We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haut de Cagnes

Haut de Cagnes
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Castles, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Charming village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We parked our car in the parking area Sainte-Luce in Cagnes-Sur-Mer. Then walked a short distance to Square Bourdet and caught the free shuttle bus #44 to the village. The bus trip takes about 5 minutes.
You can walk to the village up a very steep Montee de la Bourade. We arrived early before more tourists like us arrived!
The Chateau was closed on our visit due to the need to move the Renoir exhibition. We walked the charming streets. Lots of restaurants to choose from.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    80
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“with the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

this medieval village is astonishing. all buildings are delicately refurbished. there you feel the Provençal atmosphere.

try to go for dinner on the castle square, the view is unforgettable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful old part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It really worth it to visit - the view alone is great. Strolling through century old streets really relaxes my mind.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I absolutely adore this small village/castle on the hill-top. First and foremost because of the tranquility and peacefulness, and secondly for the beautiful view. Walk about in the narrow streets and look at the small everyday wonders or enjoy a meal at one of the restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“its good to be the prince (or lord, or whatever)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

thoroughly enjoyed the grimaldi castle tour, and eating at le village restaurant....walking along the maze of narrow streets was like stepping back in time...enchanting to say the least...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haut de Cagnes also viewed

Cagnes-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Haut de Cagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haut de Cagnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.