We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and typical french food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pierre a Four

La Pierre a Four
route de valbonne, 06410 Biot, France
04 93 65 60 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Biot
Price range: $30 - $44
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Antibes, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good and typical french food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my team for a business lunch. The food was excellent, staff was really friendly. Ambiance was great. yummy yummy food but abit costly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    59
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We tried the 30 euro menu, it was great value, well cooked and presented.

We would go again.

Down sides, wine a touch pricey and service was a little erratic but they appeared to be training one of the staff who served us. One of the starters had been left on a warming plate and the sauce had developed a slight skin, otherwise it would have been 5/5 for food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A decling place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I know La Pierre a Four since 10 years and it was always a great place for dinner, we went there every year (more than once). Things have changed, prices increased considerably (despite a decrease of VAT for restaurants in France). Last time, the bread was bad (the waiter agreed) and service so-so. After lots of waiting, we were asked if we'd like some cheese (why ask, it's part of the menu) but we didn't even had the main course! They no longer accept payment by Ticket Restaurant, which probably 99% of french restaurants happily accept. This little, charming and cosy place has changed into an average restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High prices/Low quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Few years ago, this restaurant was good with good price for quantity and quality, it was great! Unfortunately, the restaurant isn't the same now. I have eaten in "La pierre à Four" in April and I was very disappointed by the service, the food and the price! Despite the reservation, the big number of dining tables, and the few people: we were between the entry door and the kitchen, the waiters were stressed and didn't care about our comments. The salmon carpaccio was a disaster: it was a raw steack of oily salmon. Only 2 little aiguillette were in our plate, with a lot of nerve, tasteless and overdone. I don't speak about the dessert... I was really irritated!! I can cook for better price at home! If I knew that the menu at 27 € was disgusting, I would have prefered to eat at the "Clafoutis" (Antibes). It's a shame to increase prices and in the same time to decrease the quality of the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Excellent, reasonably priced set menus. The duck was superb. Large portions. Buy the house wine, by the glass - the expensive named bottle may taste great, but can't warrant the cost.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pierre a Four also viewed

Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Biot, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Pierre a Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pierre a Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.