We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic bistro seafood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astoux et Cie Brun

Astoux et Cie Brun
27 Rue Felix Faure, Cannes, France
0493392187
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 656 Restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Basic bistro seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Really pretty basic, seafood served in a gruff manner on plastic tables with wobbly chairs, absolutely no ambiance, and way overpriced. "try the special oysters!" at 5 euros each. Really, 3 times the standard price. Wine in plastic wine holders, turn the tables fast. Do yourself a favor, sit in a proper seafood restaurant where for less cost you will get attentive service and a good meal. Try le pistou.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    175
    34
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friend took us to this restaurant on Monday night but it was closed. However, we went again on Tuesday and tried the food. It is really fresh. Shrimp, mussels, sea bass, etc. are quite delicious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm, Russia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“if oysters)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You like seafood especially oyster and don't care about interior- this place is for you. I ate some fish and tartar. Okey, but only if you're oyster fan

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

While on business in Cannes, our customers recommended Astoux et Brun for a seafood dinner and four colleagues and I were not disappointed. The offerings were fresh and plentiful - the menu provided almost too many options plus there are daily specials. Three of our group opted for the prix fixe option (popular in Cannes) which included three courses. I went with a salad and a dish of spot prawns & fresh root vegetables with seafood bisque. The salad was a huge portion of mesclun greens, which was only OK - the dressing lacked flavor, but the greens were very fresh. There were three very large, fresh & tender prawns which tasted delicious with the veggies & bisque - and lots of crusty French bread for sopping! My colleagues meals selections included first courses of fresh large shrimp & oysters and a salmon tartare, which they all enjoyed. The main course everyone selected was fresh sea bass, which smelled heavenly and everyone said was delicious. We also enjoyed a couple bottles of hearty, red wine from Provence and for dessert, a flaky, not-too-sweet fresh apple tart with salted caramel ice cream. Our server, Dominique was friendly and funny - trying patiently to teach me some French phrases and insisting that I send him a postcard from Seattle. Some reviewers complained of cramped seating, but we found the seating comfortable, the atmosphere friendly, good service and delicious food at a great value under 40€ apiece for the food plus 40€ for the wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sea food as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very delicious food, great selection of sea food. We took oysters and langoustines-both we're perfect. Followed by wine, cheese and creme caramel, it all coasted 77euros. It's popular place, so better to reserve a table or you'll be asked to wait for 15-20 minutes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoux et Cie Brun also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Astoux et Cie Brun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoux et Cie Brun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.