We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beaulieu

Le Beaulieu
45 Boulevard Marinoni, Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
330493010336
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful restaurant, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant several times on our holiday in Beaulieu, the service and food was fantastic on every occasion, everyone is so friendly and accommodating. I totally agree with the other reviews that rave about how charming and friendly all the staff are, our waitress remembered us on our second visit and greeted us very warmly, she even remembered our drinks order from the previous day! On our third visit on New Years Day we were greeted by the owner and wished Happy New Year with a handshake and even given a free drink each. They speak perfect English and there is a really lovely atmosphere there. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant/ cafe to anyone and will be going there every time I come to Beaulieu!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere - Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Charming Café/Restaurant in the heart of Beaulieu-sur-Mer on the French Riviera. The restaurant includes a newly renovated indoor section that seats about 35 and an outdoor terrace overlooking the small town square.

The majority of the clients are regulars and are personally greeted by the charming owner and the friendly staff who make you feel very welcome and who are fluently bilingual.

Most clients are French or expats who live all-year in the area and therefore there is a family atmosphere since most of them got to know each other over the years. There are also occasional residents and tourists who go for the morning croissant and coffee or breakfast while using the Wifi to check on their e-mails.

Lunch is served everyday and includes a lot of interesting choices that cater to French clients such as the exquisite Magret de canard (duck) as well as to expats and tourists such as modified recipes for Club sandwich and Cheeseburgers. The wine choices are good and reasonably priced. There is usually one or two daily specials.

During the summer tourist season, dinner is served every night but only on Friday nights in the off-peak season when live music is presented. The music shows are the highlights of the week at the Beaulieu and because of their popularity among the regulars; reservations are needed if you want a table on these nights. The weekly band selections play excellent Jazz, Rock or Folk and the place can sometimes be hopping. As mentioned in another review there is a "Buzz" on Friday nights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The local French cafe - full of locals and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We visited this cute French cafe on our honeymoon, and were so pleased with the speed of service as well as the friendly welcome. The salads we had were huge and full of delicious fresh ingredients. Great coffee and the best atmosphere on the riviera...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Streetside cafe bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice streetside cafe bar next to the square in centre of town. Menu geared towards english holidaymakers. Service is excellent and the food portions are generally large. Overall reasonable cafe/bar

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for morning coffee or a quick evening snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are 3 or 4 lovely coffee shops/cafes situate in the town square and each can be recommended for your early morning cuppa and a bit of "people watching".

Le Beaulieu is mor of a cafe rather than a restaurant but they do a good steak/baked potato/side salad .

There is a good "buzz" about the place on a Friday evening as they have live music from 7 to 10pm. Prices here are a bit on the high side and we found the extra 10% charge on Friday for the live music a bit much.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Beaulieu also viewed

Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Beaulieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.