We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My preconceptions were wrong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Grecque Kerylos

Villa Grecque Kerylos
Impasse Gustave Eiffel, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
+33 (0)4 93 01 01 44
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover this Cote d'Azur seaside Palazzo, luxurious reconstitution of an Ancient Greek Villa. At the edge of the sea, facing the Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat peninsula, the Villa is a magic place that takes you back in time. Entirely furnished and decorated, the Villa's many rooms bear witness to the art of living and refinement of Ancient Greece. The Villa is also a place for wedding and receptions organization.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“My preconceptions were wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For three visits in this area I had refused to visit a Greek villa in southern France. It sounded to me like the last word in kitsch! IT ISN"T, it's marvellous with some of the most beautifully detailed furniture one could imagine. what craftsmanship! And the setting is pretty good too. This is probably an outrageous thing to say but I enjoyed it far more than the Rothschild villa, so much so that I would really like to visit again.....soon!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    62
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting villa visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The special site, quality and detail of the furnishings and building are worthy of a closer inspection. The audio guides and upkeep of this former home, built in a Greek style, make the visit interesting and well worthwhile. Recommend a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This was a great break from the coastal towns and beach, added great variety to our trip. We toured the house and it was completely furnished and decorated in the Ancient Greek style. It was nice to get that unexpected history lesson while enjoying he Mediterranean. There were also audio guides available which were a great help!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you have the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were disappointed with the Villa , nothing interesting , for me it was a waste of time and nothing more, probably because we visited Villa Rotschild just before we visited the Villa Grecque.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Impressive reconstruction of Greek Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The villa is one of the most unusual on the French Riviera - it sits just past the Beaulieu-sur-Mer marina on a small point of land that juts into the Mediterranean. The setting was fabulous with a magnificent view over Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat and crystal clear water. The villa was built by a wealthy man who must have been obsessed with the ancient Greek culture - it took six years to construct and was completed in 1908. The villa is a reconstruction of a luxurious Greek palace on the Delos island dating about 2nd Century before Christ. It is completely furnished and decorated to illustrate the ancient Greek lifestyle. The detail in the wood furniture and floor mosaics was most impressive and even the ceilings were highly decorated with 3 dimensional wood and painted patterns. There was even a Galerie des Antiques that displayed life-size casts of the most famous Greco-Roman statues. The audio guide provided in the admission price was excellent. I really enjoyed this villa - it was fascinating!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Grecque Kerylos also viewed

St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Villa Grecque Kerylos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Grecque Kerylos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.