We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other places in the Suquet area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marais, le

Marais, le
9/11 rue du Suquet, Cannes, France
0493383919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 625 Restaurants in Cannes
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
rome
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than other places in the Suquet area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Suquet restaurants are typically tourists trap: sophisticated places that charge you more than they should for very small portions and average-low quality food. During a nice walk in the area, we chose this restaurant as the owner was just outside the door and he nicely explained us the menu in our language. We saw him briefly doing the same for other people in several languages and in a very friendly and polite way. So we headed for the proposed menu: starters, main course and dessert were all ok, not super. The portions are satisfying and the food is nicely disposed on plates. The service is a little bit slow but always nice and accurate. I will suggest this place because there is no other very good option in the area and a dinner in the Suquet is a must when you are in Cannes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    18
    16
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great sales chat, average delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After three nights in Cannes we were open to taking a chance and the guy outside had a great patter so in we went. For the same money we had much better experiences elsewhere, not so much becuase of the food quality, which was not that bad, but the atmosphere and attitude of the waiting staff lacked care. Starters: foie gras maison, fine; casoulet de st jacques, very tasty. Mains; boeuf au poivre vert, good, trio of mixed meats, average to poor. wines, not too expensive: good rose and crozes hermitage. However, we did feel unattended and on something of a gravy trian, no pun intended. There are better places; places that make you feel more welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Been there with my husband and the colleague in January, 29th 2013. The most delicious bouillabaisse I ever had in Cannes during MIDEM for over 10 years! The meal was exquisite in taste and presentation. Magnificent host and sommelier. Had a great fun and enjoyed our dinner. Were not only tolerant to Calvados which gave us a stroke in head and purse ))))))

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“REALLY AVERAGE!! DISAPPOINTED!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place always looks very popular!!
However, maybe the chef had a night off
But our food was very, very average
Foie gras cooked nicely, but it's accompanying fig sauce was made from the juice and figs from a tin, just thickened with cornflour. No other seasoning, stock, fruit or alcohol
(None of that lovely rich, reduced, flavoursome sauce. That really makes this dish!!)

Meat platter, was more quantity than quality
Virtually inedible, under-cooked pastry, with the apple pie desert

Unfortunately Cannes has far too many restaurants of this quality

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“unpretentious, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife went without many expectations. Service with only 3 people working. Friendly but efficient. Food very, very good. We ate the chevre chaud (hor goat cheese salad). Dar: carreau d'agneau, note 7, and steak au cheese roquefort, note 10. It's worth. Very authentic.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marais, le also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Marais, le? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marais, le, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.