We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pink palace by the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Boulevard du Marechal Leclerc, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A pink palace by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My father and I booked into Deluxe rooms overlooking the sea at the beginning of October for a 10 day break. The idea was to stretch the Summer a little and enjoy strolls around St Jean Cap Ferrat and Beaulieu. We know the area well as we have rented a villa in St Jean in previous years and stayed at the Grand Hotel du Cap Ferrat. This time, we thought Beaulieu would be a nice change. The hotel welcomed us in charming French style. It is a formal hotel for the well-heeled traditional European and North American guests. In fact, sitting in the bar with the world-class yachts anchored in the bay outside, we were convinced most people had independent wealth and it wouldn't have surprised us if the King and Queen of Sweden walked in. Lovely to be able to dress up in the evenings. Casual elegance ruled the daytime hours. We walked everywhere - through Beaulieu to the Bay des Formis and along to St Jean Cap Ferrat (despite the warning signs about not using the coastal path due to landslip), up to the station to catch the seaside train along the coast to Nice, Cannes and in the other direction to Monte Carlo. The concierge indulged our decision to eat in a different town or village every day at lunch - my father wasn't keen on eating in the evening for digestive reasons. There are, therefore, a plethora of restaurant recommendations: Try L'Auberge de la Madonne with its Michelin star (way up in the mountains behind Nice) - we had the best Sunday lunch ever, there! We loved Le Bistrot d'Antoine in Nice (just make sure your French can cope with handwritten blackboards and rapid spoken French) - the atmosphere was great at lunchtime and just plain good fun. We visited Vieux Antibes for another good lunch at Les Vieux Murs having wandered around the market just behind. Each experience was fun, atmospheric and we laughed at the language confusion between my words for raincoat (which I didn't need) and my computer (which I did)! The wifi in the hotel is perfect and free, the internal courtyard for an evening drink by candlelight was charming and breakfast in the Restaurant Des Rois and on the terrace was lovely looking out to sea. Our rooms were very comfortable and room service attentive. Most of the international channels are on the TV - not sure about films, we didn't check. We enjoyed the piano and violin duo in the bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people who don't worry about the cost and who are relaxed and comfortable with a quiet and charming old-world hotel. This is not the place for the raucous, modernist and overly lively or young. It's horses for courses and this is a real gem from the gracious past but perfectly wonderful for today. We'd be very happy to go back. Don't try and play the piano in the living room in the mornings though... I got told off, nicely, of course! People might have still been asleep at 10.30am :-) Fair enough, everyone was on holiday.

Room Tip: Deluxe seaview rooms on the 2nd floor have nice little balconies looking out to sea overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle W, manager at La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay at the Hotel la Reserve

I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Our employees will be recognized for the friendly service you experienced. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Beaulieu sur Mer

With warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
99
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although this hotel is very expensive for a special occasion it is worth it. We stayed for our 25th wedding aniversary and really enjoyed it. The views are wonderful from the tower room and they put rose petals on the bed every evening. The food was beautiful and it is very central for touring. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I don't give 5/5 unless I have too. This high end opulent hotel is simply divine. From the first class service, to the impeccably kept rooms, this hotel is simply the best you can get in this part of the world and perhaps anywhere in the world. Forget Monaco and Monte Carlo, this is 20 mins away in a Taxi and an absolute peaceful haven away from the madness of Monaco et al.
My room was superb, a deluxe with balcony view of garden and sea. Bathroom also superb with double basin, bidet, excellent toiletries and plentiful towels. The room is made up twice a day, the early evening turn down is not exactly turn down, but more slippers and mat placed at bed side and the attention to detail in respect of tidying your room is astonishing. The Head of room keeping is to be congratulated. The bed was highly comfortable although a smaller pillows option would be good.The bar is a little staid, but this place has a lot of history and should be as such. Poolside is excellent, with yet again 1st class service. Massage at spa was excellent too. The concierge (Frederick)...excellent again and even the guy who parks your car was brilliant. And they make an effort to remember your name. Breakfast was simply 1st class with very good coffee too, and taken on the terrace with a peerless view of the bay. The gardens are kept perfectly well all public areas again spotless. There are many people working very hard here to keep this hotel in the upper echelons of perfection. Chapeau s tout.

Room Tip: one with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have spent four nights at this property on the occasion of our special-number wedding anniversary. Despite this has been mentioned while making our reservation, there was not even a bootle of wine, and/or even fruits neither at our arrival nor during our stay. I believe this is something important at this price level and hotel category. Noone needs or expects fireworks and probably many guests are staying for special occasions. But, this is a boutique hotel in the French Riviera.The staff was reasonably professional. Especially the concierge tries to recommend according to specific demands of guests. Rest of the team and particularly the reception staff, however, could not care less whether you are there or not. They make you feel as if you do not exist or else you have wrongfully checked-in in a highway starless hotel despite paying for a five star.
The rooms are classical, nice and clean. But I don't believe this is a plus, it needs to be considered as a must for this category.
We also had a dinner at the night of our anniversary at the restaurant of the hotel. Again no mentioning in anyway of our special occasion. The sommelier is truly wonderful though!
After our departure from this hotel, we have also stayed in La Pinede, St. Tropez, which belongs to the same group of hotels. That was a totally different experience; a true boutique five star to be recommended by all means. Considering they are the part of same group, the secret and difference must be the micromanagement and respect for clients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was advertised at a good price. In hindsight may have been better off elsewhere. The rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable, but I never felt truly at home in this establishment. It may be the French manner, or just how I felt here but, despite staying in many 5 star hotels around the world, this one felt different. It just felt wrong. I felt from the beginning. They charge 30 euro for a plain breakfast a la carte, and don't get me started on room service. Was looking for a good deal on accommodation to see the Côte d'Azur and I suppose this is ok, but by no means is the place as fantastic as they would have you believe. There is NO beach, just a pool. Access to villefranche sur mer is about a 20 min walk, but once again felt like a second class citizen when I tried to find my way on foot!

All in all an ok place but highly overrated with what feels like arrogant service. If looking for a resort with a good beach look elsewhere. If looking to getaway, depends what you are after. I would probably still look elsewhere.

As a woman who booked the place, I am definitely made to feel inferior to my husband, whom all the communication seems to go through.

All in all, relatively ok, but look elsewhere and book here only if you have to.

Room Tip: I booked this hotel as it was advertised at a good price. In hindsight may have been better off else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having recently stayed at this wonderful hotel we have no hesitation in saying put this on your
"Must visit list "
It's understated quality and outstanding staff make this one of the best hotels in Europe if not further afield that we have experienced.
We simply have no negative comments to make and enjoying breakfast or lunch on the terrace in September is a definate pinch yourself moment
We can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in July and it was a mixed experience. Property is in a terrific location and is well maintained.

Pros:

Our room had a terrace with direct views of the sea and the courtyard, which we LOVED!! We enjoyed our vista everyday - different yachts floating in and out, people paddle boarding/kayaking, sun setting. Every evening we would sit on our terrace listening to the lovely live music (hotel employs a violinist and keyboardist) - we had a private live concert every night.

The pool has many chairs and the attendant we had, Michael, was attentive, friendly and booked our jet-ski excursion where we toured Eze and Monaco. One of the most memorable moments of our stay.

The concierges were the most helpful of all the staff we came in contact with. They were genuinely friendly and had good dinner suggestions.

Hotel was in a great walking location. We walked daily around town to buy exquisite French delicacies. There is also an 8-mile walking path around Cap Ferrat which we did and it was a terrific experience. We walked to Villefranche-Sur-Mer and enjoyed the different shops, restaurants and particularly liked walking through the historic fort.

Cons:

Our room was poorly designed - we had a lot of square footage but were constantly bumping the doors into each other.

We had free wi-fi throughout the hotel but it never worked! We had to sign in everyday and many days, multiple times a day. The wi-fi would stop often working mid-download or just not work - disappointing.

Hotel air conditioning was non-existent, except for our room which we always had blasting. Lobby/gym/bar/restaurant did not have any air conditioning or it was barely working. We were thankful that our room air conditioning was strong and quiet.

Gym was tiny - 4 cardio machines and almost no weights. It didn't open until 9AM.

We informed the hotel it was our wedding anniversary and usually we get a bottle of prosecco and/or a dessert - especially at this price point. But not here, we got "special" embroidered sheets that spelled out love - truly disappointing.

We never ate at the hotel because we found the surrounding restaurants (either in Beaulieu or Cap Ferrat) had great food and people watching with better prices.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa

Address: 5 Boulevard du Marechal Leclerc, 06310 Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking and Hotels.com so you can book your La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve De Beaulieu Hotel Beaulieu
La Reserve De Beaulieu And Spa
La Reserve De Hotel Beaulieu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;