We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marcellin

Hotel Marcellin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Marcellin to your Saves list
Hotel Marcellin
18 av. Albert-1er, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow !! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We only had a short stop but what a find !!! Huge well appointed and beautifully air conditioned rooms with every amenity you could ask for !! Grab yourself a great deal on accomadation here and spend what you save in the multitude of little patisseries in this simply beautiful seaside gem !!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

1. The Location: the hotel is ideally located 5 minutes from the train station and directly across the street from both a bakery and a bus stop. Beaulieu-sur-Mer isn't the destination many people think of when they go to the French Riviera, but I discovered that it was both a convenient middle-ground for exploring the little towns along the coast and a lovely, quiet place to return to after a long day of sight-seeing. You can also take a nice, 20-minute walk to St. Jean Cap Ferrat. Nice seems like the safe bet, but it can feel a bit like Disneyland. Beaulieu-sur-Mer feels like the French Riviera. Also, I must suggest a restaurant that is a 10-minute walk from the hotel: Petit Darkoum. Excellent, excellent Turkish food.

2. The Owners: they are lovely. You don't always find this in hotels in France (or anywhere).

3. The Value: it's excellent. You're going to spend a lot of money in the south of France, mostly on food. What a relief it was to know there is a good, clean, safe hotel that was such a great value, taking the sting out of other expenses. Americans will have to get over the room size, which, to my mind, is perfectly fine given that you will not be spending much time there. It's cleaned every day and perfectly nice. Bonus: there's a TV, so you can watch French programming while you drift to sleep.

I highly recommend the Hotel Marcellin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here to attend a friend's wedding and it was simply lovely,walking distance to the beach and easy access to shops etc in my short stay because it was so central I took day trips to Italy and Monte Carlo the owners were very pleasant and despite the language barrier very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Warm and hospitable family owned hotel with buckets of charm a la Provencale. A renovation might be due, but that would surely affect prices - which are very advantageous for being on the French Riviera - hopefully Marcellin will stay as it is for some years to come; great value for money.

Good sized rooms (double with 2 beds), perhaps somewhat thin walls (you may notice your closedst neighbours) spacious bath room, no elevator as usual in France. We had breakfast outside the hotel (croissants and jam do not quite hit the spot for us Norse people...)

Beaulieu sur Mer is lovely and an excellent base for exploring Nice, Monaco, Eze, Menton etc by car, bus, or train - we can recommend the train to everyone who wants a hassle free holiday without the worry of parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

this small hotel is located in one of the most beautiful place of cote d'azur. The owners are really kind, always available for suggesting place and things to do. Is just 5 minutes walking from the sea. Rooms are clean and confortable. Parking on the road. quality/price rate convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This little hotel was a real find. A previous booking elsewhere could not be extended for an extra night so it was also a last minute one.
The town of Beaulieu and the location of the hotel itself couldn't be better. It was my first visit with the purpose of attending a few social functions over the course of a weekend
I'm not sure what I expected from a single room booked online at the last minute but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself has a wonderful homely feel, having arrived bruised and battered from long & short haul flights before being due to check in, I was accommodated within 20 mins.
I was directed up the main staircase to the 1st floor to what could be termed a small room but by French standards based on previous stays is quite normal. Notably, the bed was queen sized (a relief any solo traveller will appreciate), with an ensuite, noiseless air-conditioning and a place for everything. I needed a clothes iron which was provided straight away and left with me for the duration of my stay. A door code is also provided for returning after midnight which was very straightforward to use with no problems to report. I opted not to take breakfast each morning simply because I knew I would not wake up in time with the reality being that a continental breakfast or otherwise can be had at a variety of places around Beaulieu.
So was it perfect? That wouldn't be true to say either - but on balance I was very glad to have ended up here. I didn't notice a lift or a pool of any sort which wouldn't particularly bother me but might someone else. The bedroom doors on the landing are very close to one another so it is impossible not to hear keys, locks, others coming & going etc. however guests seemed to have respect for the atmosphere they found themselves surrounded by and maintained a quiet demeanour for the most part. Some of the bathroom fittings could do with update or replacing and a floor mirror would also have been a useful addition.
My checkout & departure were seamless - the first time I was asked for payment details of any kind was when my bags were packed and ready to go. A taxi pre-booked for me by the hotel also arrived on the dot to take me to Nice airport. The couple who run this hotel are polite, friendly people who took with kindness and patience the variety of requirements communicated by me in my best broken French.
So if you intend to stay at Hotel Marcellin, I have no doubt that for location, price and atmosphere - you could do a lot worse elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. Dont be put off by the photos attached to the railing outside the hotel. Its a very nice place, with modern and bright rooms. En suite bedrooms which are clean and neat. The manager and his wife are very polite, friendly and helpful. There is also free wi-fi. The breakfast was a bit steep at 8.5 euros, so we gave it a miss. There is a boulangerie straight across the road which does coffees and croissants or pains au chocolat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Marcellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcellin

Address: 18 av. Albert-1er, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marcellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcellin Hotel Beaulieu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marcellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.