We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, pity about the Restaurant!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comte De Nice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Comte De Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Comte De Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25, Boulevard Marinoni, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, pity about the Restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Small hotel in the town, with street parking right outside - that was good! The room was comfortable enough too, and had WiFi, but after a long drive we had hoped to just relax in the hotel and have a nice meal. Trouble was, there was no restaurant, at least not for evening dining. The breakfast was good and in a pleasant room, so why could they not provide dinner?

Anyway, we did decided to venture out and headed down to the marina where we found a super selection of restaurants and cafes to choose from - and had a delightful dinner sitting outside - and this was late October. So that made up for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really can't understand why this hotel has had some bad reviews. We stayed in the Comte de Nice for nine days in early September and found it entirely suitable for our needs. Check in was fast, the economy room, while small, was clean, the bathroom was perhaps a bit dated but with a new shower, and a tiny balcony overlooked the street. The air-conditioning was completely effective. The king-sized bed was comfortable. We were not troubled at any time by noise either from other rooms or the street below. We had originally planned to breakfast out at pavement cafes, but the hotel breakfast was so good at 10 euro that we had it every day - cereal, gorgeous fruit juice, yoghurt, compotes, selection of breads, croissants etc. Eggs, cheese and cold meat also available. The hotel management and service were unobtrusively pleasant. Other reviewers have rightly commented on the super location of this hotel, with two lovely beaches, the railway station and numerous restaurants all within easy walking distance. On previous trips to this part of the world we have hired a car, but on this occasion this was completely unnecessary as trains can take you to anywhere on the Cote for reasonable fares. It is also possible to walk to Villefranche and Cap Ferrat. We have stayed at luxury hotels all over the world so, given that the Cote d'Azur is a very expensive destination, its my opinion that this little hotel gives excellent value for money. If you want a 4- or 5-star experience, you are going to have to pay a lot more to get it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a terrible experience with this hotel. The room we were in was nothing like what was advertised on the website. The air conditioning was not working. There was not curtain the shower. The room looked shabby and dirty. The attitude of staff when we told them that the air conditioning is not working was that was were pressing the wrong button. It was the same when we told them about the shower. When we tried to cancel we had to pay for the whole of our stay. A nasty experience overall never to be repeated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Location is actually quite good. Close to marina, close to food market and a little shopping, but it is worn out and elevator did not work (so we got 10% discount without asking). The small balcony is nice and the aircon ok. Street is noisy in the morning, but not a big problem. The bath is a very small cabin and the tap strangely anoying during bath. You need a bit of humor, but the bed a cleaning is fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just got back from a 7 night stay at this hotel. We didn't pick it based on any reviews, just on location, wifi (to Skype the kids back home) and parking.

First the negatives:- The wifi isn't very good, it is very, very slow and you can forget things like Skype. The next thing, as previously mentioned, is that it is quite noisy from both neighbours within the hotel and from outside. We were on the sea facing side which also backs onto a courtyard and an apartment block so there is quite a lot of noise from 7.30am or so. Then there is the parking, it is quite limited so you must pre-book it and if you have a car there is no real alternative as any sort of free parking in the town is nigh on impossible.

All that said, our room was big enough for us with a large en-suite and all with ice-cold air con. As the temperature was up near 40 degrees this was welcome. There was a small balcony with a shade and a TV that appeared to have lots of channels, but we never turned it on.

The best thing about the hotel was it's location. Beaulieu is about halfway between Monaco and Nice and the train station is only a couple of minutes walk away where 2 euros gets you to either location in less than 15 minutes. If you prefer a bus ride then that is down the bottom of the road.

There is a large supermarket nest to the station or a 24hr shop across the road as well as a daily market (larger on Saturdays), coffee shops, boulangeries and bars within a couple of minutes walk. The beach is at the bottom of the hill, about ten minutes walk away.

While there we spent most of our time at the adjoining Cap Ferrat where the beach was nicer and the restaurants more varied. It's a couple of miles walk, but you do this along the coastal promenade, so it's not a chore!

The staff at the hotel all spoke better English than our French and were very helpful. When it came to bill time we were given an unexpected discount due to the lift breaking down for a couple of days. Not something which bothered us but it was a very nice touch.

If we return to the area then we will definitely look to stay here again. Having been in to Nice a few times I would not stay there now after staying in somewhere as pleasant as Beaulieu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having read some of the reviews about this hotel I have to admit my expectations were not set high. But on arrival these were instantly changed. We were greeted warmly and quickly shown to our rooms. The room was clean, with all you really need - air con, TV, phone, balcony, ensuite, fresh towels. If you needed an iron or anything else, the staff were happy to provide one or help you. The Hotel is set on the corner of one of the main areas away from all the hustle and bustle but near enough to many cafes, shops, supermarket and train/bus station. The beach is a 10 minute walk where I would like to point out that the cafes and restaurants along by the marina were cheaper than the ones in town and served a good choice of food. The staff were knowledgeable about the area and ordered taxis when required. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

the worst hotel we have ever stayed at Cote d'Azur. you can find in the same district far better options for the same amount of money (Frisia, for instance). I don't understand for what they charge more than 100 EUR per night!
Since our flight was cancelled we decided to spend one night in this hotel since I like the small towns around Nice like Beaulieu. The check-in process was fast, but we were placed into the room with the burnt-out AC. the receptionist was not able to explain to us that the device worked somehow (at least this is what the owner tried to explain to us the next morning, but no apologies were made, no refund). They were not able to change the room since the hotel was fully booked, but how they dare to offer the rooms with the non-working electrical devices??? It is simply dangerous. the location of the hotel can make you feel like you are in the centre of the main road- the standard rooms face the narrow street and early in the morning you can hear all sounds from outside even with the shut windows (mind, that our AC was burnt-out and we were forced to keep the windows shut because of the noise). the internal sounds also can be easily heard since the rooms are interconnected, so if your neighbors are early-birds say good-by to your dreams!
Our room looked quite shabby, the doors to WC and the bathroom were creaky and didn't close properly. on top of all when we came back around midnight after the walk around the port I noticed a cockroach on the bed which escaped quite fast!
The only positive thing is breakfast which is not bad compared to the standard breakfasts you can find in such types of hotels in France.
By the way you have to ask for everything, for example, you won't find a hairdryer in the room, you have to ask at the reception!
I do understand that the hotel is located in the residential building of the70s and it can be the reason of narrow halls and a tiny elevator but such establishments should be charged accordingly.

Room Tip: if you can avoid this hotel, you'd better do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Comte De Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comte De Nice

Address: 25, Boulevard Marinoni, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Comte De Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Comte De Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comte De Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.