We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, fun atmosphere, not the best service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xavier La Pizzaiola

Xavier La Pizzaiola
10 rue Marceau, 06400 Cannes, France
0493995799
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 681 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good pizza, fun atmosphere, not the best service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The pizzas here really are very good. Lots of different and interesting varieties, the crust is thin and the ingredients seem good quality. The big oven makes for a fun atmosphere, but it is a bit noisy. The staff tend to prioritise cleaning up tables rather than coming and looking after you; we had to wait a long time to order.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    86
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Always hopping-best pizza in Cannes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were there twice in September and October, so much the thin crust, wood burning oven pizza monster among us loved it. With a really good variety and generous portions of toppings, cooked window-side where the oven is in plain view, you get this amazingly light and delicious treat. There's plenty of other things on the menu. The mussels sold out fast, and come with crispy, non-greasy fries. The creme brûlée was very good for dessert. The wine list has a bit of everything for everyone. It's a favourite hangout of the locals - for good reason. The service is exceedingly nice. The waiter the first time was joking around with a table full of mature women on a girls' night out. It's a bright, (well ventilated) unpretentious place with a great, packed terrace outside. It's easy to find in downtown Cannes and has a huge parking lot very close (across from the train station). We had two different pizzaioli each time, but the pizza was consistently very good. It was nice to walk around the block after dinner to rue d'Antibes. It's a great place when you want to blend in with the locals.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Really enjoyed sitting outside on the road, just next to their wood fired oven.

The pizza was stunning. You get lots of locals (some also queue up for take out) which was a good sign.

Great food...excellent value (rare for Cannes). An unmissable restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It was really great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We are coming the Nice area every year for a holiday. The restaurant I read on TirpAvisor was really great. Everybody must try it.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza south of France style, off the tourist track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I've been to La Pizza and La Piazza, but my favorite Cannes pizza joint is Xavier La Pizzaiola. It's off the tourist track and every year we go to Cannes we always wander around trying to remember where it is, but it's worth it. Excellent pizzas of both Italian and Provencal style. They have one with anchovies and olives that I love but their basic pizzas are great too. Also it is less expensive than some of the more touristy joints near the Croissette. Sometimes we'll go to Pizzaiola twice in one week because it's good, relatively inexpensive, and fun experience - it seems to be mostly a local joint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xavier La Pizzaiola also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Xavier La Pizzaiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xavier La Pizzaiola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.