We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well that latest meal was just about perfect for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voilier, le

Voilier, le
61 Boulevard de la Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
+33 4 93 94 26 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 656 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $18 - $73
Cuisines: European, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cannes
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well that latest meal was just about perfect for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been before but ventured back with a friend today and we thoroughly enjoyed our choice of foie de veau (calves liver) in a balsamic sauce with mash and great fresh greens. The server was a little impatient (though efficient) and I agreed to have the liver pink which was fine but would have preferred medium (a point) and will insist next time. It's a dish I love. For dessert I had a good chocolate bake which was moist and fabulous with a little nutty icecream. Again a big favourite providing it is cooked correctly and it was. Top it off with a good short black coffee and I'm a very happy bunny. So was my companion T and will certainly go again. Le Voilier is proving to be reliable even though it is in a top tourist position on the Croisette of Cannes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    52
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good service for Cannes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Service was very good. Orders taken quickly, food arrived warm and at the same time for our table of 10 guests. Portions were generous and food was good. Chicken Caesar salad starter was large ( could have just eaten that) and tasty. Veal escalope also very good. Given how busy the restaurant was, the service was impressive. I will definitely be going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we enjoyed the cozy, unpretentious atmosphere in this restaurant, and the fish selection was great. Very friendly staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This was a nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've passed this place numerous times but on the recommendation of a friend for her big 95th birthday we had a table for 5 last Friday and found it a very pleasant experience. It is situated centrally on the Croisette in Cannes opposite the sea and beside the Carlton Hotel so location could hardly be better. Often this sort of establishment is expensive and not so good which is why it had been avoided until now.

For lunch they offered a reasonable formule 2 course menu consisting of a plat du jour (on our day it was delicious roast cod with a tasty mix of seasonal vegetables (carrot, celeriac, onion and girolle mushrooms). To follow a generous choice of desserts of a delicious looking (I saw it float by on its way to another table) iles flottante (floating islands of soft meringue clouds in custard and who knows what else), chocolate and nectarine moist cake with a true chantilly cream (not the spray can variety) or a delicious pain perdu which most of us had and thoroughly enjoyed. All for 23 euros per head. One of our group opted for a large steak with maitre d' butter sauce which he declared tender and tasty.

Not bad at all and good to have yet another place to go back to. On a sunny day you can sit outside and watch the Mediterranean glistening in the sunlight. Last Friday we were better off inside which was a touch tight and a bit noisy but it was OK. Service started out a little shakily but the serveuse came good and proved to be a charmer in the end.

A bientot...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbe
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food well placed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice restaurant good food well placed on La Croisette.
They have a nice simple menu as well as the specials of the day.
The staff a friendly and professional. They serve quite late and you can go as a group and they will try to find place for you.
Fairly large terrace out side where you can smoke.
Been many time before and look forward to going back again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voilier, le also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Voilier, le? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voilier, le, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.