We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best B&B we've ever been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastide Valmasque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bastide Valmasque
Save
You added Bastide Valmasque to your Saves list
1110 Route d' Antibes, 06410 Biot, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Biot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Easily the best B&B we've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Bastide Valmasque is a very tastefully decorated B&B in Biot, run by Claudia and Philippe. They offer several rooms which differ in sizes and prices. We stayed in "Morjim" (the 2nd cheapest) for 11 nights and really enjoyed our stay there.

Before I want to comment on the exceptional hosts, just some remarks re the room and the location: "Morjim" is big enough for 2 adults with lots of baggage. Great "rain forest"-like shower, always spotlessly cleaned by Silvie and her helper. Nice decoration in a mediterranean-Indian bricolage style. Breakfast is included, and a nice upgrade of the French "croissant and coffee" routine with a large selection of marmelades, fresh cheese and freshly prepared orange juice. The only minus we can think of is that (at least in July, which is already in the main season at the Cote d'Azur) you can hear noise from the roads and the water park "Marineland" when you leave the windows open, which can be a problem for light sleepers.

The Bastide is located in Biot, a small village between Antibes and Nizza. Most of the tourist attractions - beautiful mountain villages like St Paul de Vence or Eze, beaches, Cannes, Monte Carlo - can be reached from there without hassle .That you need a car to explore the Cote d'Azur goes without saying.

What really sets this B&B apart were the owners Claudia and Philippe, who were really extremely helpful and seem to think of themselves more like "hosts" than like owners - they printed tickets for Jazz festivals for us, told us what to see, where to eat and (even more important) what to avoid at the Cote d'Azur each morning during breakfast and also initiated us into the world of steel drum jazz music. It is safe to say that our Cote d'Azur experience would have been a lot more shallow without them. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
98
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We planned to stay 3 nights, but stayed for 4, even though we had a very tight schedule. Beautifull garden, rooms and breakfast. This is moore than a B&B, its the french riviera dream. We will come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here as part of a larger trip in France and Belgium. We stayed here for three nights in Baga. The room looks exactly like it does in pictures and was quite comfortable. It is a small room, so if you have extra baggage, we would recommend getting a larger room. The room was extremely clean, the only "criticism" we have about the room was the shower, it is very small and leaks quite a lot, if you are tall, this will be difficult, if you are at all wide you will bump into the walls of the shower.

Our hosts were extremely nice and accommodating - we did not have a vehicle with us so they when out of their way to help us.

Breakfast was simple but good, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, cereal etc.

Keep in mind, if you stay here you MUST have a vehicle, it is quite a walk from the train station along a busy, winding highway with no shoulder. It was actually an extremely terrifying experience to walk here from the train station and almost as unsettling just to walk to Biot village for dinner. We would definitely stay here with a vehicle, but definitely not again without one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

A large old french farmhouse restored to a very high standard providing excellant, comfortable accommadation. The decor has an Asian touch with many beautiful artifacts brought from India. The continental breakfast was served on the patia with a vast choice of teas or coffee. The owners and staff were very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

You will not regret staying at the Bastide. It is an affordable option to other B&Bs in the Cote d'Azur. More importantly, the hosts are the best that we have experienced in France (and elsewhere). The hospitality was especially appreciated after I got sick eating shellfish. The grounds are beautiful, and even if you decide to have a lazy day, you will be really happy doing so. The B&B and its grounds are decorated in a unique fusion of Mediterranean and Indian decor (the hosts definitely pull it off). Breakfast is wonderful too...you can have it indoors or on the terrace. We have no complaints - stay here if you can!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This lovely bed and breakfast is located near Antibes France adjacent to a quiet and lush golf course. The extensive grounds are carefully maintained and restful. We stayed in the master suite which was beautifully decorated, large, with high ceilings, and contained a cozy reading nook. The breakfast was fresh and derived from local products, and we took ours outside on one of several patios. The best part, however, are the host and hostess who are eager to make their guests comfortable and who both speak wonderful English.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill Head
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

My mum and I stayed in this beautiful bed and breakfast for 3 nights between Christmas and new year 2010.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already been recommending it to friends. We were impressed by the quality of the accommodation and the helpfulness of the the owners Claudia and Philippe and Jeanine who lives on site. The Bastide was spotless and the beds very comfortable. There are plenty of public areas to sit in and relax and visitors are welcome to help themselves to hot drinks.

There was a good selection of pastries, breads and yoghurts at breakfast with fresh orange juice squeezed from oranges grown in Claudia and Philippe's garden.

It's always a gamble when you book somewhere without prior knowledge but this was certainly a find.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastide Valmasque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide Valmasque

Address: 1110 Route d' Antibes, 06410 Biot, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Biot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Biot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes away from the beach ,Bastide Valmasque is a charming guest house in Biot, next to the golf course, ideally located between Nice and Cannes. We are just 20 minutes away from Nice Airport , 5 minutes away from the Antibes train station and 10 min. from the highway exit .The Bastide offers a full equipped self catering, studio apartment (to e rented per week or per month) and 5 rooms, including 1 mini-suite and 1 suite, with a private bathroom. Wifi, Tv room, private parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastide Valmasque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.