We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money on Côte d'Azur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marcellin

Hotel Marcellin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Marcellin to your Saves list
Hotel Marcellin
18 av. Albert-1er, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money on Côte d'Azur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Warm and hospitable family owned hotel with buckets of charm a la Provencale. A renovation might be due, but that would surely affect prices - which are very advantageous for being on the French Riviera - hopefully Marcellin will stay as it is for some years to come; great value for money.

Good sized rooms (double with 2 beds), perhaps somewhat thin walls (you may notice your closedst neighbours) spacious bath room, no elevator as usual in France. We had breakfast outside the hotel (croissants and jam do not quite hit the spot for us Norse people...)

Beaulieu sur Mer is lovely and an excellent base for exploring Nice, Monaco, Eze, Menton etc by car, bus, or train - we can recommend the train to everyone who wants a hassle free holiday without the worry of parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

this small hotel is located in one of the most beautiful place of cote d'azur. The owners are really kind, always available for suggesting place and things to do. Is just 5 minutes walking from the sea. Rooms are clean and confortable. Parking on the road. quality/price rate convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This little hotel was a real find. A previous booking elsewhere could not be extended for an extra night so it was also a last minute one.
The town of Beaulieu and the location of the hotel itself couldn't be better. It was my first visit with the purpose of attending a few social functions over the course of a weekend
I'm not sure what I expected from a single room booked online at the last minute but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself has a wonderful homely feel, having arrived bruised and battered from long & short haul flights before being due to check in, I was accommodated within 20 mins.
I was directed up the main staircase to the 1st floor to what could be termed a small room but by French standards based on previous stays is quite normal. Notably, the bed was queen sized (a relief any solo traveller will appreciate), with an ensuite, noiseless air-conditioning and a place for everything. I needed a clothes iron which was provided straight away and left with me for the duration of my stay. A door code is also provided for returning after midnight which was very straightforward to use with no problems to report. I opted not to take breakfast each morning simply because I knew I would not wake up in time with the reality being that a continental breakfast or otherwise can be had at a variety of places around Beaulieu.
So was it perfect? That wouldn't be true to say either - but on balance I was very glad to have ended up here. I didn't notice a lift or a pool of any sort which wouldn't particularly bother me but might someone else. The bedroom doors on the landing are very close to one another so it is impossible not to hear keys, locks, others coming & going etc. however guests seemed to have respect for the atmosphere they found themselves surrounded by and maintained a quiet demeanour for the most part. Some of the bathroom fittings could do with update or replacing and a floor mirror would also have been a useful addition.
My checkout & departure were seamless - the first time I was asked for payment details of any kind was when my bags were packed and ready to go. A taxi pre-booked for me by the hotel also arrived on the dot to take me to Nice airport. The couple who run this hotel are polite, friendly people who took with kindness and patience the variety of requirements communicated by me in my best broken French.
So if you intend to stay at Hotel Marcellin, I have no doubt that for location, price and atmosphere - you could do a lot worse elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. Dont be put off by the photos attached to the railing outside the hotel. Its a very nice place, with modern and bright rooms. En suite bedrooms which are clean and neat. The manager and his wife are very polite, friendly and helpful. There is also free wi-fi. The breakfast was a bit steep at 8.5 euros, so we gave it a miss. There is a boulangerie straight across the road which does coffees and croissants or pains au chocolat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed two night in this hotel. The manager is a very nice and polite man. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Marcellin is a small - about 10 rooms - privately operated hotel a short walk up the hill from Beaulieu rail station, on a corner in a quiet part of town. Central Beaulieu with its many restaurants is less than five minutes by foot; the casino and beach front maybe five minutes more.

There was not a lot of space left after the queen-size bed was accommodated in our room but a window nook and a couple of other niches, plus a huge bath-room, made up for it. Everything was perfectly clean and the room itself decked out in the gorgeous, happy colours and patterns of Provence.

Breakfast was served in an antique-filled corner room which doubles as the owner's office and lounge. It's all very cosy and intimate: a beautiful little gem of a hotel to which I would happily return should I have the chance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay in the Hotel Marcellin and can only say we were absolutely delighted with it. It's exceptionally good value for money with our bedroom being very pleasantly decorated and also having a large bathroom which was spotlessly clean. The photographs on the hotel's website are a very accurate reflection of the rooms. The position of the hotel is perfect, a five minute walk to Beaulieu train station with bus stops in both the Nice and Monaco directions within a couple of minutes walk.The main beach in Beaulieu is also only a five minute walk down the hill. The proprieters of the hotel were also very nice, exceptionally helpful and very pleasant without being in your face. I will definitely be booking a 2 week stay here next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marcellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcellin

Address: 18 av. Albert-1er, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marcellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcellin Hotel Beaulieu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marcellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.