We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relais-château in Haut de Cagnes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Le Cagnard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Le Cagnard to your Saves list
Chateau Le Cagnard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Rue sous Barri | Haut-de-Cagnes, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zutendaal, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic relais-château in Haut de Cagnes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Le Cagnard. Lovely relais-Château. We had reserved the junior suite 'Oesterlind' which was a fabulous suite with balcony for a very low price. Just Impressive.
The staf was very friendly. The restaurant with beautiful terrace is worth a visit and led by an enourmous enthousiastic and friendly chef. Just great food. The setting in Hautes de Cagnes is unique. Its really worth visiting!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    28
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
78
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose Le Cagnard because we love Cagnes, were curious about Haut de Cagnes having visited it only twice, and because Le Cagnard was #1 on Tripadvisor. A three day/rwo night weekend birthday getway was planned, and we embarked with much excitement.

As advised, we got a cab from the airport to the Planastel car park at the entrance to the village, and phoned the hotel.

Annoyingly we were bounced through to a voicemail message announcing that reception was manned from 8.00 in the morning. This was 11.30. A second attempt also got voicemail. On the third attempt I finally got a receptionist who promised to send someone to bring us to the hotel.

Five minutes later a charming emissary arrived, who whisked us and our luggage through the narrow streets to the hotel front door.

First impressions were very positive; clearly a lot of time and money has been invested in the renovation/restoration, and the public areas of reception, bar, lounge and restaurant are beautiful.

The receptionist was charm personified, and offered us a chilled drink while she showed us around the public areas.

The hotel itself is a warren, with rooms dotted all over the upper floors, and even some reached outside via the upper street level. Our room Cazzetini was standard - well appointed and comfortable.

Dinner on the terrace was a very pleasant experience. The maitre d' and waiting staff are attentive, charming and completely bilingual in English and French. The views from the terrace are stunning, but the food could honestly have been better; my partner's carpaccio was a little tough, and my asparagus was largely devoid of taste.

Our plan was to spend each day by the sea in Cagnes Sur Mer, taking the free shuttle to the lower town and then a bus to the seaside and take a day membership at a beach club. Enquiring about possiblities exposed some uneven skills in the reception staff. Where the first lady had been a mine of useful information, the second was charming and as far as I could tell tri-lingual, but had nothing worthwhile to say in any language; our enquiry as to beach clubs in Cagnes whom Le Cagnard recommended, or with whom Le Cagnard had a reciprocal relationship was met with a promise to enquire while we breakfasted. On returning we got a blank look, no information and then a recommendation to go to Juan Les Pins because the beach there was sandy(!)

Staying in Haut de Cagnes means a great reliance on the shuttle, which in theory runs every 15 minutes, but in practice is not entirely reliable, so on one ocasion we gave up after 30 minutes and walked down.

On returning on Saturday we found that the room had been serviced, but not finished - the toiletries and vanity packs in the bathrooms had not be replaced, and - oddly - the bags in the waste bins had been replaced and put into the bins, but not opened, giving the impression of someone in a great hurry and not concerned with doing things right. Surely not the impression a top flight boutique hotel is trying to create.

Sleep quality was generally good, with a very effiective A/C unit. We were disturbed in the small hours by the people overhead apparently moving furniture around, but not even the best-run hotel can do much about that.

Checkout was handled efficiently, with our request for a late checkout granted and our bags held for us whille we had a long final lunch in the village. Disappointing to note that the Nespresso machine in the bedroom is an extra cost item, despite no signs declaring this to be so; a couple of coffee pods are a spit in the ocean on a bill of the size one accumulates at Le Cagnard, and I'd have expected them to be complementary customer service items.

So - to sum up - a lovely spot which has benefitted from a very tasteful recent revamp. The aspiration to be a true top-drawer boutique hotel is plan to see, but at the moment - based on our experience - Le Cagnard lets itself down in the details of the service it provides in the areas of front desk, housekeeping and the kitchen. We shall not be rushing back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

During my recent visit to France we decided to stay a little back from the beach area and explore the towns around Nice and Monaco. The Chateau Le Cagnard was a great place to start. Located in Cagnes Sur Mer and a short drive from the beach areas it provided a very nice place to enjoy breakfast in the morning on a terrace that overlooked the town. You could see the French Riviera from a distance. I had a Superior room where I slept in a bed made for a Princess. Once a castle in the Medieval period it was turned into a place where Romance and class abound. The Staff was very friendly and did a great job at accommodating our needs. Prince Albert dined for lunch there during our visit. It is located on a hill and parking was a little tricky. Breakfast in the morning included a variety of pastries, fresh fruit, cheese and meats. We went down to the Plaza in the evenings to watch the children play and the people set around and enjoy their dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Le Cagnard for 3 nights in a deluxe room. The hotel has is lovely and has recently been renovated in a very authentic style which pays tribute to its medieval history. Beautiful room, lovely big bathrooms and very comfortable luxurious beds. Fantastic view, quiet and romantic.
If you need to go by car, make sure you have a small one.... It might be a good idea to park the car in the public parking lot 300 m from the hotel....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed one night.

The welcome from the staff was excellent and very friendly. The view from our third floor room was fantastic to the Med (shame about modern Cagnes getting in the way).

Restaurant again has very friendly and helpful staff with great views.

Altogether a really nice hotel with lots of atmosphere.

One point is the car parking. There is a small facility for parking outside the front door but the drive along the narrow street is not for the faint hearted - or in any car larger than a Fiat 500!

We parked in an under groung car park as you first get into the village. A little expensive at Euro 24 per day but safe and secure. If using this be ready to take all you need for your stay out of the car at the enterance as the car is parked automatically with no access to it once parked.

Do take the free shuttle bus to the new part of Cagnes to see the contrast.

Room Tip: Specify a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at Le Cagnard last week for 3 nights in a deluxe room. Beautiful hotel, lovely big bathrooms and very comfortable luxurious beds. The hotel has is lovely and has recently been renovated in a very authentic style which pays tribute to its medieval history as well as the many painters that later settled in the area. The Swedish family that run the hotel are very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and generous (included in the rate...a big plus that is harder to find it seems among hotels of this quality). A wonderful little oasis above the busy Cagnes sur Mer (which by the way is a great location to base yourself in as Cagnes sur Mer is a main stop on the regional bus and a train routes that transport you quite efficiently around the Cote d'Azur). Hauts de Cagnes is a different world from the busy, rather unattractive Cagnes sur Mer. You can get a free shuttle up to Haut de Cagnes 4x an hour from 7 am to 10pm or so, so no problem if no car (in fact I would rather take the free shuttle than drive up those windy little streets!). Hauts de Cagnes is like a town that time forgot, a perfect little French hill town with cobblestone streets, flowers everywhere, friendly locals, and a beautiful town square with men playing petanque as they look out over the sea and mountains, while observeres drink their pastis at the local cafe on the square. doesn't get much better than that! It is a great location to escape to after busy days of touring a very beautiful, yet busy and touristy French Riviera...gives you a sense of what the south of France was like at a less travelled time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wow! Where to begin? So much to say, so little space. Do I start by telling you about the Junior Suite's ridiculously comfortable bed, pillow, and down comforter that converted us into lazy tourists? Or do I start by explaining that Le Cagnard Hotel is smack in the middle of a medieval village that sits atop a small mountain (or is it a huge hill?) with a fantastic view of the surrounding mountains and the Mediterranean Sea's Cote d'Azur? Maybe, for you gourmands, I should start by telling you about Chef Stephan's talent for pleasing palates at the hotel's marvelous restaurant that keeps you going back for dinner night after night - don't miss the goat cheese salad, the chicken with asparagus and potatoes, or the steak dinner cooked to perfection in savory sauces. You can choose to dine inside the dining room with the hand-painted, paneled, retractible (yes retractible) ceiling or (if weather permits) you can choose to dine on the balcony to enjoy the view. I could go on and on about how attentive and friendly the staff is; how much fun it was to wander through and take pictures of the medieval village with windy, narrow, pebble-stoned streets and picturesque homes that are still inhabited; how close Château Le Cagnard is to Nice and Cannes; and the young, up-and-coming opera singers that we had the pleasure to listen to in the Château Grimaldi's Museum atop the hill which, by the way, is currently housing the Renoir Collection while the Renoir Museum is being renovated! 4 euro for tour. Tips? Pay 27 euro a night for the safe parking below Haut-de-Cagnes where your car is lifted by elevator to an indoor pod for safekeeping until you retrieve it. Trying to drive up the narrow, windy streets and dodging parked cars or oncoming shuttle buses isn't fun. Bring a sweater or light jacket and neck scarf - even as late as May - as Haut-de-Cagnes is several degrees cooler than Cagnes-Sur-Mer below.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite had a comfortable sitting area to either read and enjoy the views through it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Le Cagnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Cagnard

Address: 54 Rue sous Barri | Haut-de-Cagnes, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cagnes-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cagnes-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Cagnard 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into a true French Fairytale, by entering the doors to this magnificent and romantic Castle from the 13th century, situated on the French Riviera overlooking the Mediterranean Sea...Enjoy staying in one of our 26 rooms and suites uniquely decorated rooms with local antiques and if you love reading why not relax, read or play chess in our cozy library, where you will find a cannonball from the Waterloo battle beneath the portrait of Napoleon, made when he sat in the prison in Nice. For breakfast indulge in our home made specialties and local produce, whilst enjoying the extraordinary view. Explore and go on a guided tour around the village on its medieval cobbled streets… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Splendia so you can book your Chateau Le Cagnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cagnard Hotel Cagnes-Sur-Mer
Le Cagnard Cagnes Sur Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Le Cagnard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.