We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.....is the quality of goods' still good??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plage l'Ondine

Plage l'Ondine
La Croisette, 06400 Cannes, France
0493942315
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 625 Restaurants in Cannes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cannes, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“.....is the quality of goods' still good??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

been to l'ondine on many occasions previously. this time had frog legs (which were extremely sogging' in oil) and the trilogy of lobster.
long story short, about 3/4 hours after the lunch if fell terribly sick. i wonder whether they still and always use best produce to ensure highest quality.
restaurant overall needs some upgrading and the staff could be a little more forthcoming
overall good beach restaurant yet need to be convinced of them getting their kitchen in order to avoid food-poising for their guests

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always welcome with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

You would certainly need a reservation in the summer and in October on a beautiful day it is the place to be. If your budget is a little tight you could do with a starter salad for lunch and a half bottle of wine. If not then enjoy the presentations with gusto. My partner and I have been there many times and have never had a meal that was off. The service could be a bit more attentive but what's the rush. Locals, business persons and some with beach attire ( on the beach) provide an interesting melange of diners. Great location, although parking is more difficult. On my return to Cannes I will certainly enjoy it once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never come back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I went last year.. I was ok, but this time I received a service very bad. The food was not fresh and service let you feel like a number.. For lucky Cannes is full of others places!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Maybe the best beach restaurant anywhere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A real beach restaurant. You sit a few meters away from the sand and the deck chairs. As the beach is quite full with these, you only catch glimpses of the beautiful blue water. But it's a very nice location. The style is as you might expect it, casual. It's only open for lunch on most days and you get people eating there in their bathing suits of course. The food, ingredients, preparation and presentation is of a way higher level than what you would associate with such an establishment. Excellent marinated fish and lobsters for instance. I had real 'fraises des bois' for dessert. I think they are called wild berries or wild strawberries in English. It's an ingredient you don't get in that many places. All in all, a great place for a relaxed lunch in spring or summer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good service, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived at lunchtime at the beginning of the Cannes festival amidst a flurry of self-important badge-wearers making for a highly amusing people-watching lunch. Our waiter was extremely efficient, the food was good but expensive, a chicken wing + fries for the children was 18€! My salted cod was copious and tasty @ 23€ - you pay for the atmosphere and the location.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plage l'Ondine also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Plage l'Ondine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plage l'Ondine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.