We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it as it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jimmy's

Le Jimmy's
8 rue Paissouban, Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
33 4 92 13 05 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 138 restaurants in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price range: $0 - $25
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Take it as it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

As someone who lives just down the hill, I'm somewhat ambivalent about the mythic Jimmy's. I say mythic because back in the 50s and 60s, in the Suzy Solidor era, this was where the then-famous summer residents and visitors partied. But those days are long over and no hint of those days remain. But what does remain is the location and if you can snag a table by the wall, sheltered by the aging, propped up tree, there is no better place to be on a sunny day in Haut de Cagnes, gazing out at the vista beyond.

Yes, the service is, shall we say, somewhat taciturn and reserved -- for all but the regulars and locals. Bad luck for you that you're not one of them. But don't let it get to you -- I live here and I get the same treatment. So relax. Smile. Remain polite no matter what, and eat and drink simply (the Jimmy's salad is a safe bet. Avoid the kirs). Above all.. savor the location. The times may change but that remains.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    15
    24
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Again not disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Whenever I have pizza (in a restaurant, not takeout) my wife asks me how it is and I'll usually say "Well, it's good, but it's not Jimmy's." Finally made it again this trip after a couple of months of cold, wet weather. But last Friday (May 3) was sunny and warm, and we got our usual table next to the wall, but under the awning, for lunch. Just the view makes the trip worthwhile, but the food is consistently great. We'll be back for a couple of months in the fall, and with luck can eat there more than once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous view, terrible, over-priced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Eat somewhere else then sit in the public square to admire the view. This place is simply awful. Terrible food that's way over-priced and staff are not friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love it every time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The only fault I will give it - the staff can be a bit grumpy at times. That said, the food is excellent, good price and the views are breath taking. The pizzas are wonderful and by far the best cooked steak I have ever eaten. The dish I love best is the duck, so tender and tasty. A beautiful location with great food, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arriving at the restaurant the staff were hostile and rude giving us a bad table in the corner next to the smoking and drinkers on the dirty bocce ball field. We had requested another table but were refused it and the other 6 tables around it stayed empty for the night. The staff then forgot about us and we finally got their attention to order they were not happy in having to bring the specials board or to explain anything on the menu. The waiter stood and staired at us tapping his pen. After we received the food things got worst. The seafood pizza we had ordered had puddles of water around the seafood were it had defrosted while on top of the pizza. The pesto pasta was mearly cut up parsely with olive oil mixed. We asked for the bill which was thrown down on our table. The restaurant was not that busy so their was really no excuse for the staffs behaviour. After waiting 45 mins for them to come back with the credit card machine we walked out. In that time nobody inquired if would like dessert, drinks or coffee it was like we had been cut a drift. Overall the service and the food were below fail.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jimmy's also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Jimmy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jimmy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.