We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but challenging.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haut de Cagnes

Haut de Cagnes
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Improve this listing
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Lovely but challenging.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, unspoilt and generally untouristy medieval village. Definitely worth a visit but give the modern town directly below it a big miss. The beach promenade is nice, but a little inaccessible from Haut Cagnes, requiring two changes of bus. Haut Cagnes village is definitely worth a visit, but you can see it in one day easily. The restaurants are quite expensive, but the view is awesome.....so I guess it balances out. There is a free shuttle bus from the bus station below the high village, and if I'm honest I would say that the whole "middle" region between the high village and the sea is unattractive and unpleasant. Stick to the beach or the medieval village is my suggestion.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    78
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were staying in Nice and took a day trip to Cagnes Sur Mer specifically for Haut de Cagnes. The Bourg was beautiful and the views were awesome. I read that there was a museum in the castle at the top of the hill and assumed it was an historic museum of the castle and the area. Just know, it is not that. It's something of a modern art museum - not at all my style, but the 4 EUR entry fee is worth it to get to climb the tower and see 360 degrees of beautiful French landscape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A castle with a view of the sea too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I feel sorry for the tourists who never make it up the hill from the little-special Cagnes sur Mer tourist trap. The medieval village of Haut de Cagnes was slow and perfect for my morning walk in June followed by a good lunch with a spectacular view. I'm soooo glad I made it to this part of the world for a respite. You can see the 13th century castle at the center of this for miles, so that makes it fun to actually get there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,427 reviews 1,427 reviews
979 attraction reviews
Reviews in 707 cities Reviews in 707 cities
1,387 helpful votes 1,387 helpful votes
“Quality town ship dripping with Camelot-like charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Give Cagnes-Sur-Mer the flic....by-pass it all together and follow the signs to 'Bourg Medieval' which will deposit you in the most beautiful village perched on the Riviera.

This steeply cobbled Old Town fee;s like a mini Camelot built amongst the clouds. think tiny,cuter-than-cute piazzas,winding alleys and charm oozing out of every street that changes into stairways. Its a place for lovers and appreciators of quality Cote d'Azure experiences.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Old towns can sometimes be a disappointment. This was not. We caught the local free bus up to the top as it looks like a long steep walk. We wandered around cobbled streets, visited an atmospheric church and an interesting castle with great views before having a lovely outdoor lunch. Recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haut de Cagnes also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Haut de Cagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haut de Cagnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.