We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back! French fairy tale! Romantique and charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Le Cagnard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Le Cagnard to your Saves list
Chateau Le Cagnard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Rue sous Barri | Haut-de-Cagnes, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cagnes-sur-Mer
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Want to go back! French fairy tale! Romantique and charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you r looking for a romantic vacation with a true French medieval experience of cozy charming rooms, breathtaking views, cobblestone streets and away from corrupted and noisy streets of Nice- this is the place.
We would go back there in a heartbeat.
Amazing breakfast on a veranda with a view of the sea and the valley. Rooms filled with light in medieval decor, like on a cloud beds! Everything that we looked for!
Nice is 10 minutes by car, unless you r stuck in a traffic jam( usual for the summer time), but we would not want to stay in Nice, even on the Promenade des Anglais- steps away from the beaches.
Here you were far frOm the beach ( not a walking distance)- but we came to France to enjoy France and not the beach. ( although we ended up on the beach every day we were there)

Highly recommend if you r looking for a romantic unforgettable full of positive memories place.

Service was not that great, including with giving us directions to places where to go- it felt like we were bothering everyone with requests to give us directions or print them out- and it took forever to get the staff help us with it..Internet connection was poor and we had to again- "bother" staff to search for directions and/ or other vacation needs- due to inability doing it on time at the hotel- we had to do it in person at the venue later- very inconvenient.
and there were no iron in the room- very weird...
But the above is not to complain- as the stay at te hotel was one of the best experiences ( not counting the staff attitude and Internet not working) this is just for the owners/ managers to improve to its best.

A warning: narrow streets- just leave your car at the parking as the hotel staff recommends- here the staff were amazing in helping us bringing our belongings and driving us to and from the parking lot( although you can easily walk, if without the luggage). Gregory was very helpful in making sure we got to our car and brought our bags from our car upon arrival! Super friendly:)

AGAIN: highly recommend! At the top of the list of hotels We have been to. True French fairy tale:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida I, Owner at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Milky,
Thank you very much for your lovely review as well as pointing out the service shortcomings. It has been well noted and dealt with. We all look forward to seeing you soon here in our property.
Kind regards
Frida Ivarsson and the team at Château Le Cagnard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This converted chateau hotel is oozing with character: from the drive through the extremely narrow streets to get to the hotel (warning make sure you have a small car), to the twisty staircases and small corridors to explore, to the stunning woodbeams and amazing view from the room; my wife and I were charmed by this place from the moment we arrived.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant where we dined for dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent quality, as was the wine. The head waiter is a friendly chap who went above and beyond e.g. when we ordered a bottle of red wine, he brought us one three years older because he said it was a better vintage (and it was excellent).

The local village is equally charming - we enjoyed an evening stroll around the narrow cobble stone streets and were relieved / surprised at how few tourists there were (especially compared to nearby St Paul de Vance). The only downside we could site was the lack of somewhere to swim - I guess this is why the village wasn't bustling tourists, with most preferring to be by the sea or at a hotel with a pool. In our case, the hotel was perfect for a one night treat, but it might not be ideal for a full summer vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida I, Ägare at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Chris
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you with us here at Château Le Cagnard and delighted that you enjoy your stay. Because of the village historic background building regulations are very strict and any planning permission including for a pool will have to be agreed with the French National Architect. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the charm of the Château Le Cagnard and the village. We look forward to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards Frida Ivarsson and the team at Château Le Cagnard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights recently during our visit to the South of France. The hilltop village location is stunning with views of the mountains to the back and the Med to the front. On arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room. The room was beautiful with a fantastic view through a wall to wall window. However, it did not have the terrace we originally asked for but after mentioning this, we were shown an available suite with a huge terrace which we were upgraded to free of charge for 4 nights! The rooms are beautifully furnished in a rustic French style but with a modern twist. However, the medieval features remain in tact and the combination of this throughout the hotel blew us away. The hotel has rooms in the main building and some are accessed not far from the hotel up the small winding streets. The rooms we stayed in were spotless and cleaned every day.

Breakfast was served every morning on the terrace with stunning views to the Med. The service was excellent and the breakfast choice was top quality and we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

The icing on the cake of this hotel is the location. Haut De Cagnes is a beautiful and unspoilt hilltop town. Although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, which did look lovely, a few minutes walk from the hotel reveals a town square with 5 restaurants which are centred around a traditional boules area where the locals play. We ate here each night and didn't have 1 bad meal. A particular favourite was Les Baux, simple food but absolutely fantastic!

Only word of warning is to only take a small car up to the hotel. We had a Fiat 500 that we had to fold the wing mirrors in to get up the small and windy street.

We can't recommend this hotel enough and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida I, Ägare at Chateau Le Cagnard, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Matt
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you with us here at Château Le Cagnard and delighted that you enjoy the interior, the restoration, and the character of the village and Château Le Cagnard. We look forward to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards Frida Ivarsson and the team at Château Le Cagnard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, TN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Chateau le Cagnard is a very pretty hotel and I enjoyed my stay but I probably would not return to this hotel although the reason lies more with the town and not the hotel. My room had a nice little sitting area with french doors that opened to a small covered balcony that a had a nice view out to the sea in the distance. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and clean. The bathroom did, however, have one of those showers that tends to get most of the room wet when you shower since there is no door or curtain to prevent the water from spraying everywhere.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and they appeared to like what they do and this shows in their postive attitude and helpfulness. We ate a pre fix menu in the restaurant that was good, not memorable but not bad. Parking as mentioned by others is in a lot not close to the hotel, so we had to take a free bus from the lot to the center of Haut Cagner Sur Mer. Just don't forget anything in the car since getting to and from your vehicle is a bit of a hassle.

The hotel was fine as far as hotels go but I was a little disapointed in Haut Cagnes Sur Mer. The village is pretty but we had just spent a couple of days in Biot and Antibes it was natural to compare the towns. Biot had numerous restaurants, shops, and museums and there seemed to be more to do than in Haut Cagner Sur Mer. I am glad I saw the village but if I had to do it over again I would have skipped Haut Cagner Sur Mer and spent more time in Antibes or just made it a day trip and spent the night elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for the second time at Chateau Le Cagnard and we couldn't be happier. Cannes-Sur-Mer is a lovely medieval town on top of a hill. We decided to stay out of Cannes since we wanted a more quiet and romantic town and driving was only a few minutes away. Reaching the hotel is an adventure in itself. Drivers should be warned that streets are as narrow as it gets. Caution is necessary. Luckily we rented small cars both times. The hotel has gone through renovations recently so everything is new without having lost the old character. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge with a separate shower and a lovely bathtub. Breakfast was elegant but with limited options, even though it was enough for our morning fuel. We had dinner once at the hotel and the best part was the view and the signing of the birds over the most lovely sunset. The food was dissapointing. Clearly needs an upgrade on that matter.
Other than that our stay was wonderful and I would recommend it when visiting South of France.
Mind that it's not suited for people with mobility restrictions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recently spent 3 days at Le Cagnard with the intention of having a relaxing break after 5 nights and busy days in and around Nice. Well it was so much more than that. I must say that all the staff, without exception, were so helpfull in everyway possible. No question or request was too much and with my lack of French, it was lovely that everyone was able to speak English and translations on menu's and notices also covered. Had dinner on our final evening in the hotel and it was just wonderful, such a treat and very friendly service. The room we stayed in had a real style and charm while providing us with the space to take it easy. We pottered through the old town and took a trip donw to the newer part of town on the free shuttle bus (very welcome on the return trip back up the hill!!). Also not to be missed is a day trip to St. Paul du Vence, bus no. 400 (if you don't have your car) from the new town (whilst it was a busy tourist spot, it is picture postcard material with a huge array of artists in situ.). And each day we were so happy to return to the calm embrace of Le Cagnard, it was an oasis for sure. So if you are looking for great service, in a hill side town, with old world charm, with wonderful staff, and a place to relax, while still being close to activities (if you wish) Le Cagnard is the place. Thanks to all at Le Cagnard for the lovely stay at the end of our holiday. Best of luck with the venture and hopefully sometime in the future we might be luckly enough to make a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A beautiful little town, tucked away from the hustle and noise of the cote d'azur. Absolutely excellent service, staff were so helpful and polite and the setting in the old mediaeval town was magical. The drive to the hotel, however, was a little harrowing - worth it though!

Travelled with our children aged 10 and 12 who loved the old town - the hotel was very accommodating with the girls even though the hotel may not seem perfect for kids. We loved it.

Room Tip: We had the picasso suite - access at night at the back lane - covered with grape vines - very romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Le Cagnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Cagnard

Address: 54 Rue sous Barri | Haut-de-Cagnes, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cagnes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Cagnard 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into a true French Fairytale, by entering the doors to this magnificent and romantic Castle from the 13th century, situated on the French Riviera overlooking the Mediterranean Sea...Enjoy staying in one of our 26 rooms and suites uniquely decorated rooms with local antiques and if you love reading why not relax, read or play chess in our cozy library, where you will find a cannonball from the Waterloo battle beneath the portrait of Napoleon, made when he sat in the prison in Nice. For breakfast indulge in our home made specialties and local produce, whilst enjoying the extraordinary view. Explore and go on a guided tour around the village on its medieval cobbled streets… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Le Cagnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cagnard Hotel Cagnes-Sur-Mer
Le Cagnard Cagnes Sur Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Le Cagnard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.