramina greeted us and made us feel so welcome, something that is missing from most hotel experiences. Being a boutique hotel we really felt like it was a special place to be. The room was very well decorated and with the small kitchen and dining area, was a well designed layout. Villa Garbo is located near the main shopping street and a short walk to the beach. The walk to the old town was a little further, about a 20 minute walk, but worth the stroll. The breakfast offered lovely croissants and fruit. The staff were what made our stay as enjoyable as it was. From reception to housekeeping (who helped us with the washing machine!) were excellent. We regret only staying one night, but will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Villa Garbo during our stay in Cannes in the beginning of June and we really enjoyed our experience there. The rooms are spacious and clean, and we liked the fact that it's a small boutique hotel. We went right after the Cannes film festival, so it was pretty quiet everywhere in the city.

The manager and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We also really enjoyed the daily breakfast delivered to our room as well as the open bar offered everyday from 6-8. That really adds to the hotel experience.

We would definitely go back during our next stay in Cannes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garbo

Address: 62 blvd de l'Alsace, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Garbo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an apartment with luxury hospitality services located two steps away from La Croisette ... Here is the concept of Villa Garbo. Behind its facade dating back 1884, Villa Garbo offers its guests a small world of authentic luxury in an elegant, contemporary and convivial setting. The 11 apartments - suites make up an intimate cocoon of technology and design. Exclusive concept of luxury Hotel Residence in Cannes, Villa Garbo has become a major charm getaway ... Whether as a couple, family or for busine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Garbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.