We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the South of France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Magaloun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Magaloun
Save
You added La Magaloun to your Saves list
33 Avenue des Chenes | Cagnes Sur Mer, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Cagnes-sur-Mer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven in the South of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found this place through Trip Advisor and it could not have been a more perfect getaway. La Magaloun is literally a villa, the home of gracious hosts Anita and Francois. The house is made of stone with two spacious and beautiful bedrooms upstairs, the one my we stayed in had a bathroom in it and the other is a big larger with a jacuzzi tub and shower separately in the hall. Both rooms have a private terrace which was perfect for the mornings and evenings after a day exploring the beaches and towns. The owners were incredible and brought us a coffee in the afternoon and sat with us when we went in their spotless pool amidst a garden. The breakfasts were fairly simple, homemade jams, croissants, cereals, yogurt and you basically have the house to yourself. The home is spotlessly clean and my husband and I enjoyed our chats with Anita and Francois. They recommended great local sites and restaurants in Cagnes Sur- mer down the street, and also in St. Paul de vence which was a huge highlight of our stay. As always we wished we could have extended our time here at La Magaloun, but do home to return one day. Nothing but perfection and relaxation here!

Room Tip: One room has bathroom en suite , the other private jacuzzi tub, both are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful little hotel. It is really hard to describe by words but this is a very special place with a unique atmosphere!

Anita and Francois is to wonderful people that are doing everything they can to make their guests feel special.

The breakfast! Oh my God!! The best breakfast I have ever had!

And the garden and poolarea - like being in the garden of Eden.

I have travelled all over the world, but these 4 days at Magaloun stays at one of the best vacations ever!

I will give this place my very best recomandations!

:-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Thanks to are amazing host Anita and François. Everything was just perfect! The room was very quiet, spacious and comfortable. Very large private bathroom and clean! We had a wonderful time taking are breakfast next to the pool each morning. Homemade jams, delicious croissants, cheeses, fresh juice, coffee and more!!!!! We strongly recommend this little jewel close to Nice and all the beautiful hot spots of the French Riviera.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent a week here in this fantastic 1930's art deco villa. We have never felt more welcome. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms state of the art. The garden is beautiful and the pool welcome in the heat of the day. The sea-front is under 5-10 minutes walk away where there are plenty of restaurants. We had a car but it would be easily possible to have a holiday and rely on trains and buses. The villa is conveniently close to the airport.

The best bit.... having the wonderful breakfasts and having long chats with Francois and Anita.

We'll be back!

Robert and Pamela Attree

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a pleasant stay in Cagnes-sur-mer. The pool patio was beautiful with fig trees, bamboo, and the occasional roaming turtle. The cats made themselves at home, but I'm a cat person so thought that was adorable. Anita and Francois were gracious hosts! They had a lovely breakfast prepared for us each morning, and were able to accommodate our wake-up times flexibly :) Francois even drove me to the ATM machine at 10pm the final evening when we realized we didn't have enough Euros to pay! The only word of caution would be that the house is located in a thickly settled area of Cagnes, which I guess is somewhat to be expected. So the walk to the beach, while only around 10 minutes, took some getting used to. Really though, there's not much to complain about. This place is in a great location and, perhaps best of all, only a 5 minute walk from the train station!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

In a word: Amazing. We wanted to do the Cote d'Azur for our honeymoon and instead of traveling around city to city, we booked La Magaloun for two weeks and used it as our home base. I don't think we could have picked a better place.

The property is gorgeous and beautifully maintained, with a crystal clear pool dotted with chaise-lounges. The house is charming, made out of stone and built in the Belle-Epoque. The breakfasts were scrumptious feasts of croissants, fruit and homemade cereals, jams, and the occasional crepes. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, recently renovated and incredibly romantic, with a private terrace and a huge separate bath room with a soaker tub. Finally, the hosts were fantastic--Anita and Francois are gracious and warm, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

If you are looking for a spot from which to explore the South of France, walk to the beach, and enjoy relaxing days by the pool, look no further than the Magaloun. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: There are two rooms--the Pervenche room is bigger with a separate bathroom, the other room is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I visited this idyllic stone B&B with two single friends for four nights while we toured the Cote d'Azur. We took both rooms, so it was very much like having our own private villa. Anita and Francois are incredibly kind, charming and attentive. Breakfast was delicious and abundant, consisting of a large spread of homemade jams, croissant, fruits from the garden and anything else we might have wanted, all served in the lovely patio outside the garden. They even gave us afternoon tea by the pool!

The rooms are sunny and spotless, and meticulously decorated. Every choice was intelligently planned, preserving the look and feel of a timeless French stone villa while updating and renovating to meet modern requirements. The bathrooms were beautiful: the large detached bathroom with two sinks served the room with two beds; I had a small attached bathroom in my larger single-bed suite. There is a real feeling of privacy and quiet -- don't let the location near a highway fool you, as this is a serene oasis with no noise. Cagnes sur Mer is a perfect base for touring, and the villa includes a spot to park your car and easy access to the coast in both directions. The seaside promenade was nearby, and the village of Haute Cagnes with its attractions and restaurants was an easy hike for my active friends.

The gardens are glorious, and again reflect perfect attention to detail. Lush tropical plants surround the shimmering blue pool that has an infinity edge, seemingly spilling back into the garden. We swam in the warm pool and lounged on wood chaises padded by lovely striped French fabrics. Flowers and fruiting trees are everywhere, intersected by meandering crushed stone paths that circle the property. The garden was patrolled by a small band of charming garden cats, a lovely white bird, and a couple of relaxed tortoises. We noted our desire to be reincarnated as one of the lucky felines who happily snoozed on an iron daybed on the shaded patio.

I had a fall while walking nearby, and upon my return Francois tenderly bandaged my foot while Anita brought restorative tea. They couldn't have been sweeter -- more like friends and family which, come to think of it, is how the three of us will always think of the two of them. We will be returning home to La Magaloun as soon as possible. Merci!

Room Tip: Both rooms are wonderful -- one has a big bed and small patio, but the room with two smaller beds ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Magaloun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magaloun

Address: 33 Avenue des Chenes | Cagnes Sur Mer, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cagnes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in your charming Bed and Breakfast in Provence French Riviera at Cagnes sur Mer : La Magaloun is a beautiful villa of 1930, it will enchant you with the Mediterranean garden, the swimming pool with overflow, hospitality and tranquility there, near Nice Airport, the top of the Cote d'Azur : Nice, St Paul de Vence, Antibes, Biot, Cannes, Monaco and of course the city of Cagnes-sur-mer, the painter Renoir lived there, as the museum Renoir, the medieval town... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Magaloun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.