We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to have found this treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez David

Chez David
6 rue du General Berenger, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
04 97 02 11 72
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant Chez David represente l'art culinaire Provencal. Les produit sont frais ,la cuisine soignee, la carte est reduite 4 entrees, 5 plats, 5 desserts.1 seul menus a 25 euro : entree , plat , dessert 1 formule le midi a 12,5 euro du Lundi au Vendredi : 3 plats au choix et un cafe Gourmand compose de 3 desserts maison. La carte change toutes les semaines et suis le cours des saisons.L'equipe chez david vous accueilles midi et soir du mardi au Dimanche midi / fermer le dimanche soir . Cette cuisine faite "maison" du debut a la fin, sans pretention, saura surprendre vos papilles.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lucky to have found this treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose this place for lunch because of the sunny terrace seating and my husband's name is David. Not much of a reason but we ended up very pleased. Excellent service from a pretty English speaking waitress. Specials on a chalkboard menu. Something for everyone, we had a hard time choosing. We both had rabbit in a delicious tarragon sauce served on fluffy gnocchi. Generous portions so no dessert. Nice house wine. Other diners seemed equally pleased. Would go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    69
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I went there this summer with my family visiting the French Riviera and this restaurant was the best meal of our vacations. The staff was amazing and allowed us to bring our dog inside (it's a very small god) because there was no more space outside. Not only was the service great, but the food was also very good. We tried many different things and everything was great. I would recommend this restaurant for any kind of occasion: family, couples, etc.

The only downside is that it is a bit hard to find and the nearby streets are hard to navigate by car with a lot of one-ways. We ended up parking in front of the Hôtel-de-Ville (city hall)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A DAUBE TO DIE FOR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spent time last year in Cagnes sur Mer and loved it so much we returned this year and discovered this little gem. The setting is no picture post card --as a matter of fact its much like eating in a wine cellar but the food is just fabulous. The daube he makes is definitely the best I have eaten in a long time,slow cooked over 6 hours, deliciously moist, packed with flavour and served the traditional way with soft polenta. Just thinking of it makes my mouth water. For afters try the homemade ice cream, really special. Service is snappy and friendly and David emerges from his labours to make sure all is going well. Unmissable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Cagnes sur Mer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

After two weeks traveling in France and having fairly good food Chez David was recommended. It was a revelation. As noted by other reviewers it is on a busy street and sitting outside is not very romantic, but it is charming in the bistro style. The interior is cosy and one feels as if eating in an old wine cellar. We had dinner here twice. The food was exceptional and I would recommend to have to dish of the day anytime (it was Daube with creamy polenta which was delicious). The single waiter can get a bit stretched when the place fills up - but this does not spoil the overall experience. It is advisable to book for dinner as they are very busy entertaining locals and visitors alike. David takes great pride in the food and likes to have a chat with everyone when he gets a breather.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mon Oeil”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I ate at this restaurant only once, and once was enough. The main course was lamb chops (cotes d'agneau). The cotes d'agneau served were cotes decouvertes each with an extremely small amount of real meat, the rest fat and gristle. When I complained, I was told that “that is the way lamb chops are”. Mon Oeil! The restaurant was very noisy and the service, as evidenced by the previously quoted remark, not very accommodating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez David also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.